We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Find!”
Review of The Galleon

The Galleon
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Mullion
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We called atThe Galleon following the recommendation of Jenny at Kelynack Fish (in Mullion - also recommended). We asked what fresh fish was available and we were presented with a whole fillet of hake, caught that morning. Two portions were expertly fried in a light crispy coating and served with lovely fat chips. We ate outside in the sunshine but there is a nice small restaurant adjoining the take away which is very popular in the evening

This was the freshest fish I have ever tasted from and Fish and Chip shop - and was fantastic value and QUALITY compared to more well known establishments in Cornwall

The Galleon is a real find and run by people with a passion for what they do. We wish them every success and hope to return soon - although traveling from Nottingham is a bit far for a take away!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CostaBrava01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    15
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply the best Fish and Chips in the area”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good quality, excellent value for money and staff are amazing. congratulations to the new owners for for the investment which has definately paid off....

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sensible2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A good old chippy providing good selection of foods not only fish based”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Under new family run management who continue to run a good outlet as good as the previous owner Food quality and selection is excellent and always freshly cooked Very friendly family run business Small but well presented cafe and outside facilities

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Huge improvement”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Varied menu, friendly staff, light & airy seating inside & out. Decent portions (and I'm very greedy!) and worth any wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullion, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quirky little chippy”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have not been living here long but this little gem manages to surprise me every thime i go there, well worh the wait sometimes and good value for money, including the local catch! Many thanks to you all and we will see you time and again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dreckly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galleon also viewed

 

Been to The Galleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing