We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great location!”
Review of Sam's On The Beach

Sam's On The Beach
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Par
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: 25 years of Sams in Fowey has now enabled us to bring all our experience, fun, ambience, staff and fantastic locally sourced produce to create something truly unique in the old Fowey Lifeboat House here on the waters edge overlooking the bay.3 Ingredients that a successful restaurant needs are "Good Staff, Good Food, Good Ambience" and Sams on the Beach has all 3 in abundance!Enjoy!And the views not that bad too!Sam Sixton
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great location!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Fab eaterie located right on Polkerris beach. Relaxed informal atmosphere and child friendly, whilst serving high quality food. This place has got it right!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    258
    84
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A shame.”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I've heard amazing things about Sam's on the Beach so I was very excited when my time to eat there came. I booked the table a month in advance as 1. I like to be organised and 2. I know that it is small and can get really busy. Upon arrival my boyfriend and I were shown to a table right at the back of the restaurant that meant I had my back to the amazing view (one of the main reasons I chose to eat here). I was really dissapointed that we were sat here, considering I booked the table to far in advance. There was a table free next to the window which I asked the waitress if we could move to. I was initially told that the table was reserved but when the customers were a no show the waitress did allow us to move which was appreciated. The menu was very interesting - my boyfriend and I shared a garlic bread to start and I had scallops for main and he had a pizza. For dessert we shared a medley. The food was all very nice, except for the scallops. At the time I thought they had a bit of a funny taste but I just thought that it was the dressing that they were in. However, later on in the evening and the next day I was very ill. I can only assume that it was the scallops as my boyfriend was absolutely fine and I only had 1 glass of wine. I have ate shellfish previously and never suffered a reaction. I emailed Sam's a couple of days later to let them know that I think that the scallops made me ill, if anything so that they can check them to ensure that this doesn't happen to any other customers. I was extremely dissapointed to not even receive a response! Not even a 'sorry to hear this, thanks for letting us know' which would have been sufficient!! Overall, lovely location, nice food (apart from the scallops), ok service but will not be returning in a hurry and wouldn't rush to recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent food - go back every year”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This is my favourite place to eat in Cornwall and we've been every year for the last 3 years. Big portions, a fun varied menu and family friendly. The goats cheese crostini salad is packed with fresh veggies and tasty additions like pine nuts, balsamic and onion relish. Delicious x

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely food, fan location”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

After school and a late afternoon trip to the beach including a swim at Polkerris this was a perfect end to the day. The food was delicious, we are all veggie and all had a different dish including pasta for our eight year old, pizza and calzone. Portions were plentiful (and we have good appetites), service was friendly and helpful and prices reasonable for the quality. We sat outside overlooking the sunset, perfect. X

Helpful?
Thank cornwallpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

we had visited the beach and to our delight discovered another Sams oho we had to try this one.
When we enquired the restaurant was very busy so we sat on the step and waited for a table outside and though it went a little chilly we were well looked after while waiting.
The staff were friendly and did check often if we needed more drinks and updating us on the times for dishes.
This can get very busy and the inside was full so though we waited a while we did just drop in and feel it was not detrimental to the meal but when we were served boy did it taste good.
I have to say the belly pork looked excellent but I had eaten this dish somewhere else a day before so was sorry I did not feel like it that night.
I have to say that the brownie with cherries was one of the best deserts I have ever had.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wobblypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's On The Beach also viewed

 
Fowey, Cornwall
 

Been to Sam's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing