We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay, beautiful location and excellent service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mullion Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mullion Cove Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
co down, northern ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay, beautiful location and excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

This hotel has recently undergone major refurbishment. First impressions upon arrival (on a beautifully sunny day) was that their web-site did not do the location justice! The panorama is magnificent and there are numerous seats on the cliff top in front of the hotel upon which to sit and enjoy the views of the adjacent picturesque harbour, islands and coves. It is also located beside the coastal path, which provides for beautiful cliff-top walks.
Being used to staying in 'international group' corporate hotels on business trips, it was a delight to stay in this relatively small 'family' hotel (don't worry - no sign of Basil or Sybil except on their screen saver) where excellent service was evident at all times. The reception area and lounges were very well presented, with the dining room and bistro also providing a fitting ambience. Some of the bedrooms are, we understand, still to be fully refurbished, however we were not dissapointed with the cleanliness and appearance of our older (partially refurbished) room! Most bedrooms appear to have a sea view, which we definitely recommend.
The food and service in the restaurant was very very good. The special rate of £10 (yes £10) for dinner in the restaurant for guests staying more than two or three nights was an excellent and highly recommended addition to our stay. Overall value was very good. The hotel was well located for touring south Cornwall with many local attractions and beaches.
The hotel also welcomed (not just tolerated) our dog (ideal location for walks etc and lots of advice on dog-friendly locations etc). However whether you are a dog-owner or not we do not think you will be disappointed with your stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianearmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    109
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
85
309
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

Stayed at the Mullion Cove Hotel at the end of Feb 09 with my wife. Easy and friendly booking over the phone and was quoted £136 for two with DBB per night, with a harbour view. A bit pricey for the time of year and with the Credit Crunch I expected a better price.

Check in great, quick and friendly.

The room was clean with a new TV, but the carpets were stained, furniture 'oldish' and the wallpaper was in need of replacement. The bathroom required a complete referb as the tiles were cracked, carpet stained and the taps, ext were from the 80's and cheap ones at that. The real let down was toothpaste residue in the glass (plastic) tumblers from the previous guests. The view was great though.

The hotel is a bit remote, a walk to Mullion village about 40 min. The harbour is tiny, no good old fasioned Cornish pub, so the hotel bar it was. About £9.50 for a pint of larger and a double rum and coke.£££

Now for the best bit. I have a favourite hotel, which is a few miles down the road. Although still my favourite, the food here is twice as good. I paid extra for the fillet steak and it was superb. The starter and dessert was also very good. The dining room was packed, so I suspect there were also non residents there, which is a good sign.

The pool had been emptied for the winter, but should have been covered as it was filling up with rain water and looked horrible.

My score would be 3.5, but with the great staff and food, I will round it upto a 4.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigwaverider9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

We have just returned from having a few nights at Mullion Cove. This hotel is superb!!!!!
The room was excellent, the food exquisite, the atmosphere very good. Although the weather was very cold, yet we were most comfortable in the hotel, and having a sea view room we were able to sit and enjoy the spectacular scenery.

  • Liked — Just being there
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank paulandsonja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

My wife and I are frequent hotel users. We appreciate good service but can be picky if things don't measure up. Our only other TA review was critical as we had felt we had been mislead by the reviews and the hotel's website.

When we discovered the Mullion Cove Hotel we were staying in a hotel a short distance away which was slightly disappointing and we came across Mullion Cove whilst out walking our dog.

We enquired as to current availability and were shown to a beautiful turret room at the front of the hotel with a stunning view of the rugged Cornish coastline and were quoted a sensible rate for dinner bed and breakfast for four nights which we accepted gladly.

Everything about Mullion Cove was exceptional. Food, location, comfort, standard of decoration and furnishings etc etc. But best of all the staff who were a real team, mostly long serving, friendly, but with impeccable manners and skills and lead by a very capable and friendly management team.

Faultless and delightful and excellent value. We will be back!!!!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HarryIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

We have just returned from a four-nights mid-week break at the Mullion Cove Hotel which we could hardly fault.

Everything from the the first welcome to our departure was excellent. Our twin-bedded room was ideal and the food absolutely superb, The location is near perfect and we were lucky to experience one of the best sunsets imaginable. Being right on the coast path it's a walker's dream.

We had visited the hotel twelve years ago when we would have rated it average but it is certainly worthy of the higher rating now.

Very highly recommended

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

We have just returned from staying at this Hotel.The staff are very attentive & nothing is too much trouble.First impressions are important and the greeting at reception and friendly atmosphere were an indication on what was to come.

We stayed (2 adults & 2 kids) the "Garden Suite" which was comftable and accommodates dogs - the hotel is dog friendly-
The view from the suite and most of the hotel is stunning even on a misty day. We used the pool which is solar heated and this was very pleasant.

The hotel food is very good but we found the service slow even on a day when the bistro was almost empty and very slow when it was busy,

The breakfast menu is excellent with a varied choice.

My only criticism is the insulation of the garden suite - not the walls - the floor above.Every movement could be heard. some sound proofing needs to be applied under the carpet and on the stairs.- clearly something that was overlooked when it was converted some time ago.

The owners of this place and the staff do a great job in Customer Service and as someone who works in this field I tend to have a more critical eye than many - Its especilally good to find a English Hotel in the South West where they dont trade on the scenery or past and offer shoddy service as so many do.

  • Liked — location,comfort,service
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LondonBoyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
8.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
4.5 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullion Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullion Cove Hotel

Property: Mullion Cove Hotel
Address: Mullion Cove, Lizard Peninsula, Mullion TR12 7EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mullion Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Mullion Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullion Cove Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing