We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a hearty appetite.”
Review of Sam's On The Beach

Sam's On The Beach
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Par
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: 25 years of Sams in Fowey has now enabled us to bring all our experience, fun, ambience, staff and fantastic locally sourced produce to create something truly unique in the old Fowey Lifeboat House here on the waters edge overlooking the bay.3 Ingredients that a successful restaurant needs are "Good Staff, Good Food, Good Ambience" and Sams on the Beach has all 3 in abundance!Enjoy!And the views not that bad too!Sam Sixton
w.mids
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Take a hearty appetite.”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Having done my "tripadvisor" homework i had this restaurant earmarked for lunch if we had a sunny day...and one arose!
If it hadn't been for tripadvisor i wouldn't have heard of Portkerris but it is a lovely little beach and harbour and staying close to St Austell it was nice not to drive miles in traffic jams.
I love scallops and we both started with them, but coming with foccacia bread, they were quite filling as well as tasty.
This was followed as the seafood pasta; be warned, this is massive, lots of plump mussels,clams,prawns and mediteranean vegetables.Enough on it's own.
Beach,sun,scallops,seafood..oh, and some nice cornish cider, sorted! waddled back up the hill to the carpark.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    265
    85
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of best lunches ever!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Amazing lunch on this fantastic beach.

We sat outside by midday which was just as well because the place quickly filled up. We ordered a BBQ chicken pizza and the Classic Mixed Seafood main (mariniere). It was all delicious and I was pleasantly surprised by the huge portion of excellent seafood - mussels, clams and two types of shell-on prawns. One of best mussels I've ever eaten. And all of this in the sunshine overlooking a fantastic bay - marvellous!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bertie1045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply delicious food !!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The most delicious muscles followed by heavenly scollops and a wicked pudding whilst watching the boats sail in the harbour -Can,t really beat it!!!Do book though as this little jewel has been found!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Location great, food mediocre”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Service is excellent, location splendid, food underwhelming. Our starter of scallops with black pudding, featured over cooked scallops, served with some pretty dull black pudding and chopped up bacon-. Main courses were whitebait salad and the special of mackerel and gurnard . The salad was reminiscent of a meal at a good chain restaurant, nothing special. The fish was well cooked but lacking any flavour. The whole experience was distinctly average. We cut our losses after the mains and declined the offer of dessert.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We ate here seven years ago and really loved the place. Returning now, with friends, we weren't impressed by the menu. No soup at all on it. Not as much seafood variety as we hoped for.... However, we enjoyed what we had, even though a little pricey. Lovely views from restaurant, and staff were attentive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's On The Beach also viewed

 

Been to Sam's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing