We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter warmth near Eden Project”
Review of Roundhouse Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Par
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roundhouse Mill
Ranked #8 of 16 Par B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Winter warmth near Eden Project”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed one night on 5th December 2012 as we wanted to see Eden project and this B&B is nearby. Warm friendly reception from owner who supplied us with hot tea and custard slices in the beautiful lounge with great views across St Austell bay and surrounding hills. The lounge contains the preserved huge wooden grinding shaft of the old granary mill. Our double room (No 1) was gorgeously warm and cosy given freezing temp's outside. En-suite shower room was not large but space well used and spotlessly clean. Big plus point is mirror over usable surface (chest of drawers) and power point adjacent. Window gives view to bay. The property is adjacent to A390 which is busy, but this did not disturb our sleep, or any of our time there. The breakfast we had (both had full English) consisted of a sausage, bacon, a fried egg, tomatoes and mushrooms cooked with a dash of butter and cream - all very tasty and well cooked. A wood burner had been lit for us (we were the only guests that night). Presentation immaculate. The owner, Peter, gave us good advice as to where to go to eat in the evening.
Overall this is great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian6D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
torquay devon
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

stayed here recently for three nights as it was central to everything (eden project/fowey/castletown) rooms spotless and breakfasts to die for.......the hosts were excellent and very knowledgeable regards the area..........will certainly visit again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amartinbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

stayed there for 4 nights last week, fantastic room, lovely food and really lovely people, the mill is a perfect location to get to the Eden project and funny enough just seems to be 20 munites drive from anywhere else in Cornwall.
Thanks for a great stay, we will be staying there again, in fact we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cornwall now.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just arrived home from a two night stay at the Roundhouse Mill. We had such a lovely time, Lisa and Peter are excellent hosts and we would definitely recommend a visit there. The full English is wonderful, especially the mushrooms!
The rooms are very clean and comfortable, a home from home. Look forward to our next visit. Rachel, Joel, Ena and Alan.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scraitchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Have just returned from a weeks stay and cannot speak too highly of Lisa and Peter - we loved the accomodation and views - the breakfasts were excellent and Lisa and Peter could not have done more to make us feel relaxed and at home - from the lovely lounge/breakfast area , recommendations and suggestions for where we could visit and eat out, and literally went the extra mile when my friend got lost trying to find the Mill when Peter went out in his own car to find her. An excellent base to explore both North and South Cornwall from.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is as good a B&B as you will find anywhere. Lisa & Peter are perfect hosts and look after everyone really well. The rooms are spotless and the dining room containing the old mill wheel is quite a feature. Breakfasts are excellent and not everyone will know that Peter also makes a great rice pudding!!!
Would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights here in July and have nothing but praise for this establishment. It is well positioned for easy accesss to the Cornwall area. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well furnished and have a great view. Breakfast was excellent as was the view from the breakfast room. Lisa and Peter are very friendly and helpful hosts and enjoy providing information on where to eat and what places to visit. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Par hotels
2.7 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
104 reviews
2.4 mi away
Penarth Guest House
1.3 mi away
The Royal Inn
The Royal Inn
#2 of 16 in Par
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
CLC Trenython Manor
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Vine Cottage B&B
#9 of 16 in Par
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Acres Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Mill

Property: Roundhouse Mill
Address: PL24 2RT a3082, Par, St Austell PL24 2RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Hotel Class:3 star — Roundhouse Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Roundhouse Mill Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing