We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing...”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Polurrian Bay Hotel made for an amazing week away!
We stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of September and it was brilliant. The second we walked in we were greeted by friendly staff at reception who showed us around the hotel before showing us to our room. The room was excellent, very clean and comfortable. Plenty of tea, coffee and toiletries.
The food was awesome, whether from the formal menu in the restaurant or the more relaxed Vista Lounge, the food was to an incredible standard. Plenty of drink on offer too, with beers and ales from St Austell brewery (certainly no complaints here!) and wine and cocktails on offer as well.
The staff were outstanding too, answering our (many) questions about the local area! They were always willing to help and were very friendly.
Overall, the hotel is brilliant and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egattocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. The team will be delighted to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. I do hope that you will come back next time you feel like re-charging your batteries by the coast !

Yvonne & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    210
    76
    26
    6
See reviews for
253
383
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucesterrshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel manages an unusual combination: it gently buzzes with the energy of staff, attentively and busily looking after guests whilst at the same time providing the most relaxing atmosphere both indoors and out, through the gardens and down to the beach. The emphasis is on informal, but comprehensive and thoughtful attention to guests' comfort and well being and the location is fabulous - whatever the British weather. The food has both bistro and more formal dining options with local and seasonal elements: all delicious and well presented. Other details: you can take your dog. This is a child friendly hotel, but childless guests are equally catered for.

Room Tip: Don't be disappointed if you don't get a sea view - the sea is never far away in this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manxamelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to post a review following your recent stay with us. It is always so uplifting to receive such lovely feedback and reassuring to know that you had a good stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you escape to The Lizard.

Yvonne & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic views from this hotel which has been really well done, big comfy sofas, lovely art, tons to do for the kids and amazing services for parents needing to cater for young and older kids. We went on a kid free weekend and certainly didn't feel like the kids took over due to well thought out layout. I spent 2 hours in the spa and the beautician was as good as any I've had in London, she was brilliant! Dinner was amazing value at £24.99 per head for 3 courses, absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaMarieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your hotel and spa experience, our therapist will be equally delighted to receive your kind feedback. Do come back and visit us again next time you are visiting west Cornwall.

Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

A super stay. A lovely hotel with a super room that looked over Mount's Bay. Even with the mist, the location was superb. The evening meal was absolutely delicious - flavours top class.

From the outset the staff were welcoming and really seemed to enjoy what they were doing.

This is a hotel we'd like to visit again. A brief overnight stay, but one that has certainly re-charged the batteries.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Calmorit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review following your short stay with us. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit and so nice to think that you didn't have too far to drive for a complete change of scenery. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from my very first holiday with my Mum and Dad.

My Mum booked this holiday using travel zoo specifically because it was a 'dog friendly' hotel.
My parents were extremely impressed with all this hotel.
The room was a good size and meticulously clean.
They said the food was fresh, well presented and very tasty.
The staff we're friendly and helpful.
We went for a very long and adventurous walk along the coastal path to porthleven, which I thoroughly enjoyed.
I would advised my fellow canines to make sure your mums and dads put you on a strong lead as there are some very scary cliff edges.

To sum up

Parents point of view.
A very nice hotel in a good location with breathtaking views, good food, friendly attentive staff, and a nice spa and pool.

My point of view.
Nice walks and I could even play on some of the local beaches, could have done with a bone on arrival and more rabbits in the garden

Reggie

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Reggie - many thanks for your canine review which might even be a first for us ! I am so pleased you and your parents enjoyed your visit and that there was enough for all concerned to do. You might be interested to know that the majority of canine beach restrictions are lifted either today 1st October or from 1st November until next Easter providing miles of interesting places for you and your owners to explore. We look forward to welcoming you and your owners back next time you are visiting the Lizard.

Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just come back from an excellent 2 night stay. This was a travelzoo package and included breakfast and a 3 course dinner. The location is stunning. it is a bit off the beaten track but worth it when you get there. We went down to the beach on our first afternoon (I didn't go all the way down as the steps were steep and I have recently had a replacement knee). We had dinner at 7.15 and the service was very good. We both chose the steak the first night but opted for fish the second night. The fish was excellent. We had window seats overlooking the sea but unfortunately the fog set in and we didn't see much. Breakfast on both mornings was very good and plenty to eat. There could have been more pastries as they seemed to disappear very quickly. The room which was inward facing was very clean and comfortable. We felt there could have been more room between the end of the bed and the dressing table especially as the bathroom was very spacious. The room was very warm and the duvet (for us) was too thick for the time of the year I would certainly recommend this .venue and hope to return again. The reception area is very informal and you are made to feel very welcome. All in all nothing seemed to be too much trouble. There was no bar but the staff were always available to order drinks cream teas etc from.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and do hope you might visit us again next time you are venturing down to Cornwall.

Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a 2 night break through a travelzoo offer although I booked it direct. The hotel is in a stunning location right on a cliff overlooking the sea and a small beach. It is quite a drive to get there bit is worth it. We had a rear facing room but it was large with a huge bathroom. Decided not to upgrade and just as well as the weather came in overnight and you couldn't see anything. The only problem with the room was it was too hot even with the window open. We used the spa and it was good very friendly staff. Not having a bar was not a problem there was always staff around to serve you. Drinks as usual are a little pricey but they are often in hotels. The dinner on the first night was not that good we could not eat until 8.15 and then it took ages together a drink and it was 3/4 of a hour before we ate our first course. They also ran out of steak and potatoes. This caused me a bit of a problem as I don't eat fish and other choice was limited. Because of the delays thou they gave us the bottle of wine we had ordered without any asking. Food on the second night was better. We ate earlier and no mention of hem running out of anything. Don't think they were so busy. Breakfast was good not huge but all fresh and cooked to order. I would go back here this time to go along the coastal paths we didn't get time to do. Good location to explore the surrounding area. Loved st michaels mount and st Ives. Also lots of small harbours and bays.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Huntsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Front Office Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we hope that you will take the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
7.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
11.9 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polurrian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polurrian Bay Hotel

Property: Polurrian Bay Hotel
Address: Polurrian Road, Mullion TR12 7EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Polurrian Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliffs amongst 12 acres of gardens, this quintessential luxury family seaside hotel offers stunning views across Mounts Bay and the Atlantic Ocean beyond. All of the public rooms have a sunny, welcoming feel, whilst bedrooms feature fluffy towels, super comfy beds and spectacular views. You will find an array of child friendly facilities including a complimentary Ofsted registered crèche for younger children and the Blue Room for the over eights. The restaurant features unpretentious dishes prepared with the finest seasonal and locally-sourced ingredients. There is a comprehensive range of facilities and activities on offer from the sanctuary of the Purity SPA to the newly resurfaced tennis court and the refurbished indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Polurrian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polurrian Hotel Mullion
Polurrian Bay Hotel Mullion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing