We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Five Girlfriends and I have just returned from a two night winter 'special'. It certainly was special. The rooms were well appointed and frankly, lovely. Very comfortable beds, super bathrooms and lovely furnishings. The beautiful small seating areas dotted around the hotel were little treasure chests full of interesting art, books, ceramics and made you feel you were almost alone in the hotel. The views from the Vista lounge were superb and we were lucky to enjoy beautiful weather. Where oh where to start with the food. Amazing breakfasts with wonderful staff with the patience of Jobe - between six of us we ate more food than the kitchen could prepare (it was the sea air!) a constant supply of tea and toast trooped out of the kitchen. Dinner was more than we could have hoped for and the menu was brilliant with surprising specials that tickled our palates (never change the beef - heavenly). The overindulgence led us to the gym and swimming pool - okay we only looked at the gym but swam every morning before breakfast and in the afternoon too. The Jacuzzi was a wonderful rest cure after eating too!!!! All of us decided that we would like to return with husbands etc. and will definitely (if the staff can stand the strain) return for another winter 'special' next year. Thank you to all the staff for their care, courtesy and patience that helped make this a very 'special' girls on tour break.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed wonderful, sea view or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetHappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Front Office Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

What a lovely reveiw! - thank you so much - please spread the word and come back and see us anytime.
Clare & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 838 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

we took advantage of their mid week winter 3 day special offer - great value.
We had amazing views from our room, the staff were relaxed and friendly, and the food was top class. I would definitely go again and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. We used the pool and had a massage which I would also recommend. We were able to take the dog and they have a dog friendly snug. Great walks along the cliffs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiffkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It's good to know that you and your four legged friend enjoyed your short break with us. We are all making the most of the bright spring days, it's feeling positively warm in the sunshine. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Yvonne & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay. We love and cannot fault the location, it's our go to area to get away for R & R, and the sea view rooms, following their recent refurb are very good.
The food is very good and with enough choice to suit our tastes, the portions are only just large enough to not be called small, but only just. The coffee at breakfast is very weak, we like our coffee and we like it strong, even when we asked for strong coffee we were still served a weak brew, its a small thing but for coffee drinkers the morning coffee at breakfast is very important.
Although breakfast it till 10.00hrs, if you would like to have a croissant you need to be there before 09.00hrs, I asked 2 members of staff about the lack of croissants and received bland mumblings that there were croissants available earlier!! We arrived for breakfast at 09.10hrs.
The service is still hit and miss in the restaurant, long waits between courses (35 mins on our first night) having to ask for water or bread or toast twice. It does let the hotel down.
It was also disappointing to be told the pool was unavailable to guests during certain times each day as the local swimming clubs use it, this should be clearly explained when you book.
The door slamming is a problem as a previous reviewer states and I would hazard a guess that it is probably the children who are running along the corridors and slamming the doors.
Summary, location is clearly superb, service is still hit and miss.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homer069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for posting a review following this your third visit to the hotel. I am glad to hear that you still enjoy the location and thank you for your observations for improvements. It is always useful to receive feedback and share it with the respective teams. Interestingly we recently had a meeting with our coffee supplier and installed a coffee grinder which dispenses consistent measures to our cafetiere's. Next time you visit please just ask for double measures to ensure it is up to the strength you prefer. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future. Yvonne & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel. Both times we noticed just how much energy is wasted, and how little is done to encourage guests to recycle. Lights were left on all day, even in sunny areas, and the temperature in the large communal areas was far too hot. A standard response from the hotel might be, "We can't please everyone all the time." But that would be ill-advised - there is an ambient background temperature which is known to suit humans, and this hotel was way off mark. This lack of responsibility towards the environment puts us off going again, I must admit. I did leave written suggestions for the hotel staff (they encourage you to do so) as to how they might become more environmentally friendly, but I had no acknowledgment of this, let alone feedback for my suggestions. I think they just ask for suggestions so people like me feel they've said what needs to be said in private, and won't share it on sites like these! That would have been the case had they replied to me. They even sent a standard email after our stay asking for more feedback! I replied, but still nothing. Insulting really. What's important is that the environment matters - this hotel hasn't grasped that idea yet.
Value was good for our stay as we had a Groupon deal.
Breakfast great - plentiful and tasty. Evening meal disappointing - we didn't feel we'd eaten a hearty, satisfying meal and therefore the meal didn't match the price, we thought.
All staff - except one - were friendly, efficient and had a professional interest in us as guests.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsM633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for posting a review after your visit to us in January. It is good to know that you enjoyed your visit overall. I was however sorry to learn that you had not received a response to your email. My personal email address would have been visible on our "post visit" email to you - perhaps you would be kind enough to forward your original email to me and I would be only too pleased to reply. Thank you again for visiting and for your review. Yvonne Colgan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were very pleased with our four night stay at The Polurrian Bay Hotel, Mullion in February 2014.

The food was excellent. The restaurant for dinner (at least in the winter) offers a fixed choice menu of around six starters, mains and desserts. This remains the same every night but they also offer a different chef's special starter, main course and dessert each night.

The staff in the restaurant and hotel were well trained and very attentive. One waiter had rather a lot to say for himself, however after the first eveing he went off on three days leave anyway, which we were pleased about! All the other staff were brilliant. There is no bar now as such. You have to rely on waiter service in the lounge rooms and the Vista Lounge. This was no problem as the service was quick and effficient. Breakfast was excellent on three days but only "good" on one day when there were no pastries or fruit salad put out - restricting our choice. I did not raise this with management as it was a minor issue.

The room comfort was good and spacious. There was no real drawer space which was odd, but there was plenty of hanging space in open wardrobes in the room. It would have been nice to have some drawers to put undies, hankies and folded clothes in, but we managed without. The extra large double bed was extremely comfortable, and the walk in shower very powerful and efficient. The wifi worked fine in the room and lounge area until the last day / night. I raised this at reception who told me there was a fault which they put down to the wet and windy weather.

There is no way a hotel in that location could remain open throughout the year if it wasn't of a certain standard. The Polurrian Hotel achieves this because everything about it is quality. I would recommend it to any of my friends who were visiting Cornwall and wanted to base themselves on the Lizard.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirewalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Front Office Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this comprehensive reveiw and to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take all feedback very seriously and appreciate that quite often it is the small things that can make a very big difference - so thank you. We hope to be able to welcome you back at Polurrian soon.
Clare & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed for one night in January at this lovely cliff side hotel with wonderful views down the South Cornish Coast. We had a fantastic bedroom facing the sea, which was very comfortable.
The food was delicious for both dinner and breakfast and the service was excellent. Looking forward to returning. Mr Dart.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms really have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Front Office Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to do this lovely reveiw and so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we can welcome you back soon
Clare & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I enjoyed so much about the Polurrian Bay Hotel. Its beautiful location combined with really stunning and relaxing decor make for an exceptionally peaceful stay. The food was gorgeous and the staff were among the friendliest I have ever encountered, I cannot wait to get the chance to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tremodrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased your liked the hotel and found it a relaxing place to be. The team will be so happy with your feedback about them. They put so much of themselves into looking after our guests and your review will mean a lot to them as it does to me. Thank you again for posting a review, it is really appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back. Yvonne & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
691 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,250 reviews
15.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
16 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polurrian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polurrian Bay Hotel

Address: Polurrian Road, Mullion TR12 7EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range: $132 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Polurrian Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliffs amongst 12 acres of gardens, this quintessential luxury family seaside hotel offers stunning views across Mounts Bay and the Atlantic Ocean beyond. All of the public rooms have a sunny, welcoming feel, whilst bedrooms feature fluffy towels, super comfy beds and spectacular views. You will find an array of child friendly facilities including a complimentary Ofsted registered crèche for younger children and the Blue Room for the over eights. The restaurant features unpretentious dishes prepared with the finest seasonal and locally-sourced ingredients. There is a comprehensive range of facilities and activities on offer from the sanctuary of the Purity SPA to the newly resurfaced tennis court and the refurbished indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Polurrian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polurrian Hotel Mullion
Polurrian Bay Hotel Mullion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing