We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS IS A WONDERFUL RESTAURANT”
Review of Sam's On The Beach

Sam's On The Beach
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Par
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: 25 years of Sams in Fowey has now enabled us to bring all our experience, fun, ambience, staff and fantastic locally sourced produce to create something truly unique in the old Fowey Lifeboat House here on the waters edge overlooking the bay.3 Ingredients that a successful restaurant needs are "Good Staff, Good Food, Good Ambience" and Sams on the Beach has all 3 in abundance!Enjoy!And the views not that bad too!Sam Sixton
london
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“THIS IS A WONDERFUL RESTAURANT”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant. It's not cheffy at all, but the ingredients are excellent & the cooking is very good. We ate here twice. Mussels, scallops, turbot - all beautifully cooked, not overcooked, tender, tasty. & the portions are generous.
(We didn't try the pizzas, meatballs etc so can't vouch for them, but the mussels came with focaccia (see someone else's review) & I thought it was fine!) They also serve a local white wine that is definitely worth trying.
The restaurant is attractive, the view across the beach is great, the service was very good.
I only have 2 complaints: there aren't enough tables (they were completely booked for the 3rd night's dinner; & the wine list has some odd references to women, something like "a wine well-structured like Dolly Parton". You will probably find this kind of comment either absolutely hilarious or mildly stupid... I go for mildly stupid
But I would definitely eat here again

costs: mussels were roughly £12, turbot £17, scallops £14, wine £20

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david-206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    258
    84
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CotswoldsReview
1 review
“Quite special....”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We decided to have dinner at Sam's on the Beach in July 2013 purely because we were staying in St Austell bay and we had read the place was on the beach. When I rang to make a booking, we were told we could not get a table by the windows as they were already taken, I was disappointed but decided to book anyway. The place is small - about 8 tables inside and 6 tables outside, but we were pleased with our table because every table has a stunning sea view - the windows are so huge. The atmosphere is magic, loved the decor and the music, very relaxing. The pizza was stunning and my husband had halibut and scallops which was gorgeous. You do not expect such a groovy place right on the beach in southern cornwall, it reminded us of places in California. We loved it so much we returned for a breakfast of smoked haddock and a delicious waffle the next morning - they serve breakfast from 9am.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldsReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, B
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A very popular restaurant at a great location. Despite the rush, staff remains friendly, which is an achievement in itself. The mussels and mixed basque were really quite tasty, well prepared and with fresh herbs.

But sadly the logo of Sam's is not where the similarity with a low-end US diner ends. For instance, putting chorizo in a Spaghetti Marinara...? Why not add ketchup while you're at it. I don't even want to imagine what the smoked chicken topped with parmesan cheese and ham looks or tastes like. What I can say from experience is that the antipasti are a joke - straight from a cheap supermarket jar. The focaccia bread served with almost everything was also the worst quality imaginable. In short, the positives are partly undone by a string of tacky combinations and inferior products. Are they betting on an uneducated clientele that will keep on coming regardless? In any case, this place could be much better.

I would really advise the restaurant to strip down the menu (will also help the staff to deal with the rush) to a few real Cornish and a few real mediterranean quality dishes, without all the cheap add-ons that really detract from the experience. Then, it would truly become the great place that some reviewers here already take it to be.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Qroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“first class”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

great seafood, great views, great service. provencal sardines were amazing, john dory decent too. love seafood you'll love this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ashwoodham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is one of my three favourite places to eat in Cornwall. The relaxed atmoshpere, amazing food and beautiful location are hard to beat. We always enjoy a swim at the beach followed by a cold glass of wine and lovely seafood whilst watching the kids play happily on the sand after one of Sam's great pizzas or whitebait. This is one of my best kept secrets and sums up what life in Cornwall is all about.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's On The Beach also viewed

 
Fowey, Cornwall
 

Been to Sam's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing