We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hospitality and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roundhouse Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Par
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roundhouse Mill
Ranked #8 of 17 Par B&B and Inns
grantham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent hospitality and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

Have just returned from four days stay at Roundhouse Mill where Lisa and Peter made us truly welcome. Immaculately clean, very comfortable and with Peter's tasty breakfasts we can sincerely recommend this well located and friendly B&B. Our hosts have been in the business for a long time and therefore know what guests need. Having stayed in many B&Bs we would rate this as one of the best and good value for money.
We visited the Eden Project (10 minutes drive) and would really recommend going - but leave it to you to decide on its merit. Fowey is a quaint but “fashionable” port which is well worth visiting. There are lots of opportunities for beautiful walks both on the coast (both coasts as Padstow is only about 40 minutes drive)
Eating out - There are many pubs and restaurants within fifteen minutes drive. It depends what you want and how much you want to spend!!
We would particularly recommend as excellent value for money -The Pier House Hotel at Charlestown - large portions and well cooked. Close by is Austells with its young chef aiming for a Michelin star . Set dinner menu £30 for 3 courses plus wine.
For a real treat and perhaps a very special occasion then it would be difficult to beat fine dining at Nathan Outlaw in the Marina Hotel in Fowey. All one would expect from a first class restaurant and for the price you have to pay! We would strongly recommend - but do check out the price before making a reservation. All these three have web sites with sample menus.
Peter and Lisa will also advise and make reservations.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank follower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Norfolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

I stayed with a friend for a long weekend break. This B and B is absolutely excellent- a beautiful, immaculately clean small converted mill, made special by the attentive and welcoming owners.We visited the Eden project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan ( highly recommended) during our stay. We arrived by train, and were picked up by Lisa the owner from the station, in fact she and her husband Peter gave us several lifts over the weekend.
The breakfast were plentiful and beautifully cooked. I would recommend this to any couple or friends who want a quality break at a real bargain of a price. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Quality and real value for money
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

Of all the thousands of B&Bs in Cornwall, we are so glad we found this one. Lisa and Pete are the perfect hosts and made our stay memorable. The property is beautiful with fantastic views over the surrounding countryside to the sea (the conservatory making an excellent place to enjoy a drink as the sun sets). The bedroom was spotlessly clean with an en suite shower room complete with shampoo, shower gel etc. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits are provided, there's also a TV and a hairdryer. Breakfasts were a particular highlight of our stay. The property is only about 2 miles from the Eden Project and well placed for St. Austell, Fowey, Mevagissey, Bodmin etc. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narrowboating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, East Midlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

Located in the heart of Cornwall just minutes away from the Eden Project, Lost Gardens of Heligan, miles of stunning coastline and set amidst beautiful countryside Round House Mill proved to be the perfect base for our holiday

The Mill was reached more easily than expected, and we arrived before the stated opening hour so we stopped in the parking area prepared to wait a while. Almost immediately, Lisa found us, showed us to our room and organised a welcome tray. As we sat in the lounge admiring the magnificent views outside and the old mill workings inside Lisa outlined the facilities available. Most impressive for a 3 bedroom B & B: all that we could reasonably want indoors and an attractive garden outside. There is even a heated swimming pool outside.

Round House Mill is a 19th century mill that has been has been delightfully restored, decorated immaculately and tastefully furnished. The style of the house is traditional with thick walls but each bedroom has a modern fitted en-suite shower room. Tea / coffee making facilities, television, clock radio, hairdryer and even a mini-fridge are provided. All the rooms have extensive views over a valley towards the Eden Centre on the right and sea views to the left. The lounge is well furnished with plenty of comfortable seating. Glasses, bottle opener and corkscrew are handy if needed. There are also games and reading matter if wanted. There is no shortage of leaflets and guides to attractions in the area. It was pleasant to sit in the lounge and watch the daylight fade and the lights appear around the bay.

Lisa’s breakfasts were absolutely superb and could be as light or as heavy as one wished with the option of full English or vegeterian. There was a great variety of cereals with ample milk, fruit, yoghurt and juices set out. Our orders for cooked breakfasts, tea and coffee were taken beforehand but checked on the morning. We were always offered more toast but never felt the need.

Lisa and Peter ran a successful B & B in Plymouth for some years but moved to the Roundhouse Mill about a year ago. Their wealth of experience is evident by their attention to cleanliness and detail and their friendly approach. They were quite happy to spend time with guests and advise us on places to visit, places likely to be crowded and where to find good eating places nearby. They made table reservations for us and we were delighted at the quality and value in their suggested pubs.

When we headed home we left a bunch of house keys in the room. This may have been a real problem if we were not carrying another set. Lisa knew that we were breaking the journey at some motel in the Taunton area and went to a lot of trouble to find out where we were likely to be staying and left messages for us at a number of reception desks. We feel that this level of service is quite exceptional.

Internet facilities are probably insufficient for business users and we cannot recommend the Round House Mill for families with young children because of the pool. No pets are allowed.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Faultless
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank olddraffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Par hotels
2.7 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Vine Cottage B&B
#9 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Inn
The Royal Inn
#2 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Penarth Guest House
1.9 mi away
Trenython Manor
Trenython Manor
#1 of 1 in Par
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Acres Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Mill

Property: Roundhouse Mill
Address: PL24 2RT a3082, Par, St Austell PL24 2RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Hotel Class:3 star — Roundhouse Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Roundhouse Mill Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing