We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will always go back to The Mullion Cove” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mullion Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mullion Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We will always go back to The Mullion Cove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We first found this hotel in 1997 when it was in need of refurbishment but the staff and the atmosphere made it a perfect stay anyway. Since then we have returned 4/5 times and wherever else we go in the UK The Mullion Cove is the benchmark. They have now refurbed but none of the hospitality has been lost. The food is fab, the service excellent and the manager and staff are the best. The position/views etc are unbeatable. I cannot praise this hotel enough and I am the real picky letter writing kind of guest!! I urge you to stay there.
Judi Guy London

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljg1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    108
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
85
308
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights over the may bank holiday weekend with our pet labrador. On speaking with them over the phone to book it and enquiring about how dog stays work, I found them really nice and helpful. This was entirely our expereince on staying there! We had a seaview room that was perfectly roomy enough for the 3 of us with a beauitiful refurbed bathroom too - I really loved being able to look out to sea while having a shower! They provided a really helpful dog welcome pack with advice on beaches etc suitable for them. The bed was large and comfy and the individual room temp setting really helpful. The first night the sun was streaming through the windows and on exiting the shower before going down for dinner, my boyfriend and dog had both passed out in their comfort on the bed...! Says it all!

The breakfasts were really good; sausages and tomatoes being exceptionally tasty. The staff were wonderful, there are 3 lovely lounges with big views to sea, 1 being just for the dogs. I loved the refurb, none of that corporate look of beige and cream, stunning stained glass windows on the stairwell too.

Minor criticisms were that having paid an extra £7 per night for the dog I was a little surprised the bed linen was not changed over a 3 night stay. I personally feel it should have been changed every night and while the bathroom was spotless the room clean was not as good over those 3 days as it could have been. The dinners for me were also a little hit and miss but then again I am spoilt living in london with the standard of cuisine we have here.

A stunning place - not to be missed, fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Any refurbed rooms looking out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

A really great place to stay in a striking location overlooking Mullion Cove. Not a hotel for families with young kids but that is its appeal. Fantastic level of service - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devoncream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

We did a last minute search for a dog-friendly hotel on our way to Lands End during the Bank holiday weekend & found this hotel.
It sits on a fabulous cliff-top location with amazing views of the Cornish coastline. It's an old building refurbished in traditional style. The rooms have lovely high ceilings & grand proportions.
We stayed in a room specifically reserved for doggy-guests but you would never have known. There was absolutely no trace of another dog in that room. So an extra compliment to housekeeping, the rooms are so big and have proper "furniture" in them with lots of nooks & crannies to keep clean. The only thing housekeeping missed was the ventilator in the bathroom!! Good work, keep it up!
We also liked the lounge reserved for dogs & their owners. Would have been nicer if there was a television or radio in there though.
We ate in the Bistro & the food was great. We are looking forward to trying the main dining room next time. Breakfast was phenomenal. A cold buffet plus a la carte breakfast with everything from full English to Smoked Salmon with scrambled egg or whatever breakfast combination you fancy. Considering it's all in the price, I couldn't believe I was still in a 3* hotel.
The staff were really welcoming, friendly & helpful.
The only thing I didn't like about the hotel was the carpeting in the toilets (in the Bistro). Yuck, yuck, yuck, dated & unhygienic, why not have it tiled?
So apart from that, it was a great stay at a hotel that's worth more than 3* in my opinion & I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Best last minute price? Book directly with hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

This is the place to go for good food, friendly atmosphere, wonderful views, great walks.
Our room was huge with views of the cove, lovely bathroom and thoughtful design with the extra shower for ladies who like to bath and then rinse their hair, it's the little things that make the difference. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rocksandsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

Stayed near the Lizard at this lovely hotel in Mullion Cove. A wonderful setting and plenty to do and see in the area. There are some really lovely cliff walks.
The slightly larger rooms, especially with a view of the sea are worth paying the extra. The staff are charming and very helpful. The food, particularly dinner in the Restaurant, is really excellent. A relaxing ambience and a hotel well worth knowing. The spring seemed a good time to go as one would anticipate Cornwall and its narrow roads being rather busy in the summer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

I have just returned from a wonderful weekend walking break at the Mullion Cove hotel. It was recommended by one of our walking group who has been visiting the hotel for many years with her husband.
The food was first class and was the best that I have ever had in a hotel. The choice was superb, and we found it difficult to choose each course as it all sounded so good. Even breakfast was a culinary experience with smoked salmon and eggs benedict on offer, in fact we wished that we could stay longer just to sample all the many dishes available.
The bedroom and en-suite were newly decorated and furnished to the highest standard. The beds were exceptionally comfortable, and even the bed linen was of a standard that you would expect from a top quality hotel. We had the most amazing sea view and it was such a joy to be able to sit in bed and admire the view each morning.
The staff were polite and cheerful and nothing was too much trouble.
One of our group couldn't eat wheat products and in addition to being provided with wheat free bread at each meal, he was also provided with a seperate menu which indicated the foods that were suitable/unsuitable for his diet. Amazing!
We were surprised that the hotel was only a 3 star. It is the best 3 star hotel that I have ever stayed in.
There was absolutely nothing that we could fault about the hotel, and the owners should be congratulated on their smooth running of a perfect retreat.
We are already planning our next trip to Mullion Cove, and I am sorry that it took so long for the rest of our group to discover the 'perfect' hotel in the 'perfect' location.

Room Tip: Any room with a seaview would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn_snell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
8.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
4.5 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullion Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullion Cove Hotel

Property: Mullion Cove Hotel
Address: Mullion Cove, Lizard Peninsula, Mullion TR12 7EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mullion Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Mullion Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullion Cove Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing