We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, character and service at it's best!”
Review of Mullion Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mullion Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We have just returned from our second stay at this fine hotel. Many other reviews have told you about perfect location, the views, the peace and the wonders of the coast right outside the windows so all we can do is fully endorse their words. If you want to stay in an hotel on the Lizard, stay here.

Mullion Cove has been a hotel for decades and has undergone a lot of fortunes but is now in the hands of new owners for the past year or two and they have undertaken a programme of full refurbishment to now have most excellent rooms. Our sea view room was just newly finished and was impressive in a perfectly judged way. It retains the character of the building yet has the comforts and facilities of a new one. Everything is sparkling clean, carefully maintained and comfortable.

The meals. Well they certainly try very hard and the menu is full of adventure for the serious food lover. Personally I would welcome one more traditional choice each night as sometimes the offerings sound challenging but in fact the description hides a most acceptable meal that nobody could object to. Then the desserts....home made, beautifully presented and every one a delightful surprise...some are generous so be warned, you might need bigger clothes by the end of your stay!

The Staff...one comment on here mentions that they are all from Eastern Europe and that is near enough true but, do not for one second confuse that with any failings..without exception they are so efficient, helpful, quick, attentive and friendly. There are no language problems..they do everything to perfection. I have never had better service anywhere.

So...to summarise..a fine place, well run, good parking, quiet, clean, good meals and not a problem to report! There are few hotels like that around these days!

During our stay, nearly every guest was a repeat booking, some on year fifteen!..and everyone said that they would be coming back!! We certainly will!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are the best but only for the amazing sunsets! The rooms are all fine otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoratioQBirdbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 623 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as part of a group. I was extremely impressed with this hotel. Everything from the service to the room was top notch. The food was on a different level though. I would say the level of the food was not far off Michelin standard. I have eaten at some top restaurants both in London and around the world so would like to think I know what a good meal is and the food the Mullion Hotel serves up is the very best. In particular, they are very good at fish dishes. They dealt with serving our group extremely well and managed to serve up to 14 different meals perfectly every time.

The hotel is in a brilliant location. All by itself on the over looking the Lizard coast. There is a lovely looking outdoor swimming pool but I didn't get to use it.

Can't recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: I only saw my room (222) It was very clean and well decorated. Great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nealphillipsBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

By all accounts this appears to be a good hotel. It certainly looks the part perched up overlooking the gorgeous Mullion Cove. We did not stay at the hotel, however our lunch at the bistro restaurant was very poor indeed. The dressed crab salad was inedible. The lady next to us also complained to the waiter about it being 'not very fresh'. A vegetable risotto was lacking in flavour. Service was extremely slow and another table called the waiter over to check on their order. If they knew how bad the food was going to be they may have not bothered trying to speed it up.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank kahkityoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed at the hotel to enjoy a walking holiday, exploring the pristine Cornwall coast. It's a lovely period hotel situated atop a prime spot on the blustery Mullion Cove cliffs. Our 2nd floor ocean-view room was nicely appointed with a large bathroom (great tub, broken towel warmer). The hotel is dog-friendly and a half dozen hotel guests convened in the parlor each evening with their dogs. Lots of border terriers and assorted spaniels. I was the rare American, and except for British women at the front desk, the staff consists largely of Poles, Czechs and Slovaks catering to the British clientele and taking their cues about customer service from the British management. As there are few restaurants in this remote location, most guests take their meals at the hotel, in their semi-formal dining room or in the bar. Many breakfast choices. They include a vegetarian option on the dinner menu but guests rarely order it and it is not reliably good. Our cheese souffle arrived flat as a pancake. Took a little effort but a manager agreed it wasn't a souffle and took it off our bill. Fish preparation is particularly noteworthy (but I don't eat meat so can't comment). No green salads to be found. Excellent choice of local ales and ciders in the bar. There is a a large outdoor seating area which must be heaven in the warm weather. Feels like another world, both in environment and culture. Very close to the breathtaking coastal trail down to Lizard Point, the southernmost tip of Britain -- a must-do!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HuntressCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was our 5th visit to Mullion Cove and the best yet. We had booked a 1 night stay with dinner, bed & breakfast. I asked when i booked the room if we could book dinner as well even though it wasn't part of their usual deal and Sarah was more than happy to help.
As we were only to be for the 1 night i thought we'd take a standard room. We'd stayed in 1 of these before and was more than happy. Imagine our delight when we were treated to a 1st floor sea view upgraded room overlooking the pool area. Simply divine.
Where this hotel excels is with the staff. Sarah greeted us like we were old friends, Chris the Hotel Manager spent time chatting to us at dinner, filling us in with news since our last visit. . Lorraine (my favourite) was full of chat on Reception on Saturday too. We always feel looked after whilst there. It may sound daft but these guys make you feel like one of the gang.
Would i recommend Mullion Cove Hotel? You bet. Every time. Would i go back again? In a heartbeat. To sum up, I don't know for the life of me what they put in the water there but i'd love a glass!

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleandLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed for the air show ( sadly due to weather no flying !) the lady on reception was lovely she upgraded us to a beautiful front sea view room as rather quiet (and previous stay's room not so nice) and it was WONDERFUL,I had the best nights sleep ever it was so comfortable,the meal we had was faultless,and the place was just so relaxing and splendid position I cannot imagine anyone wanting much more from a night/days away,

Room Tip: Sea view are best though pricey !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suebarker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This was our 5th visit to the Mullion Cove Hotel, and it remains one of our favourites. We had room 214, with a beautiful sea view from both the bedroom and the bathroom, and situated on the top floor.
Sarah and Lorraine are without doubt two of the very best reception staff I have come across, always cheerful, friendly and very welcoming.
Since the refit, the bedrooms and bathrooms have improved considerably, the rooms were very comfortable, clean and well equipped.
The food, as always, was very good and we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay there. If you are looking for peace and quiet, and some breathtaking walks along the cliffs then I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade, if possible, to a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
819 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,179 reviews
8.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
206 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
902 reviews
16.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullion Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullion Cove Hotel

Address: Mullion Cove, Lizard Peninsula, Mullion TR12 7EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range: $165 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mullion Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mullion Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullion Cove Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing