We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as everyone says it is!”
Review of Mullion Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mullion Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Having stayed at the sister hotel in Devon on a few occasions, we expected to be delighted - and we were! A litle less formal than the Thurlestone, the quality was every bit as good. Very comfortable revamped rooms, very attentive service, and a chef who clearly knows what he/she is doing, with a general bias towards fish and seafood (naturally!). Our only issue was that breakfast items - pastries, spreads, juices - were cleared from the service table too quickly. Oh - and as you probably gather - the position and views are stunning. A very pleasant few days - helped along by some well-kept Doom Bar!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
There are newer reviews for Mullion Cove Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 602 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2011

The hotel is a delight. Under the direction of the current head chef, the food is now superb. The housekeeping is immaculate; all staff seem totally focussed on ensuring that the guest has a perfect stay; the refurbishment and upgrading of the hotel have made it a beautiful, quietly luxurious and tasteful place to stay.

I first stayed at the hotel at Easter 1985. It was just coming out of its winter shroud and had not emerged very far: the bedrooms were very cold and damp: there were no en suite facilities and it was a sad place. That was quite a few owners ago. Since 1995 my experience of the hotel has shown continuous improvement which has been taken to a totally unexpected and higher level by the current owners since they took over at the end of 2006.

We stayed for a week at the end of March and beginning of April 2011. The hotel, open all year round, was very nearly full when we were there - this despite the vagaries of early spring weather in Conwall and the long distance guests inevitably have to travel to get to it. You can understand why it is such a success: it is very, very good.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snurdbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

My fiance took me here at the beginning of December for a long weekend to get away from the hassles of work. Lovely place. Was not majorly busy (obviously due to the time of year) but it was very pleasant. The views from the triple aspect windows (all with window seats) were breath-taking. The service was first class as was the food. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chandosKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Room 116 - one of the hotel's superior rooms. Very pleasant with nice sea views. Lovely bathroom with an, oh my God, shower to die for... it was stupendous, I LOVED that shower! As always, lovely food, great breakfast... BEST SHOWER EVER! Only one odd thing... they give you complimentary mineral water - the chamber maid didn't take the used bottles away - presumably because there was an inch left in each - and we ended up with 3 used bottles which eventually disappeared when I put them in the bin. Not that it bothered me, just seemed a little odd. All in all, one again, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulj121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We arrived at this hotel, having stayed several times before. Were greeted as if we belonged there. Were given Room 210. Excellent room. Very comfortable King Sized bed, comfortable leather armchairs and a comfortable sofa. Bathroom clean and having a seprate shower and bath. Wonderful views from the bay window down to the harbour, and across Mounts Bay. I reckon this must have one of the best views of any hotel in UK.
Service was friendly and proffesional, Food was Superb. After dinner coffee by the cosy fire in the lounge just made a perfect finish to an excellent meal each evening. The only problem we had, was that we had to leave to come home !!! Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulandsonja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Beautiful setting over the sea/harbour
Wonderful friendly atmosphere yet mainting professionalism
Knowledgable, helpful, warm staff
AA rosette food - excellent A La Carte menu and wine chioces
Dogs welcomed

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyMLaunceston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We stayed here back in October when they were running a Photographic course over 4 days. The course was worth every penny!!
The room was very comfortable, being recently refurbished, and appeared this to be an ongoing project for all of the bedrooms.
The staff were excellent, and we were given a warm welcome. The breakfast was great, with a good choice and set you up for the day. I must say, however, that the evening meals could have been better. The choice was good, but the resident chef was away, and standards were not as high as we were given to expect. The serving staff were also very good, but appeared quite often to be waiting for the meals to be completed in the kitchen.
Food appeared to be based on presentation, rather than substance, and my wife thought there were too many flavours being combined into the dishes. Also, at lunch one day when we ordered the soup of the day, no one knew what it was, and when it did come to our table, it was cold. We sent it back, and the head waiter could be heard telling off the chef in no uncertain manner, which gave us some satisfaction in knowing that someone was concerned as to standards.
Overall, a very good hotel, which is endeavouring to raise its standards, and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel as a base for exploring the Lizard peninsular.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
813 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,163 reviews
8.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
895 reviews
16.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,695 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullion Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullion Cove Hotel

Address: Mullion Cove, Lizard Peninsula, Mullion TR12 7EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range: $212 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mullion Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mullion Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullion Cove Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing