We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Welcoming Place to Stay”
Review of The Old Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Mullion B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We choose to stay at the Old Inn Mullion because it was on The lizard and right in the area that we wanted to explore. When we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, the rooms were ready for us and looked very clean, light and airy.
We dined in the restaurant each evening and found the food to be generally very good, the one exception being a steak which really was very tough. The menu is typically a pub food menu but with daily specials available, although these did not change each day. Breakfast was served between 8.00am and 9.00am and consisted of a choice of fruit juices, cereals, full English or variations. Poached or scrambled egg on toast was readily available. Service at both dinner and breakfast was excellent and the staff were, without exception very friendly.
Access to the rooms was either through the pub or by using the room key there was a separated entrance to the accommodation wing.The rooms were clean, light and airy, we were travelling as two couples so required two rooms. One room (3) was on the ground floor and was quite large with a sofa in the bay window. The bathroom was large with a bath and a walk in shower. The only negative things were lack of shelf space in the bathroom and the lack of mirrors, the bathroom had one small round mirror above the sink. The second room (5) was on the first floor and was slightly smaller, the bathroom did not have a walk in shower but had one over the bath. This room boasted plenty of mirrors and better quality furniture, although the TV was of the older variety.
The bar of the pub was a lively place with plenty of locals drinking there, the beer was good and there was plenty of choice of beers and lagers. Live music was provided on the Saturday evening in the bar.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 & 4 are on the ground floor just inside the front door which made access very easy. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaky94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 202 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Visited here several times in May 2013, lovely pub, with excellent food and real ale, well priced with a good choice of menu dishes and daily specials. Great location and parking nearby. Suspect it would get really busy peak season and booking might be necessary.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemaclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

As you drive through the one way system in Mullion you will pass the beautiful old church and on the left you will see the Old Inn. This is a stunning pub/restaurant/hotel with a thatched roof and plenty of places to sit outside. Every Sunday a group of locals get together to play guitars, mandolins and basically any other musical instrument people tend to bring along. The music is great and the people very welcoming, anyone can join in.
Food in the pud is good and the range of ales and cider is great, don't drink too much of the Rattler cider, lovely refreshing drink but has a bite in it...hence the name.
On a family holiday to Mullion we found the bar staff brilliant especially Josh and Lisa.
This pub is excellent for families, couples and is welcoming for dogs, every dog in Mullion seems to know the way to the Old Inn.
Vist, chill and enjoy!

Room Tip: Sorry we did not stay in the Old Inn, however my sister has and she said the rooms are charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just thought I would pop in to the old inn as I had been promising myself I would give a breakfast a try.. Why did I not do this sooner? Freshly cooked to order full English at a very good price.. Proper flavoursome sausages and all cooked the way i like it... Service was excellent as I have come to find with the old inn, all in all top notch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed in room 5 which is on the second floor (2 flights of stairs so be warned if carrying heavy luggage good size with light from 2 windows, a small TV but what the heck bathroom with bath/shower good meal in the evening a pleasant walk around the village breakfast also good Park the car in the village car park opposite (donations welcome)

Room Tip: Room 5 second floor is quiet and over looks the gardens, the 5 o clock dawn chorus will wake you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed for long weekend in May. The Inn and it's staff are very welcoming, our room (No 3) was extremely comfortable, being the largest and having both bath and shower cubicle in it's recently refurbished v. large bathroom. Everything was very clean and in good condition, our room was south facing so benefitted from the sunshine all weekend. Found the regular menu a bit limited and unadventurous, but they seemed to do a 'specials' night most nights and therefore added more choice. Full English breakfast was v.good and all staff were very friendly and helpful.
This pub is located in the heart of a very pretty village conveniently situated for the Lizard and surrounding beaches,

Room Tip: Room 3 was the biggest, most recently refurbished and very quiet, all you could hear were the birds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Took the family for lunch to celebrate our Anniversary. There was something on the menu to suit all. Great food, nice portion sizes. House white wine good, very friendly service & nothing too much trouble. Children welcome. Dog welcome in set area. We have been here a few times now & not been at all disappointed, in fact the first time we went there we imagined it would be regular pub grub, but we were mistaken, it was far more than pub grub!

I would say though maybe a few cushions in the upper area by the fireplace would make for a more comfortable cosy experience, this is not a criticism, just a thought if the owner reads this. Thanks for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: Not stayed here so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaJumunjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
832 reviews
4.8 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
387 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 7 in St Keverne
13 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn

Address: Churchtown | Churchtown, Mullion TR12 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mullion
Price Range: $72 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Mullion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing