We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as the website”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Acres Cottages
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Par
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As good as the website”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here as the result of surfing the web and finding a late deal. The website looked good so we booked for a few days. On arrival everything was good, including the weather (we picked the right week). The standard of the site, swimming pool and the cottage we had was excellent. It's a new development and is at least as good as the website shows. It is close to a main road but hidden away with brilliant views over the valley towards the sea. Not a beach based holiday but they aren't far away and it's ideal for exploring this fascinating part of Cornwall. I have already recommended it to family and we intend to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Westerlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent, england
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in June and thoroughly enjoyed it. The cottages are very well equipped, modern and very clean. Fowey is 5 miles away and Polperro a little further. You can also go north to Padstow and Newquay in about 40 minutes. The Eden Project is very near and well worth going to. We ate at Sam's in Fowey and would recommend it - it was very busy and you cannot book but they have a lounge upstairs with a bar and comfortable seating where you can sit and wait. It is all very well organised, there is a nice atmosphere about the place and the food is very good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice-g-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We have stopped at Greenacres several times since they opened. Situated at the top of a hill with stunning views towards Par the properties are beautifully maintained and well equipped. Always clean, the grounds are great for the family and the large indoor pool a treat on rainy days. It is only a few minutes to Eden and we love popping into Fowey for a stroll and shop. Lovely!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 1963biffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We found this cottage through TravelZoo, I was suprised the cottage does not advertise itself more as I had never heard of it.

Booking was straight forward and we found the cottage with no problems. We paid £330 between 3 adults for 3 nights which included tickets to the Eden Project and a 3 course meal in one of the evenings - what a bargain at only £110 per person !

The cottage is very clean and has a log fire in the lounge, the indoor heated swimming pool is good too. The cottage had everything we could had asked for.

If I had to use one word to summarise the cottage - perfect! is what I would say.

Keep up the good work everyone at Greenacres Cottages.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NilsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Just got back from 4 days at the Greenacres Cottages and loved every minute.
The cottages are finished to a high standard of luxury. Everything was catered for from tea towels to dishwashing tablets. I travelled with 2 friends and a 5 month old baby we were more than happy with the accomodation. A travel cot and high chair were in the cottage on our arrival, the cottage was so warm with the central heating and extemely hot when we lit the log fire. The cottage was very well equiped with everything from wine glasses to a rolling pin! It was very peaceful and we slept well in the beds and the bathrooms were lovely. Sky TV was a bonus for the evenings and wireless broadband. The pool was lovely and no one in it just us. We were out and about every day in the glorious Cornish countyside. We opted for the fine dining and Eden Project break, the Eden Project was great and the meal at Beaumonts Restaurant was superb.
Great mini break away and will definately be coming back !!! :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa-London7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

These cottages are excellent and I could recommend them to anyone. The standard of fittings is really good and the cottage we had (No3) had two beds and three baths - all of a really good standard, the bathrooms sparkled they were so clean. My only complaint would be that there were no recommendations for local restaurants in the information book but neighbours staying in the development gave us some suggestions. Don't hesitate to use this development, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moiSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

A lovely location and superbly finished accommodation. Everything we needed for our week including the excellent swimming pool which we used daily, often exclusively.
Broadband, Freeview and DVD players were useful when the weather was ropey.

I'm very fussy with regard to noise and privacy in holiday cottages. These cottages seem very well insulated and we heard nothing from our neighbouring families, although traffic noise from the A390 road was apparent as we keep our windows open at night.

Only slight issue was the oven which caused the smoke detectors to sound no matter how careful we were, and the combi boiler meant we couldn't use both showers at once. Not a major problem with two small children. An issue with teenagers?

Should we holiday in the area again, we would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frimleyfrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
3.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,559 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.9 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
488 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Acres Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acres Cottages

Property: Green Acres Cottages
Address: Penpillick, Par, St Austell PL24 2RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Acres Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Green Acres Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenacres Cottages Hotel Par
Green Acres Cottages Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing