We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families.....”

The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Par
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub, Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect for families.....”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We chose to visit here on the TA recommendations and once again we have not been disappointed. We were visiting the Eden Project and it is literally a couple of miles away, and perfect for food after visiting there.
On arrival the kids saw the bouncy castle and spent a good 30 mins on it whilst the adults chilled out with a beer and relaxed. Then we went inside for food.

Ok, service was very slow, and so if you were needing to rush off somewhere, then I guess that you might want to order your food immediately. We might have just gotten a bad day, although it didnt seem so busy. However, the food is worth waiting for, especially as the pricing is very reasonable. All 12 of us had good meals and the children had clean plates.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    193
    44
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“lack of atmosphere”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Food good, but pub itself lacked atmosphere not really what we were looking for in a cornish pub,too modern.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Saswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great taste, great value”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A very tasteful restaurant with very tasty meals and a good menu choice. Family friendly too. Service was friendly and helpful without being pretentious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueJHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A week in Cornwall at the Britannia Inn”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for a week in 'Gribben' room. It is the first time we have stayed in a pub before and I was a bit worried about the noise, but this wasn't a problem at all. The room was nice (it was one of the smaller rooms, but there were only two of us so that didn't matter, it had everything we needed. A really comfortable bed, a super walk in shower and and plenty of storage space. A fan was also provided and everything else you would expect in a good hotel. The only problem with the room was a rather strange smell. A bit like smelly feet, which we noticed instantly we entered the room. An air freshener was provided and and we opened the windows. Once in the room for a minute or two, the smell becomes unnoticeable. We mentioned it to the staff when we left at the end of our stay (we got used to it and it wasn't a major problem) and they said that it was oil from new furniture. This was the only problem with the room. Everything else was perfect. It was immaculately cleaned everyday and it was also quiet. The only noise was from the main road nearby.

We ate at the Britannia on several occasions. The Waves restaurant has very nice surroundings and service, but the normal restaurant and bar lounge are also pleasant. We ate mainly in the Waves restaurant, but used the bar lounge on a couple of occasions and had breakfast in the pub restaurant and their Sunday carvery lunch. The food in all 3 places was excellent as was the service. The menu was the same though for each of the venues. However, we ate there 5 nights out of 7 and didn't run out of things to choose. Portion sizes are large though. Rarely did I make pudding. The staff were attentive and polite at all times.

The Britannia Inn is situated just on the outskirts of St. Austell and was well positioned for the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. We also visited Newquay and Padstow which were were the 'other side' of Cornwell, but were still within easy reach.

We had a lovely week here and we would thoroughly recommend to others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Brilliant , the staff were helpful, the food was excellent ,we had a crab starter, steak, and a pudding , it was wow best food in a long time, we never waited long between courses, and it was good value, I believe you get what you pay for , we'll done a great evening.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank greyash33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing