We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine staff customer care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

From the booking procedure to the last few words of goodbye at reception, the customer care in this hotel is absolutely spot on! The management have succeeded in providing the right amount of care and attention for guests and combined with its beautiful location and excellent housekeeping , it makes for a very pleasing stay. I agree with a review that pointed out the lack of a roaring fire anywhere in the many public areas. That would have been lovely ! We would recommend the hotel to walkers, to families and to couples. We would point out that the leisure complex is small and not of a high standard and that the programming balance between members and guests may need some revision. Swimming lessons at a time when guests are looking for pre dinner relaxation ! But on the whole, its a fabulous place and the manager Yvonne should be commended for running a happy team.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank NorthDevonMaryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, it was great to meet you during your visit. Thanks also for your comments which are good pointers for the team. On the fire front, we do only have one operational fire and have to be careful when to light it because of our very exposed cliff top location. We love to have the fire on too and look forward to using it as much as we can over the winter. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future. Best wishes from us all, Yvonne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 819 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

really lovely hotel in wonderful spot with amazing sea views across to Mousehole. Food is delicious and cannot be faulted! Relaxed formality - just up my street. But best of all is the massage by Natalie - the best one I have ever had .. very deep and relaxing!! a must if you visit Polurrian.

Room Tip: have a sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for taking time out to post a review after your visit to us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and gave Natalie our spa therapist a mention. I am sure you will put a smile on her face when she reads your review. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Polurrian next time you visit Cornwall. Yvonne & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

about this journey in this lovely hotel, i will keep nice memory for long time,despite the storm we had lovely time, me and my boyfriend enjoyed the two nights breaks very much .the location and the view are stunning, the room tidy and clean and stylish. so friendly and familiar service and not for last the food. one of the most delicious i ever had in England.. ..

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariapiadellicarri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your very kind review. I am delighted that you and your partner enjoyed your visit, the storms were quite spectacular. We will also remember them for a long time to come. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future. Thank you again, Yvonne & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I can't rate this hotel highly enough!!

We arrived back yesterday and we are already missing sitting in the lounge area relaxing and watching the unbeatable coastal views!
The management of the hotel have got it spot on, with the mix of informality and excellent service. Nothing was too much for the staff, they were all SO friendly and solved any problems promptly with a smile!!
We felt so relaxed whilst staying in the hotel, despite the awful weather. There is so much to do from playing board games in lovely settings, a relaxing spa, fine dining... the list could go on and on!
The rooms themselves are modern and clean and a good size. I would recommend getting a sea view room, the view is to die for!

The only tiny grumble I have is the shower is quite weak (we had a standard and deluxe room during our stay and both showers were the same) but because everything else was so great during our stay it didn't bother us much.
We were a couple staying in the hotel and felt very relaxed the whole time because of the 'luxury' feel. However the hotel is designed as a family friendly hotel, and if you don't like children you may not be happy with the family themed elements and amount of children. We didn't mind because we liked the rare mix of being in a luxury setting and feeling comfortable enough to be informal and sit back and cosy up with one of the blankets in the lounge area.

Overall the Hotel and staff are excellent and we enjoyed our stay so much we paid to stay for another two nights. Having both traveled to 4/5 star hotels all over the world, we would feel confident to recommend this hotel to all our family and friends. We will be returning!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaygirl235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for posting a very kind review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and it is always nice to see guests extending their stay specially when the weather was so dramatic. As I write the waves remain spectacular possibly the highest for over 30 years and the sun is shining - all making for a stunning morning. Thank you again for your review and I do hope we see you next time you visit Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our 5th stay in as many years at the Polurrian Bay and another fabulous time despite the stormy weather. The location and the facilities are fantastic and the staff cannot do enough for you . This year we brought our new dog too and there was a special little bag just for her waiting in our room.
Yvonne the manager is brilliant and runs a very tight ship. We always look forward to our annual stay and it never disappoints. Tiny niggles would still be the lack of a roaring fire anywhere in the hotel which after braving the wild Cornish elements would make the stay PERFECT- please , please look at this f you possibly can. Clare, Sarah and Kerry on reception are wonderful and Lisa and Gemma in the restaurant were also friendly, attentive and efficient. in short - fabulous! Thank you all as always - we had a fantastic time. see you next time!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABDBtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your really lovely review and especially for mentioning so many of the team by name. It was a great pleasure to welcome you back and great to know that you are still enjoying your visits to Polurrian. On the open fire front, we now only have one operational fire the log burner in the Vista. Due to our exposed location we are unfortunately unable to use this in times of extreme weather as the smoke generated would return down the flu to meet us. I do hope the weather is a tad calmed next time you visit and that you can add the odd log to the stove whilst relaxing in the Vista ! Thank you again for your review and best wishes from us all. Yvonne & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is located in a fantastic location, having stayed when the weather was really bad in Cornwall it was really nice to sit in the vista lounge and look out to sea. The rooms are excellent and the service is really friendly and efficient. We ate in the hotel on both nights as it was a bit wet and windy to go out! Excellent food in the restaurant and the vista lounge. If your going to Cornwall this is a hotel to visit. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking time out to post a review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and shared all the excitement of some rather extreme weather with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are heading to our corner of the Duchy. Happy 2014 from Yvonne and The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is our second year at The Polurrain Bay (between Christmas and New Years) and we would recommend it to any family. We have two very active sons aged 8 and 9 and despite the stormy weather we all had a fantastic time. There is plenty to do in and around the hotel. The staff are all delightful and can't do enough to ensure your stay is excellent. A very special mention to Claire, Josh and Pedro who really did go the extra mile to ensure we had a wonderful experience. The Spa team are fantastic too.

The attention to detail was evident throughout our stay. A Polurrain Bay newsletter is popped under your door every morning and it such a lovely way to start your day. Local info, ideas of where to go, activities for the children, a great touch. There is a great kids club called the Den and the team are brilliant with all ages groups. Lots to do as as a family too, a fun quiz, treasure hunt, plus a cool room for the older children where they can play pool amongst many other activities. Our boys also loved the movie / cinema room too.

We have stayed in numerous hotels that claim to be family focused and l have to say this is our favourite amongst them all. The Luxury Family Hotel group have got it so right. We've stayed in 6 of their stunning hotels and they have all been fantastic but the Polurrain team are a special bunch and is our favourite hotel. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay and had a thoroughly relaxing break.

Thank you team Polurrain, everything was perfect. Happy New Year to you all.

Room Tip: Grown ups if you can go for the Kingsize beds and interconnecting rooms with a sea view. Worth every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Mary, thank you for your very lovely review. It was our pleasure to look after you and your family over the Christmas period. The team do work very hard to make things as special as they can but we have a lot to thank our customers for too. You add a lot to what makes Polurrian sparkle for us and the other guests. Thank you returning and we look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future. Yvonne, Clare, Josh, Pedro & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
623 reviews
7.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
699 reviews
16.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
11.6 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
12.5 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polurrian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polurrian Bay Hotel

Address: Polurrian Road, Mullion TR12 7EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range: $127 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Polurrian Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliffs amongst 12 acres of gardens, this quintessential luxury family seaside hotel offers stunning views across Mounts Bay and the Atlantic Ocean beyond. All of the public rooms have a sunny, welcoming feel, whilst bedrooms feature fluffy towels, super comfy beds and spectacular views. You will find an array of child friendly facilities including a complimentary Ofsted registered crèche for younger children and the Blue Room for the over eights. The restaurant features unpretentious dishes prepared with the finest seasonal and locally-sourced ingredients. There is a comprehensive range of facilities and activities on offer from the sanctuary of the Purity SPA to the newly resurfaced tennis court and the refurbished indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Polurrian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polurrian Hotel Mullion
Polurrian Bay Hotel Mullion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing