We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, welcoming atmosphere and good food.”
Review of Mullion Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mullion Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We recently had a week in a cottage in Mullion but although this was a self-catering type holiday we planned to eat out every day. Our cottage was very close to the Polurrian Hotel and we thought we would be going there several times but one visit was enough (see my review)! However, we also had a lunchtime meal at the Mullion Cove hotel and what a difference, we wanted to eat there every day after that! In fact we did manage to tear ourselves away and also have a meal at the Halzephron Inn but it was to Mullion Cove that we kept returning.

The location is beautiful, the food was fantastic and sensibly priced, the house wine was really good and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We did not try the restaurant but chose from the excellent bistro menu and, because the weather was fabulous ate outside on the terrace twice, and once, in the evening, in the recently refurbished bar/bistro.

Whilst there we asked to see some of the bedrooms for future reference and those that we saw were very nice; we now have Mullion Cove firmly on our list of ‘must stay at’ hotels!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 703 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

just returned form mullion cove hotel , with two children and the dogs , food was amazing staff very friendly and attentive , standard room was standard but clean wish we had upgraded now.
kids loved the outdoor pool as the weather was so good they went in it every day
nice place to stay for a family and our dogs

Room Tip: up grade if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The USP of this hotel is its location - we are working our way along the South West Coast Path and Mullion Cove's position enabled us to walk to the door at the end of a day's walk and then set of again the following morning.

Everything is how it should be, the rooms are clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The brasserie restaurant punches above it's weight and was full of locals - we ate there on both nights.

In comparison with some of the other places we have stayed the Mullion Cove rooms seem a little expensive and there were a number of things wrong with the bill. These were cheerfully corrected but I'm not sure that our final bill was completely correct but it was near enough.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view and a bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benedict_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We only had Sunday lunch at the hotel but it was very good. Three course meal at a very reasonable 15 pounds providing exceptional value for money. Be sure to book in advance though because they fill up quickly!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wecoyoteNescio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel commands a fantastic site, reasonably remote and a car is a neccessity.

The lounges are very comfortable and overlook the cove and rocks below and it would be great in winter to be luxuriously warm watching the waves break on the rocks, unfortunately the weather was so sunny and warm that everyone was out most of the day making the most of the surrounding beauty so watching the storm was a fantasy.

The hotel was mostly full and the staff made every effort to meet customers requests promptly

We had a suite with two bedrooms which had a fab view. In future stays I would tend to opt for a bay windowed sea view room because all the rooms as far as I could see mostly had a sea view, Not many rooms had no sea view. What was crucial to me was a 'walk in' shower.

The food in the main restaurant was always well cooked and presented. My friend is allergic to butter and most sauces contained this. ( a bit of preparation on my part I think)

The breakfast range was very wide, providing a cold self service buffet as well as a cooked to order porridge, fish, eggs and full breakfast

I would be happy to spend several days on the terrace looking at the view and having a glass. I dont drive, so this is a fantasy until I find someone to drive me.

I would happily spend a period in winter sitting in the comfort of one of the lounges watching the waves crash on the rocks

I must say I was sceptical about the 'Mullion landed Lobster' on the menu on arrival until I saw a man in a Hi Vis jacket wondering over the hill he next morning and found a whole small village and harbour nestling beneath the hotel!

The clientelle were mostly traditional and the waitress looked askanse when she asked if 'my wife would be coming later to breakfast' and I replied 'shes not my wife' (clue two rooms!!)

Room Tip: I did not sample the cliff top solar heated open air pool The hotel has a very sophisticated lift a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here en route to the Scilly Islands with my Mother aged 90 and my sister. The hotel receptionist was very welcoming and did everything she could to help my Mother. The hotel was also very dog friendly which was a bonus for us as my Mother does not travel without her miniature Schnauzer. The rooms were comfortable and clean although nothing special. Our evening meal was lovely and the service excellent as well as friendly. The scenery was beautiful too and we very much enjoyed our stay. The 'Star of the show' for us,however, was the receptionist who went out of her way to help us and make our stay a good one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Bedroom (Standard) Clean, comfortable, adequate size. On suite clean good size lots of hot water.
Lounges comfortable and clean, Bar very nice prices a bit high but excellent service.
Dining room very nice service superb food excellent but did long for some plain food after a week should maybe have opted for a couple of nights dining in the Bistro. The quality and choice of the breakfasts were excellent. A lovely hotel ideally situated if you want a quiet break.

Room Tip: We chose the cheapest option with no sea view a standard room we didn't intend to spend a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
842 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
317 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
15.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
14.6 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullion Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullion Cove Hotel

Address: Mullion Cove, Lizard Peninsula, Mullion TR12 7EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range: $150 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mullion Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Mullion Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullion Cove Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing