We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Leisure Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2010

A wonderful hotel in a wonderful setting ( on the cliffs, overlooking the sea).great place for a relaxing break. Staff are friendly and service is excellent.....the food too is 'The Best'.
Will certainly be going back again !

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 838 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2010

The Pourrian, from our initial meeting with them to discuss our potential wedding weekend through to the event itself was an absoulute pleasure.
The staff were understanding and sympathetic to everyones needs ( including those that were on the beach at 7am!) and everyone contributted to an outstanding "house" weekend that was enjoyed by us as the host and echoed by the letters we received subsequently from our guests.
Matthew, the general manager was empathetic, Sam the event manager understood our needs and Mel the chef, produced a delicilous wedding breakfast.
We do not intend to have another wediing, but if we were, we would go back to the Polurrian and do it again!

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discerning_Cus2mer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

My boyfriend treated me to an overnight stay at the Polurrian Hotel on 30 Dec 09. From the moment we arrived we were treated exceptionally. Percy the Porter took us to our room (which had an absolutely stunning sea view) and showed us different areas of the hotel on the way and info that was relevant to our stay. The room was simply furnished and was spotless. We had a complimentary cream tea in the lounge which was a really relaxing room and the decor was lovely. Once again, the views were fabulous. We had a swim and jacuzzi which was just what we needed before our evening meal which was all delicious. All the staff were so friendly and cheery. Don't hesitate in booking this gem of a hotel. It was just what we needed after a busy Christmas holiday. Will definitely return and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuzzyWuzzyJannerLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

My wife and I stayed for our best friend's daughters wedding. The whole party effectifely took the whole hotel for Friday and saturday nights. We all ate from the standard menu (in small groups) on the first night and were impressed.
The second evening, the meal was part of the reception. Hot food for 80 ish all served hot and efficiently, again delicious.
We had actually booked for the Sunday night as well to make a weekend of it. We remained with the Bride's parents and none of us could stop raving on about the Staff and how hard they had worked to make everything so perfect.
I do have a couple of minor niggles; it was that we were told on booking which room we were having (I liked the one allocated as it had a field view at end of hotel) but shortly after arriving, realised that we had been reallocated to a smaller room with a view of tarmac and a wall. Whilst i appreciated that the change had been necesary to give a family more space, there was no explanation or apology.
The other moan was that we booked on a set rate, but it was the same rate whether sea-view or tarmac.
In fairness to the staff, they did offer us a room change on the 3rd night but we didn't accept it as we didn't want to move all our things.
Nothing would detract though from going there again or recommending it to others, especioally if you want to see the West Coast of Cornwall with it's dramatic cliffs and coves.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

The Hotel was booked as a special deal for dinner, bed and breakfast. On arrival we were also upgraded to a deluxe seaview room free of charge

The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful providing an excellent welcoming service. They treat you as though they have known you for ages, without being overbearing.

The facilities at the hotel are good. The pool is clean and warm. The gym is small but well equipped. Towels are provided in the leisure club.

Food is varied and of a good standard. The wine list is comprehensive and good value.

The hotel has stunning views directly looking out to sea, with views of Penzance to the right. Sadly we had terrible weather, but this does not effect the stay as the view is ever changing.

All in all a fantastic stay and highly recommended for a relaxing stay to enjoy the local cornish countryside.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Well..reviews...what do they tell you? We came to book this hotel after our first choice was fully booked and so were recommended the Polurrian as an alternative. They had the dates and the price was good so we booked completely unseen. Then..we read the reviews..and paniced..in fact we called and cut our stay in half!
So...after a night in a stunning 4 star hotel in Falmouth we arrived at the Polurrian and were impressed by the location and...well the signs that work was in progress. At Reception though were we quickly and warmly greeted with everything in order and shown to our room...through clean but dated corridors then into a newly refurbished room. Ah...well the corridor looked a bit "hospital" but the room was very completely equipped, bright and sparkling clean with a stunning sea view.
Next..Dinner...and here there is just one word..STUNNING! What a fine restaurant and one of the very best that we have ever encountered. Perfect, warm, efficent service, a fine choice and not a mouthful in our stay was other than exceptional. We had booked for 4 nights, reduced it to 2 but were now upset to leave so..we booked again and have just returned..it is still just as good!

Summary... I think that clearly this Hotel had been allowed to deteriorate over the past decade but it is still a fine building and the location cannot be faulted. However the current owners are working very hard indeed..the rooms are now fully acceptable and our last one was simply beautiful. Yes some colour choices are a bit cold but you are on holiday to enjoy Cornwall not to be an Interior Designer..and I am one!

The Restaurant....you really will not find better...it is just so good and deserves formal recognition which they are seeking and must get! The decorations are fine..all new, sparkling clean, bright and appropriate.

The corridors...yes..dull cream and armoured glass don't impress but they are about to change them this Winter and the Consultant was there yesterday starting to plan a new look. These days things cost money and the owners are doing their very best but whilst dated as I type, everything is clean and tidy and what really is wrong with that?

The Lounge...yes the furniture is getting a litle well used but do not think "shabby", just not new and I have said that it is time to upgrade but then, when we were there, a family was spread all over it , barefoot and straight from the sea so what encouragement is that?

Summary....Bright, clean rooms, stunningly good food, warm, friendly, efficient staff, beautiful location, easy, safe parking and good value prices. By the time you get there the corridors and Lounge should be transformed!...What more do you want...Now BOOK and concentrate on what you can see in beautiful Cornwall...Polurrian Hotel..."You'll be back!!"

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoratioQBirdbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Just returned after 8 nights stay after our first visit in 2007 and can honestly say we were disappointed and let down by the poor standard of "refurbishment" that was promised on our last stay. Rooms very bland, the public areas are tatty, with the corridors up to the top floors scruffy and dirty with grubby stains and God knows what else. A lick of paint is all that would be needed to much improve these areas, and as for the restaurant and lounge bar, the swags and tails have been replaced with cold white blinds which are totally not in keeping with the age of the building and the sofas are grubby looking with non-co-ordinating cushions complete with stains. You can hear a pin drop in here after the evening meal, so everyone whispers amongst themselves to keep a sense of privacy. SOLUTION - Subtle music playing in the background would make this room so much more appealing to spend time in. The bar was literally dead - it should be bustling with people wanting to spend their money but alas no. Harsh maybe? Afraid not, considering the price we paid (just under £2000.00) we expected a much higher standard of accommodation. On a positive note, the location cannot be faulted and the food is fabulous, along with very friendly staff. Will we return? Sadly not.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKandBRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
691 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,250 reviews
15.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
16 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polurrian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polurrian Bay Hotel

Address: Polurrian Road, Mullion TR12 7EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range: $132 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Polurrian Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliffs amongst 12 acres of gardens, this quintessential luxury family seaside hotel offers stunning views across Mounts Bay and the Atlantic Ocean beyond. All of the public rooms have a sunny, welcoming feel, whilst bedrooms feature fluffy towels, super comfy beds and spectacular views. You will find an array of child friendly facilities including a complimentary Ofsted registered crèche for younger children and the Blue Room for the over eights. The restaurant features unpretentious dishes prepared with the finest seasonal and locally-sourced ingredients. There is a comprehensive range of facilities and activities on offer from the sanctuary of the Purity SPA to the newly resurfaced tennis court and the refurbished indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Polurrian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polurrian Hotel Mullion
Polurrian Bay Hotel Mullion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing