We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Island View

Island View Holiday Apartments
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Island View Holiday Apartments
View from the apartments Pat's Den Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Island View Holiday Apartments
View from the apartments
Pat's Den Lounge
Pat's Den Bedroom 1
Pat's Den Bedroom 1
Pat's Den Kitchen
Dining Table in Pat's Den
Fisherman's Loft Lounge
Fisherman's Loft Bedroom 1
Fisherman's Loft Bedroom 2
Fisherman's Loft Balcony
Tregwyn Lounge
View from Tregwyn Lounge
View from Tregwyn Lounge
Tregwyn Patio
View from Tregwyn Patio
Tremellin Lounge
Tremellin Lounge
Tremellin Bedroom 1
Tremellin Bedroom 2
Island View - Side View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mullion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ianr12320...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed April 23, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Boy did we luck out by staying at Island View! The awesome view changed almost constantly -- from glorious sunshine with an inviting blue sea to forbidding clouds and ferocious surf. The spectacular cliff walks are accessible steps from the door. The apartment (Fishermen's Loft) was clean, bright, cozy and well-equipped. And the view from the front deck is mesmerizing! Mullion Cove is a perfect gem, with shops, pubs, and restaurants just a short drive away. This is charming, natural Cornwall at its very best!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2018
Thanks for the great review and description Ian. Glad that you got to experience the different elements of the Cornish weather! Having immediate access to the Cornish Coastal Footpath is certainly a bonus! We hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation-perfect views-”
Reviewed January 14, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

What a fantastic gem fisherman's loft really is. From opening the door we could tell we were in for a wonderful time. Exceptionally clean all through.The Lounge gives the best view of Beautiful Mullion Cove from the windows and the lovely balcony. A wonderful log burner with logs provided made a December visit so cosy. Central heating worked perfectly. The kitchen was stunning and very very clean & very well equipped. The welcome flowers, chocolates and mince pies & clotted cream was a really unexpected treat. The bathroom was outstanding,at least 5 * the shower was superb and the eco friendly loo worked perfectly. The double bedroom is spacious and the bed very comfortable with a good sized double wardrobe,again beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The single room was smaller but we used the tub chair from there in the Beautiful lounge making the single room more spacious.
The harbour on the doorstep has a hidden cave which leads to a hidden beach literally on your doorstep,just watch for the tides coming in. Local beach Poldhu, has a fantastic cafe with wonderful breakfast served and is open 363 days a year. The Lizard square has some lovely little shops, the Lizard point is spectacular. The hidden jewel, however, is Kynance Cove..its a must..go at low tide to see it at its best.. absolute perfection. Gweek seal sanctuary a few miles away is worth a visit,they rescued a baby seal while we were there.
The lady who takes care of Fisherman's Loft is Joanna, what an absolute delight, nothing to is much trouble. She was available without being intrusive, excellent service.
We have been visiting Cornwall especially the Lizard peninsula for 30yrs plus, we are amazed we haven't found this before. This gem of accommodation is something we are definitely returning to (already rebooked)...This place will not disappoint.
Thank you for one of the best holidays ever.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2018
Thanks for your great review, we are glad to hear you had such a great holiday, and look forward to welcoming you back to Island View again this year. We love our repeat customers - of which we have many, and are so grateful to have such a gem in our lovely housekeeper, Joanna!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eglos
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed January 7, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Just had another relaxing week in Pat's Den. The weather to start with was wet with gale force winds and heavy seas but being in a warm and cosy apartment with fantastic views it did not matter. Slept well on a comfortable bed and there is a great shower when you come back cold and wet. The sofas are very comfortable and it had everything provided for an enjoyable stay. Will be back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue M
1 review
“Absolutely lovely! Want to go back as soon as possible.”
Reviewed January 6, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

First visit to Cornwall and absolutely loved this apartment, it’s location in the Harbour and the local area. The apartment is very clean, really well equipped, warm and homely and the shower/bath always had hot water, most welcome after a day out in all weathers! We have spent much of the week wave watching following storms Dylan and Eleanor but managed a walk to Poldhu Cove, great hot chocolate and across the cliffs towards Lizard. The apartment is really well situated for visits to Kynance Cove, Cadgwith, Lizard Point, St Michaels Mount, Mousehole (saw dolphins and seals swimming in the sea), Mevagissey, Charlestown and the Eden Project. All great trips out and the scenery is stunning. Always felt like we were coming home when we got back and we were happy to light the log burner and cook a nice meal. The kitchen is equipped with a fridge, ice box, oven and hob which made cooking easy. Mount Bay Inn and the Old Inn on our first and last night offered great food and a good atmosphere. Liz and Mark kept us well informed about our booking and were happy to answer any queries we had. Will definitely come back here and cannot wait. Just loved Mullion Cove

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2018
Thank you Sue, we are glad to hear you had a great holiday, despite the winter storms. We are happy to hear that Island View was to your liking, and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve w
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“the place for the perfect "Chill out"”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just the perfect place for a relaxing break, Great view from the balcony and everything inside that was needed including a really,really good shower most welcome after long coastal walks.
Nice and clean and the bed was very comfy, we will be back !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Island View, we were glad to hear you slept really well and will be delighted to welcome you back.
ps we love the shower too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexjen26
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Loved it, very clean and comfortable, well equipped with everything you might need, liz and Joanna was very friendly and helpful, very nice sitting out on the balcony over looking the bay, will definitely be back to tremellin. Highly recommend x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Thanks for taking the time to review. It was good to meet you both, and we appreciate you leaving the apartment so clean and tidy upon your departure. We are currently offering 10% early booking discount on all 2018 holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mermaid20...
cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We booked Pat's Den for a week and left after the first night. The small bedroom had a loud droning noise coming from a pump, which made it impossible to sleep. It could also be heard to a lesser extent in the double bedroom. The mattress in the double room had no give in it and was quite hard, I woke with a sore back (as commented from some other visitors). My sister made up the bed settee but the mattress on that was very thin and you could feel the springs with your hand. The description quoted the small bedroom had a door leading to a patio. This small area had a large shed and the rubbish bins. The housekeeper was lovely and offered us mattress toppers but we had brought our own so they didn't work. The location is quaint and you are right by the sea. We have had to book and pay for another cottage which is lovely with quality fittings. We have emailed the owners 24 hours ago but so far they have not been gracious enough to reply.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
We are very sorry to hear that you chose to leave the ground floor Pat's Den apartment, one of 4 apartments at Island View, and apologise for our delay in getting back to you. It’s disappointing to hear that you were not happy with the situation regarding the comfort of our beds and the white noise that comes from the plant room which is located directly above the single bedroom.

The plant room houses the pump and alarm for our sewage treatment plant which unfortunately does create some noise and this is unavoidable given its location. There is no mains sewage in Mullion Harbour so it’s imperative for us to have the treatment plant, and it does have to be maintained and managed within the confines of our property.

As far as the beds are concerned, we apologise they were not to your taste. Obviously beds are a very personal thing, some people like a hard mattress, while some prefer softer. The beds are a little over five years old and each of the SilentNight and Visco Magic mattresses were given very good reviews prior to our purchasing them.

We certainly do not advertise anywhere that the 2nd bedroom leads onto a patio area. Having reviewed our website, we did mention that there is a patio door in bedroom 2. In order to avoid any possible confusion, we have now removed this description. However, we clearly state that there is a small patio area at the front of the property leading from the lounge/dining area for which patio furniture is provided and offers fantastic views of our stunning harbour location.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing