We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, super hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Polurrian Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, super hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Another short break booked by my wife - 4 nights in lovely Cornwall. Luckily good weather while we were there. Had booked a rear facing room and although the room looked fine decided to upgrade to a sea view room - really worth that little extra.
Good sized room with big bed, superb view and everything else needed. The hotel was really very good, pleasant and helpful staff, airy restaurant and a great selection of food (we were half board so ate at the hotel each night and thoroughly enjoyed it). After the first nights sleep have to say the bed was really comfortable (will have to investigate mattress toppers for home!).
My wife used the spa and had a treatment which she felt was good; didn't take advantage of the pool.
Hotel conveniently placed for getting around The Lizard and easy to get to Falmouth and Penzance. Plenty of walks from the hotel and Polurrian Bay itself was worth the walk down the steep track.
The only small niggle was the complimentary bottled water in the room; only there for the first day and not replaced. Every hotel we have stayed always has water in the room every day - a little surprised at this.
Other wise a great hotel in a superb spot.

Room Tip: Always worth going for a sea view - so good to lie in bed and watch the sun, or indeed the moon, shi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justalocal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. I am glad you found the hotel to be a good base for walking interestingly quite a few of our guests first discover us having called in for a coffee whilst passing on the South West Coastal Path. If you are keen to join the world of mattress toppers ours are know as "Nimbus Emporium - Luxurious Mattress Enhanser's" if you refer to the Nimbus Bed Linen website you should en route to commencing your research. Thanks again for your review and I do hope we will see you back on the Lizard again soon. Yvonne & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    203
    73
    26
    6
See reviews for
245
365
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed for 3 days and was really impressed by the location, the hotel, the staff and the food. The bed was amazingly comfortable the room spotlessly clean. It couldn't have been better. Well maybe the weather could have been a bit better, but it is October. Will be recommending this Hotel to everyone we know.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyne737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your few days with us. Coming from another lovely coastal location we are delighted that you enjoyed the mostly spectacular Lizard. Thank you again for staying with us and I do hope we will see you again at some stage. Yvonne & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel on the Cornish coastal footpath for 3 nights and loved it. It's right on the Cornish coastal footpath which was ideal for us as we had some 'gaps' to fill in on The Lizard. We had a seaview room and it was great to be able to enjoy the views even when the rain and mist came in. The 'traditional English' breakfasts were great and the portions just right. Continental breakfast was available on a self serve basis. We had two dinners in the hotel and the menu was the same on each except for the nightly 'specials.' We have no complaints about the food but there was a bit of a 'hiccup' over the timing of our dinners. Even though we'd booked the times before we left home we were asked to alter them each day which was a bit irritating. The hotel has some lovely spacious seating areas and on one wet morning we sat in the conservatory, enjoying the views and relaxing atmosphere. Wifi was free with no password and worked well. This is a family hotel and young children and a dog were there when we were. It also has a swimming pool and spa. The staff were helpful and do a good job looking after such a wide range of guests. Thanks too for the very quick response to our email about how the chef cooked such wonderful red cabbage!

Room Tip: Book a seaview if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review it is great to know that you enjoyed you short break with us. We all loved your question regarding the red cabbage and I think there will be a few of us also trying to emulate Mark's (our Sous Chef's ) recipe ! Happy cooking and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yvonne, Mark and The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Have just spent an overnight break at this hotel. What a wonderful hotel and the views and position were perfect. Our small westie dog was also made very welcome, even given her own welcome bag, which included the use of a dog bowl and several towels, a tin of cesar dog food and a small dog tag. How great is that!!.
The hotel emailed and phoned before we arrived to make sure that had all our requirements correct, we said we would be arriving at midday to which they stated the room might not be ready until 2pm but we were more than welcome to enjoy all the facilities of the hotel as soon as we arrived. We had a great lunch snack and a walk through the gardens down to the small beach which we all enjoyed. This was not included in our overnight deal but was very good and excellent value. The hotel also offers an indoor swimming pool etc for guests full use, but on this trip we did not use as there just was not time. Evening dinner was in the new dinning room with wonderful views out to sea. You really felt you were on a full holiday. The 3 course dinner was again very high standard and the choice on the menu meant there was something for everyone. We had of course been asked on arrival if we had any special dietary needs. Our room was extremely comfortable and a very good nights sleep was had by all of us. This was followed by a great choice of breakfast. Big thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetandChris24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Janet & Chris - thank you so much for your very kind review. I am pleased that you and your " westie" enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that you might venture back this way next time you want to recharge your batteries.

Thank you again, Yvonne & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teffont, wiltshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently for a few nights in a superior room on an autumn break. I had had a tough year and this was my opportunity to unwind and enjoy a few quality nights with my children aged 11 and 2.
The hotel is visually impressive on arrival and the room complete wuth panoramic view exceptional. We had booked for a gastronomic meal, an early sitting due to my tiny daughter, who fussed a little towards the end. One of my fellow diners asked if I would take control if my child and I left the dining room for the comfort of my hotel room and desert to follow. I felt so upset, i had deliberately chosen the hotel for its very child friendly policy and felt disappointed that another guest would treat me that way. The hotel were fantastic. They too were shocked at my treatment and apologised, stating that they were exceptionally child friendly. Cue the best duty manager (we actually hugged when I left!) who ensured that the rest of my stay was exceptional. A complimentary three course meal, extra childcare in the creche whilst she arranged for me to have a facial. The staff were amazing, even when the two year old had a vomit the following night ( why oh why!) they delivered my meal to my room and made every effort to ensure that we felt welcomed. I was sad to leave, this was a home from home and I will be sure to visit again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Front Office Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hi Claire - so lovely to hear from you and thank you for this wonderful review - hope all is going well for you and the 11+ results are as you hope. Please come and see us again soon.
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at the hotel. It is a wonderful location and the staff were absolutely amazing. Loved the breakfast, exceptionally good and I am very fussy!!! I agree with the reviews on the dinner menu, it was limited and we were there 3 nights and it was the same menu every night except for one special for each course. Despite the limitations re choice, the food cooked was excellent. I agree with other reviews that the wine and drinks were expensive. The rooms were lovely and very comfortable beds. It was unfortunate that the wifi was not working in the rooms as advertised, but you can not fault the staff and management for trying their best to please you. They are exceptionally good in trying to make your stay a good experience. Thank you for that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank declas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your short break with us. We are sorry that you had some issues with our WiFi during your stay but are confident we have now got to the route of the problem which will be remedied shortly. I do hope we might we might see you again next time you are visiting West Cornwall.

Yvonne & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel: very grand but quirkily decorated with interesting artworks and light fittings. There's loads of comfortable chairs and sofas throughout and lots of places to disappear and curl up with a book from the library. It's worth paying extra for a sea view room and there's a patio outside to watch the sun set with a gin and tonic. Lovely comfy bed with soft white bed linen and Elemis products in the bathroom. Spotlessly clean throughout. Swimming pool and jacuzzi very good. Lovely grounds and short walk to Polurrian cove. The staff are friendly and efficient and will go the extra mile. The food was great - lots of variety and well cooked and presented. Wot - no negatives? Ok, the wine was very expensive! But I'd return tomorrow!

Room Tip: 804 was a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lasajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay,the hotel décor and surroundings. I note your comment concerning wine pricing hence you might be interested to know that we recently added several very interesting new bins to our wine list with bottle prices starting at £17.95. Thank you again for your review and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back some time soon.

Yvonne & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
7.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
16.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
16.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polurrian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polurrian Bay Hotel

Property: Polurrian Bay Hotel
Address: Polurrian Road, Mullion TR12 7EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Polurrian Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliffs amongst 12 acres of gardens, this quintessential luxury family seaside hotel offers stunning views across Mounts Bay and the Atlantic Ocean beyond. All of the public rooms have a sunny, welcoming feel, whilst bedrooms feature fluffy towels, super comfy beds and spectacular views. You will find an array of child friendly facilities including a complimentary Ofsted registered crèche for younger children and the Blue Room for the over eights. The restaurant features unpretentious dishes prepared with the finest seasonal and locally-sourced ingredients. There is a comprehensive range of facilities and activities on offer from the sanctuary of the Purity SPA to the newly resurfaced tennis court and the refurbished indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Polurrian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polurrian Hotel Mullion
Polurrian Bay Hotel Mullion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing