We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view and fabulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding and I can not fault a thing.
The staff were friendly and extremely accommodating to all our needs.
The food was lovely for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We were even lucky enough to meet the chef / kitchen staff (who were just as lovely as the front of house staff).
The facilities at the hotel were great from entertaining the kids to the use of the pool/spa.
I was very lucky to have a room overlooking Polurrian Cove so had the exquisite view 24/7.
It was a nice touch that they are dog friendly.
I would definitely love to stay at this hotel again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gollop10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us over your friends very special wedding. It was our pleasure to host this wonderful occasion and I do hope your visit will generate many happy memories for years to come. It would be lovely to welcome you back again at some time in the future. Do bring your photos with you , we would love to see them. With thanks and best wishes, Yvonne, Clare, Paul (the Chef) and all the Team at Polurrian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 837 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

Can't fault anything! Our lovely room had amazing sea views out of both windows. Every member of staff was welcoming and nothing too much trouble. Some of the few negative comments are unbelievable! Snoring in another bedroom and slow service!! If you want express service it won't be freshly prepared for you. It's all part of the experience to know that nothing is rushed. I'm sure if you were in a hurry they would manage it. The food was excellent, really top quality, loved the different fish dishes. We liked the child free evening meal. The few children seemed well catered for and our dog was happy too! Helen in the spa gives wonderful massages. Great walks...Really lovely break..thank you all.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Freyasgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for your very kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit especially the food. We are so lucky to have an abundance of great local ingredients to prepare and it's very rewarding for us when they are appreciated. Thank you also for giving Helen a mention, it will certainly make her smile. We look forward to welcoming you and your four legged friend back at some time in the future. Yvonne, Helen and the team at Polurrian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and I have stayed on two previous occasions at this beautifully located Hotel above the cliffs and overlooking Mounts Bay.

Our third visit last week-end proved that this Hotel is no seven day wonder , but a place where you can get excellent service, enjoy superbly fitted out rooms and really completely relax on a consistent basis.

The Hotels own description is 100% true and we will definitely be returning sometime later this year for our "shot" of Polurrian hospitality and tranquility.

Thank you to all concerned from my wife and I , plus of course our Border Collie, Casper!

Room Tip: Book the spa early as it is very popular!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankieBStMawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are all delighted to know that you enjoyed your most recent visit to Polurrian and look forward to welcoming you and Casper back later in the year. Our canine friends need their holidays too ! Best wishes and thanks from Yvonne & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We booked a very good priced Travelzoo deal during March 2014. The room was excellent with stunning sea views. Breakfast and dinner were of an exceptional standard. Spa facilities were most welcome after walking the southwest coastal path that runs directly below the hotel grounds. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Looking forward to our next visit. Highly recommend this stunning hotel!!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room with a sea view which certainly helped to make our stay memorable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharonindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for your very positive post visit review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting the Lizard. With best wishes from Yvonne and the Team at Polurrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a four night break back in 2002 and we loved it . The other residents were mainly couples and the hotel was relaxed and welcoming . We enjoyed using the leisure facilities and the food was served by very experienced silver service waiters and waitresses and was exceptional. I still remember it as one of the best hotels we had stayed in for amazing food at the time.
The position of this hotel is second to none in the UK . It is basically on the coastal path and the views from the seaward side are amazing. The people in the village are friendly and welcoming and there are several bars within walking distance for after dinner drinks. It is a really lovely place to walk and explore.

We returned for a two day break on 15th February and were very impressed by the makeover that has taken place since our last visit. There is a large glass fronted central extension where guests can chill out or have lunch or afternoon tea. The rest of the hotel has a contemporary, cosy beach theme and the bedrooms are comfortable and minimalist. The staff were polite and helpful . We did have a few problems however…. The first night after dinner we went to bed and were asleep by midnight, We were woken about quarter to two by VERY loud snoring coming from the room above ours, this continued and at four o'clock I took myself off to the reception to ask for help regarding this annoying problem. There was nobody anywhere and I sat for fifteen minutes hoping someone would return but no luck- I had pressed the call button. I went back to the room and the snoring continued loudly. I had seen a door ajar opposite our room so I knocked and popped my head around, the room was empty and obviously being refurbished but the bed was made up and we were desperate for some sleep so we went in there to sleep( we could still hear the snoring but it was bearable.) At about six o'clock the poor maintenance guy walked in so we were woken up again . He kindly let us stay in there until eight but we had a disappointing first night. As the other resident was staying we moved room for the next night .
Both rooms had amazing views. The second room was smaller and the bed was not as comfortable but at least no snoring. The bathrooms were a bit disappointing. The shower heads were small and fiddly to aim over the head and the second toilet had a 'slipping' toilet seat.
The leisure facilities were hopeless. The jacuzzi was full of warm water but was not working and had no controls connected.(dangerous) I think the fitness/pool complex should be adults only from five to seven p.m. The swimming pool was over full of parents and small children both of the evenings when we attempted to use it. On the first night there were three big boys diving and jumping into the deep end which was still fairly shallow The gym is tiny and uninspiring but functional if you just want half an hour on the running machine. There were no weights available. There was no assistant in the leisure complex on either of our visits.
The food in the restaurant at dinner was very average. Not many vegetables and the overwhelming taste of the main course was that of salt. The presentation was acceptable and its a shame the food didn't taste as good as it looked. On the Saturday my stuffed guinea fowl was tasteless and a bit slimy ,not much actual meat. On the sunday the 'roast 'potatoes tasted deep fried and my supreme of chicken was bloody next to the bone.We had poached pears for pudding both days so not much to go wrong there. It was bistro style dining and I like to be spoilt when I stay in a hotel. The waiter or waitress serving us changed several times at breakfast and dinner so we felt the service was disorganised and confusing. All the hotel staff were friendly and smiley however but I felt the organisation in the restaurant could improve.
I feel the hotel is probably more suited to the young family market now which is sad as we love the position and everything else about it.

Room Tip: 107 was good if they fix the loo, the views are superb. and 808 was amazing as long as there are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 321DebbieDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for posting a review following your fist visit since 2002. The hotel has as you pointed out changed considerably with a key but not exclusive focus on the family market. It was good to know that you liked many aspects of the changes however I was disappointed to learn of the few aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is much appreciated and helps focus attention on items that we can address. As a light sleeper myself I must commend you on your ingenuity and am pleased that you had a better nights sleep on the second night. Should you be kind enough to visit us again in the future pleased to let me know in advance so that I might meet you personally. With my sincere thanks and good wishes, Yvonne Colgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We tried this hotel with a special offer two nights Dinner Bed and Breakfast with the addition of a special rate for the spa treatment. We found it a good hotel and all the staff were very good and helpful,only one comment the waiters did not quite understand the orders sometimes and the food arrived which we had not ordered on more than one occasion! Saying that when it did arrive it was very very good and we could not fault it.
Although a family hotel,they seemed to be able to cope with small children and we were not aware of them at any time,as they seemed have different meal times and various activities to help parents also enjoy themselves.
The views from the hotel are fantastic and we were lucky enough to be up graded to a front view room which was very comfortable,all in all a delight to stay in.

Room Tip: Sea facing is a must and in our case ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and found that the balance between our family and non-family focus worked for you. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are taking a break in the Duchy. With thanks and good wishes, Yvonne & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We booked a very reasonably priced Travelzoo 2 day break at the begining of March and were certainly not disappointed. Although we arrived in torrential rain and high winds, after drying off, we were soon able to enjoy the spectacular views of the sea from the enormous picture window in the Vista lounge. The coastline is beautifully rugged and a photographer's paradise.

The hotel has recently been refurbished and the decor is of high quality and tasteful. Our room and the public areas were spotless and the staff universally friendly. An error on my restaurant bill (partly my own fault, as I signed the bill!) was rectified without question at checkout. Breakfast was very good, with an "all you can eat" buffet, as well as cooked options. Evening meals were also of a good standard, although some dishes a touch on the salty side for our taste - it can always be added on the plate! House wines were decent and reasonably priced.

All in all, a brilliant break and the hotel can be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RacingPulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for posting a review following your short stay at Polurrian. It is good to know that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future. With thanks and good wishes, Yvonne and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
691 reviews
4.8 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
12.5 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
15.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
16 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polurrian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polurrian Bay Hotel

Address: Polurrian Road, Mullion TR12 7EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range: $131 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Polurrian Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliffs amongst 12 acres of gardens, this quintessential luxury family seaside hotel offers stunning views across Mounts Bay and the Atlantic Ocean beyond. All of the public rooms have a sunny, welcoming feel, whilst bedrooms feature fluffy towels, super comfy beds and spectacular views. You will find an array of child friendly facilities including a complimentary Ofsted registered crèche for younger children and the Blue Room for the over eights. The restaurant features unpretentious dishes prepared with the finest seasonal and locally-sourced ingredients. There is a comprehensive range of facilities and activities on offer from the sanctuary of the Purity SPA to the newly resurfaced tennis court and the refurbished indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Polurrian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polurrian Hotel Mullion
Polurrian Bay Hotel Mullion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing