We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Visit.”

Wingz Bird Sanctuary
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Par
Certificate of Excellence
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Visit.”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Well worth the money, a good variety of birds & small animals, was sold on the meerkats especially the baby. Even the parrots talk to you. Children will love the place. Cars are parked very close so no need for buggies for children.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville A, Owner at Wingz Bird Sanctuary, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you so much we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and the variety of birds and animals, it was our pleasure to meet you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    51
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Lovely place, well worth a visit if you live local or are down here on holiday etc. Its not massive so don't expect to spend all day in there but its a great way spend a couple hours. The café on site is superb & we had the best cream tea I've ever had! Highlight for me was the Hawaiian geese, the were great characters & for a very small charge you can get some food and hand feed them which is lovely.
Definitely worth visiting!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank denzil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville A, Owner at Wingz Bird Sanctuary, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and the cream tea which is a Cornish must have. The geese are very amusing, and always enjoy the visitors spoiling them, we were pleased to meet you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Visit”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great way to spend an afternoon, especially if you have any children of the right age. Lots and Lots of birds to see, plus there's meerkats and wallabies an more. Gift shop is reasonably priced too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doctor_Who_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville A, Owner at Wingz Bird Sanctuary, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you we are glad you enjoyed our inhabitants, and we pride ourselves on having reasonably priced gifts so appreciate your comments. It was our pleasure to meet you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming and very informative”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We also visited Wingz on its free weekend and had a lovely morning. Not only do they rescue unwanted birds from zoos and private homes, but they are part of the endangered species breeding programme for birds and are also great conservationists. With young children in mind, there are also Meerkats, Wallabys, Guineapigs and Chipmunks at the Sanctuary.They have plans to hopefully build a centre to treat injured wildlife, which is sorely needed. We had a cup of tea in the very spotless tea-room and a very nice piece of home-made cake. Excellent toilets, a small gift shop and a children's play area. A lovely place to visit for children and adults alike

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville A, Owner at Wingz Bird Sanctuary, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your visit we try to do a free weekend every year which is always well received. We are delighted you enjoyed our inhabitants and the wide range we cater for, we thank you for appreciating our toilets as its very important for us to have spotless toilets, and are proud to say we have won a gold award for them. It was our pleasure to meet you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Freebie”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Well, we followed the advertising and got in for free this weekend. We were very agreeably surprised by what is hidden behind the fencing. There's lots of birds and animals to see , quite close up, many birds which say "Hello" and the whole atmosphere is very friendly and welcoming.

It isn't the biggest zoo in the world , but kids will be captivated by so many birds and attractions in such a small area. (Adults too really) Add a cafe and a shop too, and the opportunity for lots of hands-on interaction with the strokable attractions (Reptiles for today !)

Overall it could do with sprucing itself up and the signage, but I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville A, Owner at Wingz Bird Sanctuary, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments we are pleased you were pleasantly surprised by what you saw here. We also thank you for your comments regarding the signs as after a wonderfully sunny summer they did fade and look tatty however they have already started being replaced ready for this next season. We were very pleased to meet you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wingz Bird Sanctuary also viewed

 
Charlestown, St Austell
 

Been to Wingz Bird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing