We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, amazing location”
Review of Sam's On The Beach

Sam's On The Beach
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Par
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: 25 years of Sams in Fowey has now enabled us to bring all our experience, fun, ambience, staff and fantastic locally sourced produce to create something truly unique in the old Fowey Lifeboat House here on the waters edge overlooking the bay.3 Ingredients that a successful restaurant needs are "Good Staff, Good Food, Good Ambience" and Sams on the Beach has all 3 in abundance!Enjoy!And the views not that bad too!Sam Sixton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food, amazing location”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just fantastic - go there as soon as possible! We were lucky enough to eat outside on the beach - just beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Poppy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    251
    84
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really great food with lovely sea views”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A rustic, family friendly restaurant serving a wide range of pizzas and great fish dishes. Situated in the old lifeboat house with views across the beach, this restaurant is one to go out of your way for. The young staff were very attentive and the service very quick considering the number diners. I had scallops and black sausage followed by sardines......yum!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inishrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Just WOWZA”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had dinner at Sam's & I worried it would be 'gimmicky' & a bit reliant on its setting etc.

How wrong I was. The meal was superb, the staff were a delight & the whole experience was just smashing. No need to say anything else. Loved it.

Whoever reads this will poss recall us. We couldn't get a taxi so AJ took us home? Talk about a lovely bunch of great staff. They made a super meal & experience on a rainy march Saturday night - perfect. Thanks to all & esp AJ for the mad car ride back to ours.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pookanvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved the setting, atmosphere & food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We've just had dinner here with my parents and toddler, and we all thought it was a real find. Beautiful setting and a warm welcome from the young staff. We had requested a table next to the window (and the best views) when we booked online but didn't get one as you apparently need to book these tables a few weeks ahead - definitely worth doing that if you can. Service was attentive, friendly & informal.The seabass and mussels were lovely, as was the veggie pizza. Creme brulee & ice cream sundaes went down brilliantly too. We'll be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ricciolina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood & Location”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our first visit to Polkerris beach and to Sam's on The Beach which we had heard so much about. It did not let us down as was a beautiful location and was a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We were a party of 2 adults and 2 children and had the lunch menu. Excellent selection of seafood dishes and specials that were on on offer. The kids menu had a good choice and all seems home made. Our children loved their food and our asking when they can come back... The service was good but would recommend to book if you do not want to be disappointed as it is a small location and would think gets very busy in the summer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FantasticHearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's On The Beach also viewed

 

Been to Sam's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing