We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“6th October Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Polurrian Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“6th October Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I would like to thank the hotel and staff at the Polurrian for the perfect wedding setting.The location is magnificent, astounding views of the sea and cliffs. The food, drink and help in organising my daughters wedding day was excellent, A special thanks you to Helen, Sarah and Kass, now Mrs and Mrs Gibson had a fabulous day. Beautiful Hotel, to hold a wedding and also Sarahs spa day and lunch with her friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KUGGAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    203
    73
    26
    6
See reviews for
245
365
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Took a night out from my own family friendly hotel to see if the Polurrian lived up to its "Luxury Family Hotel" billing and have to report it certainly does. Having stayed previously at Fowey Hall and Moonfleet Manor I was concerned that Polurrian might also be shabby chic. Nothing could be further from the truth. Polurrian is just chic.

They have taken a an old hotel and with immense flair have created a modern, stylish destination that makes the most out of sensational views. By the careful blending of old and new with a strong touch of 50's style they have created a design classic, your eyes are constantly on the move taking in the quirky furnishing and decor. The new sea facing lounge is superb and I am sure if the leisure centre is finished to this standard it will be just as stylish.

The staff were charming and the food was up to any in Cornwall. The full cornish breakfast was just the right size and great quality.

So well done Luxury Family Hotels, this a hotel for you and your staff to be proud of. You get what you pay for and although its not cheap it is unique in many ways and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello Mr MonTour
Thank you so much for your comments. Hoteliers often find it hard to relax in other establishments but we seem to have hit your "chill out" buttons.
I hope you find your way down here again soon.
Best wishes

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

A four night break for my wife and me, and we were so impressed. The location is magnificent with astounding views of sea, beach and cliffs, the quality and upkeep of the premises is excellent and the staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We ate in the restaurant and both the food and service were very good. We couldn't fault it.

Chris & Pam

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello Chris and Pam
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that we see you again.
Thank you taking the time to write a review.
Kind regards

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a lovely holiday at this hotel. The staff couldnt do enough for us. We have two toddlers and they were very accomodating and helpful. "The Den" was fantastic and our girls loved it. Good facilities for children (playpark, swimming pool) and the staff very hands on. Rooms were very clean and the child listening service meant we could go down to the restaurant for a meal and know that we were 20 seconds away from the room if we heard any noise. Someone mentioned the child listening service wasnt particularly good unless you put it to your ear but we heard everything so perhaps the system has been improved.. We werent worried about leaving the children sleeping in the room, it felt very secure and if you were worried you could book a babysitter. Some very picky/precious parents ive noticed on this website. They should perhaps be a little less anxious and stop looking for the negatives! All in all a great first holiday away as a family. Thank you everyone. Lou and Cris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello Lou and Cris
Thank you so much for taking time out to write a review. I know how precious your time must be with 2 active toddlers to chase.
We are so happy that we provided a memorable first family holiday for you all and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lovely hotel. Very friendly staff and we enjoyed our stay. It's expensive.
Children obviously very welcome but there is a slightly uneasy feeling if a tantrum starts as many people stay here without children as well and the atmosphere can be a bit "hushed up".
The decor looks great. But, if you've got a toddler there are some rather wobbly free standing lamps, the "playroom" has rather too much glass for me to fully relax and a stylish chest with toys in has a pointed metal spike on its lid....! Not a huge amount of childrens facilities. The Den facilities were good.
Our evening food was good but I think the baby listening system needs improving as it doesn't alert you to crying unless you happen to put the phone to your ear! Children's food is ok. Standard rooms are barely big enough for a cot. Nice bathroom and nappy disposal system bin a nice touch!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Review365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hello Review365
Thank you for your comments. I am very concerned about the toy chest spike - we have checked all the toy chests and they are all fine so would be interested in knowing which you are referring to. All glass in the hotel is toughened so quite safe in all areas.
We are a family hotel so I think all guests whether or not they have their own children, will be on the alert for some sort of tantrum so don't be worried by this.
inland facing rooms are smaller than those with sea views but we do try to select larger rooms for families needing a cot. It is always worth telling us when you are here if the space is insufficent as we can often arrange for a move to a larger room.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Please do not listen to the review below. We stayed in September 2012 and it was absolutely lovely. The staff do all they can to help and the rooms and views are lovely. Food great. In fact the only thing which could be a problem was the noise coming from the room next door using the baby listening service, and failing to go to their child when they were crying. Perhaps just stay with your child if you don't think the service is good enough?
The spa was lovely and there are amazing walks from the door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelreviewerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hello Travelreviewer Leeds
Thank you so much for writing your review. It's great to hear you had such a good time.
Hope to see you again
Kind reagrds
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

After arriving at the hotel we were welcomed by the staff. Our room was out of this world, 2 windows with sea views, amazing to wake up to that in the morning. Our evening meal was just superb. We did not use the facilities but they looked to be of a very high standered. The views from the new vista room were just fantastic, and so relaxing after an evening meal or to chill out with afew drinks in the day or evening. Thank you so much to Freyja who made us feel very welcomed, she was very friendly. It was the perfect place to spend our 24th anniversary. Thank you for everything. Mr. and Mrs Ian McDonnell.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 124 i can say this room was fantastic the sea views were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hello Mr & Mrs McDonnell
It was a pleasure to welcome you for your anniversary and I am delighted you enjoyed your brief stay. Thank you for taking time out to write your reponse.
We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
7.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
16.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
16.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polurrian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polurrian Bay Hotel

Property: Polurrian Bay Hotel
Address: Polurrian Road, Mullion TR12 7EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Polurrian Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliffs amongst 12 acres of gardens, this quintessential luxury family seaside hotel offers stunning views across Mounts Bay and the Atlantic Ocean beyond. All of the public rooms have a sunny, welcoming feel, whilst bedrooms feature fluffy towels, super comfy beds and spectacular views. You will find an array of child friendly facilities including a complimentary Ofsted registered crèche for younger children and the Blue Room for the over eights. The restaurant features unpretentious dishes prepared with the finest seasonal and locally-sourced ingredients. There is a comprehensive range of facilities and activities on offer from the sanctuary of the Purity SPA to the newly resurfaced tennis court and the refurbished indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Polurrian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polurrian Hotel Mullion
Polurrian Bay Hotel Mullion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing