We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place, perfect location, delicious food! Go.”
Review of Sam's On The Beach

Sam's On The Beach
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Par
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: 25 years of Sams in Fowey has now enabled us to bring all our experience, fun, ambience, staff and fantastic locally sourced produce to create something truly unique in the old Fowey Lifeboat House here on the waters edge overlooking the bay.3 Ingredients that a successful restaurant needs are "Good Staff, Good Food, Good Ambience" and Sams on the Beach has all 3 in abundance!Enjoy!And the views not that bad too!Sam Sixton
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent place, perfect location, delicious food! Go.”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Sam's is situated right on Polkerris beach which is a great place for families. You can make a reservation for the tables inside but there are 6 tables outside which are not bookable (thank goodness or you would never get in). We actually went twice during our weeks holiday because we liked it so much. We tried to book a table inside on the second occasion but stood no chance of getting anything resembling lunchtime so decided to chance it for the tables outside and were lucky both times. I never made it past the wood fired pizzas. The first time I had the mixed vegetable pizza which was excellent. The second time I spotted they had a special on so had pizza with fresh crab, scallops, bacon and green beans. It was so delicious I would have gone back again had we not been going home the next day. They have a good wine list or lager on draft. You can sit in the sunshine by the beach and your little ones can dig in the sand while you wait for them to cook your lunch. It doesn't get much better than that. Worth going out of your way for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEMMBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    265
    85
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a lovely location”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were lucky enough to get a table outside (can't book so it's just a case of right place right time).
The food was lovely. The kids enjoyed their pizza (the adult ones looked amazing), my husband enjoyed the moules (which were quite salty), and I had the Salmon from the specials menu which was one of the best meals I've ever had. Huge piece of lovely fish with a gorgeous waisbi, mint and pea puree on a bed of new potatoes and stir fry veg - seriously tasty and very adventurous cooking that worked.
Staff friendly enough, no-one rude as mentioned in previous reviews (maybe they've moved on). Best to book for inside as they were fully booked on a Friday out of the school holidays.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My birthday Treat”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Went here for my birthday lunch in June, friendly attentive staff, delicious tasty food and a view to die for on a lovely day, well worth the trek down and back up to the car park cant fault it really try and pick a nice sunny day and you wont be disappointed, i will be going back for sure and your other restaurants Sam.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveRS2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is the place to go!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Booking essential for the busier days but more than worth it. Very friendly atmosphere with excellent low key service & gorgeous food. Shorts & flips; jeans & trainers; chinos & deckies - it doesn't matter everyone is treated with equal excellence. Go out of your way to go there. You won't regret it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“class and tasty!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

dined here in June although it took some finding down the narrow lanes and parking can be an issue here was well worth it the food was well cooked very tasty and of excellent quality and value scallops starter enough for 2 and the seafood pasta also enough to be sharing both really were excellent definitely would dine here again as the food was spot on the only down side i would say is may be the tables are slightly too big and the chairs too low but the service was grand and the venue accommodating with a great view out to sea. Oh last seating is earlyish so best book to avoid disappointment and also guarantee a window table looking onto sea... tip would be one starter and one main would be plenty for a couple to share!
thanks
keep up the good work here a most enjoyable evening!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a1traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's On The Beach also viewed

 

Been to Sam's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing