We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small gem for bird lovers”

Wingz Bird Sanctuary
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Par
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great small gem for bird lovers”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Went here on a friends recommendation and did not know what to expect. A gem is what we found. Compact sanctuary run by obvious animal lovers. When they spoke about any of the animals they knew the back story, their natural habitat etc. even though the sanctuary is on a steep hill, the way it is laid out you don't actually walk through any steep gradients and is wheelchair friendly. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and you didn't feel rushed or in the way.

Would recommend the meerkat experience, you get to go in with them and then feed them and they can climb all over you. Word of advice, if wet day, take spare clothes as the meerkats will leave muddy paw prints on you.

Then to top off the visit, used their tea room where everything is made to order........ All fresh food and the cakes..... Yummy

Came away impressed with what the owners have achieved and if we lived locally would want to volunteer to help them.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vici_JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    51
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a great time - really good value especially as they had a 2 for 1 offer . The orphaned meerkat was so sweet . The white peacock was very obliging in spreading its tail for us to take a photo and children would love the way you are accompanied by the ducks all the way round the park. We liked the way each bird had info about it and would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sunfisher52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Fab day with the kids.. kids did the meerkat experience and loved it.. plenty to fill a couple of hours..The talking birds were a delight.. well worth a visit..will be visiting again

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank knight2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely morning out”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My 14 year old daughter did the meerkat experience and it was brilliant, she loved it. The owners were happy to share stories and spend time with us and were not out for getting money out if you. Lovely tea room, amazing cakes! Well worth visiting.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville A, Owner at Wingz Bird Sanctuary, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you we are delighted your daughter enjoyed her experience and it was our pleasure to meet you all, we hope the rest of your holiday went well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Visit.”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Well worth the money, a good variety of birds & small animals, was sold on the meerkats especially the baby. Even the parrots talk to you. Children will love the place. Cars are parked very close so no need for buggies for children.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville A, Owner at Wingz Bird Sanctuary, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you so much we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and the variety of birds and animals, it was our pleasure to meet you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wingz Bird Sanctuary also viewed

 
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Wingz Bird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing