We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food BUT”
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Food was great view was amazing apart from that we were very dissapointed long waits for drinks no bar front of house didnt seem to know what they were doing average rooms but clean the village pubs were great. Everyone we asked about the extenson couldnt tell us anything ( menu or capacity wise ) as a hotel owner it would appear to me the problems with hotel are poor managment this place could be a gold mine but seems pretty empty ....... Must try harderl

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oxfordtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Hello Oxfordtwo
I was very concerned to read your comments.
We are always looking to improve and believe we do have steps in place to get us where we want to be but we are interested in discussing your concerns in more detail . It would be very useful if we could discuss your feedback and I would be grateful if you would contact me or Peter Holgate our General Manager to arrange this.
Many thanks and kind regards

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    218
    78
    27
    7
See reviews for
259
398
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed in February as a family of 4 with 2 children under 9. The hotel was very quiet, I think there only about 15 guests while we were there. Although that should have meant that service was swift, it was actually often pretty slow, and you suspected that the staff were not very experienced in the main.

The positives:

The hotel itself is very nice, we stayed in two ajoining superior rooms on the top floor. The views were outstanding, and we spent quite a bit of time up there enjoing this. Rooms are newly decorated, but quite simply furnished. Adequate. The leisure club is also good, and when we were there was empty apart from us. There is a games room that our kids spent a lot of time in, although its designed for teenagers, there werent any staying, so that was good for us. There is a tots club in the basement, and the kids really enjoyed that, the staff there were brilliant. There is a tennis court that we used and an outside play area. The walk down to the beach is bracing, and essential to really appriciate the position of the hotel.

Things to improve on:

Food. It wasnt great, and service was very slow while we were there. On our first evening all our main courses had to be returned for one reason or another. And the young staff didnt really seem to know how to handle that! The next two nights were a big improvement though. Breakfast was excellent each morning.

Service in general. There are a couple of senior staff that were great. Been there for a long time, and very friendly and knowledgeable. Other staff were young, nice enough, but inexperienced.

Building work. When we arrived on a Friday, the workman that are building the new Conservatory made a load of big piles of Breeze Blocks that had the effect of blocking the view of the sea from every window in the lounge. That seemed daft.... obviously building work never adds to the experience, but we were advised of this at the time of booking.

In conclusion. Almost there. Lovely building, good facilities and in a flawless position. Just needs to finish the construction, and sharpen up the service and food offerings. All that being said, our kids keep asking when we can go back, so they must be doing something right!

Room Tip: Top floor - superior rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattfxBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Hello Matt
Thank you for taking time to post a review. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
The issues you raised regarding service and menu are being addressed and you may know from my response to an earlier review that Helen, our Food and Beverage Manager is getting the team into shape.
Our Vista extension finally opens on 23 May and whilst there have been occasions when it did look like a proper building site the work has not been too disruptive.
We have a new menu launching with Vista and it would be lovely for you to come and sample that and to see for yourself how magnificently the breeze block piles have been transformed into a stunning public space.
We hope to see you soon.
Kind regards

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The sea view room was brilliant out of one window. Unfortunately there were workman on a new conservatory roof at room level so one curtain was permanantly drawn between 0800 and 1700. We were not pre warned of this ongoing work prior to our arrival.
The restaurant had a superb view across the bay. However the service was poor. We were shown to our table at the timed booked and no one approached us for 30 minutes not even to take our drinks order even though the restaurant was very quiet. No member of staff appeared to be running the restaurant and the waitresses were not aware of guests arrivals.
A fellow guest asked at reception for a local map which they stated they did not have so we gave them of of the 2 we had acquired elsewhere.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are a 'must' but check the builders have now finished..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Hello Exeter George
It is disappointing to see your comments regarding the Vista extension as we tried to keep guests informed about the work. I hope you raised this during your visit as we always ask guests to let us know if work is intrusive so we can do something about it. The project is now just a few weeks away from completion.
We were aware of problems in the restaurant back in March and our new Food and Beverage Manager started a few weeks ago. She is training existing staff, building a new team and working hard to ensure that the service issues are addressed.
We do usually have a selection of maps in reception and our reception team are always happy to find out specific information when asked.
Thank you for giving your comments. I hope you will be encouraged to visit us again when Vista is open so you may see for yourself the improvements.
Kind regards

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Such a shame as has great location - the menu is all wrong , they need a new chef with some modern snacks/ bistro ideas to tempt non residents and locals- very quiet over Easter with no atmosphere...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StuartHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Hello Stuart H
I am sorry you do not seem to have enjoyed your Easter stay with us. The lunch and evening menus have beeen redesigned and we launched them on Friday.The menu and the food have been well received by residents and locals so maybe we can tempt you to visit again.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Looking for a well deserved Easter break, in a beach side hotel that had a Spa and suit a family of 4 including a 14 and 16 yr old, Pollurian seemed to tick all the boxes, Booked 1 superior sea view room and 1 twin sea view, did not recieve a confirmation email so emailed hotel, replied that rooms booked were not available in fairness they accomadated us in 2 double sea view rooms.
On arrival the rooms were next to each other which was a real bonus. After unpacking wife called down to reception to book 3 sessions in Spa to be told it was fully booked. Spoke to lady on reception to say how dissappointing that guests dont have the option of at least 1hr session, she spoke to the Manager who arranged for someone to come in following day for the 3 sessions. This sums up the effort put in to make your stay!
The manager of the hotel seems to have the right ethos which is reflected in all the staff, the waitress staff are so relaxed yet efficient could not fault them.
Bonus very poor mobile phone signal.
Rooms good size lovely decor as is whole of the hotel. games room spot on, lounge true in every sense, future extension looks to be very promising, will go back soon as completed.
Few minor observations, no bar although waitress service excellent no social aspect.
Very little to do if not booked in for dinner so travelled out in evenings,
Easter ball one evening would have been a nice touch for both children and parents, Jools Holland style singer with piano suitable choice.
To sum up, Location excellent, hotel decor lovely,hotel facilities very good, service and staff excellent, suitable for young families, and couples.
Would recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: sea view a must,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inneedofabreak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased that following a poor start with the room mix up you were happy with the adjacent sea view rooms. It was no trouble for Peter to arrange your spa sessions and I know he was delighted that you enjoyed the pampering.
We all look forward to welcoming you back when the Vista lounge is completed.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Polurrian and I wish I was still there ! We had a gorgeous superior family room which had 2 good sized bedrooms with breathtaking views of mullion bay. The hotel has been tastefully refurbished in high quality furniture and decor. The service is absolutely fantastic, nothing is too much trouble for every member of staff. Special mention must be made of Richard, Becky and the other restaurant staff who were brilliant. Our children adored the Den, and so did we as it gave us a 2 hour break each morning. Rowena is capable and clearly very experienced and our boys loved her. Reception staff were always very helpful.
The quality of the food is worth a mention.. Fresh and tasty and reasonably priced. We loved that the children could eat any time of day. There can't be many places where the chef drives to the local village to buy peanut butter for your little darlings' sandwiches!
I really don't know how anyone can give this place anything other than a stellar review and the 2 recent negative reviews just don't make any sense to me. Having travelled all over the world on business and pleasure, staying at mostly 5* hotels I can honestly say that Polurrian is one of my favourite hotels. If I was splitting hairs then I would say that the restaurant service can sometimes be slow but I'm nit picking now.
Overall, just fabulous, thank you Polurrian Bay Hotel !

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I found this hotel to be absolutely amazing, the room was spacious and clean (with a wonderful view of the sea). The staff couldn't be more helpful (especially Sara in the restaurant - we really enjoyed her being our waitress!)
The outdoor pool wasn't open when we went, which was disappointing but once the season has started then I imagine this won't be a problem for other travellers.
I would definitely recommend 100% and will be planning a return trip in the future.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are definitely worth it! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
593 reviews
15.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
16.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
685 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polurrian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polurrian Bay Hotel

Property: Polurrian Bay Hotel
Address: Polurrian Road, Mullion TR12 7EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Polurrian Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliffs amongst 12 acres of gardens, this quintessential luxury family seaside hotel offers stunning views across Mounts Bay and the Atlantic Ocean beyond. All of the public rooms have a sunny, welcoming feel, whilst bedrooms feature fluffy towels, super comfy beds and spectacular views. You will find an array of child friendly facilities including a complimentary Ofsted registered crèche for younger children and the Blue Room for the over eights. The restaurant features unpretentious dishes prepared with the finest seasonal and locally-sourced ingredients. There is a comprehensive range of facilities and activities on offer from the sanctuary of the Purity SPA to the newly resurfaced tennis court and the refurbished indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Polurrian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polurrian Hotel Mullion
Polurrian Bay Hotel Mullion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing