We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch 23/12/12”
Review of The Old Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Mullion B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Extremely poor food and over priced - meat too tough to consume, cold overall very poor quality.
Staff incompetent, argument broke out in the bar between staff...very unprofessional!
If your looking for a decent meal and pleasant Sunday lunch, I suggest you choose somewhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VPMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 205 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights when we were in Cornwall in mid September of this year on a family holiday and we couldn't praise it more.. The food was delicious, the tall chef that cooked the food for us was very friendly and extremely helpful. Stuart who I presume was the manager looked after us superbly, a very friendly man who put himself out to make sure our stay was memorable. The live band on the saturday night was excellent, playing great rock and indie classics and we had a great time mixing with the locals.

WOULD RECOMMEND HIGHLY!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Waited 2 hours for food as they said they couldn't find us even though we were sat buy the bar drinking there drinks. We were eventually rushed through and given smaller worse quality food than everyone else.
Staff were abrupt and unprofessional.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bexc1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at The Old Inn for 3 nights in July of this year and couldn't praise the staff and the food higher. The room was contemporary and very comfortable, the friendliness of the staff in helping us plan our trip locally with things to do was second to none, lovely food from simple bar snacks to more fanciful dishes on the specials board and good local ale too.

Very happy customers, we will come again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Old Inn is part thatched and sits in the centre of Mullion. Although they do not have a private car park there is a public car park just opposite which only asks for donations! Our room was a large and light room with ensuite bath and shower. Unfortunately there were no shelves to put your toiletries on and no hairdryer provided. Room 3 was very handy for smokers as we had a garden right outside our room even though we were on the first floor which was accessed by a guest door. Our bed and especially the pillows were comfortable and although there were a few stains on the light carpet the room was clean. The Inn provided tea and coffee in the room with the choice of having fresh milk if you required. Breakfast was served in part of the restaurant area of the pub it was OK but only instant coffee was served in a cup and we always had to ask for a top up.The landlord and lady were friendly as were the locals and on one of the nights they had live music. It was nice to see that they welcomed dogs
as this all added to the friendly and welcoming feel of the place. We ate in their restaurant one night and there is also another pub 5 mins walk away which also does food. There are a few shops in the village and Helston is only 15-20 mins drive away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Having seen a photo of The Old Inn (judging a book by it's cover) we promtly booked a stay of 5 nights.
On the first evening we had a meal with 2 friends. We waited almost an hour before our meals arrived which had been speeded up after a quiet word with the manageress. Whilst waiting a drinks tray was put on the table by a surly waitress with the comment of 'I'll let you sort the drinks out' - 2 pints, 2 glasses of wine. 2 men, 2 women - not difficult to work out!

After more apologies we felt that a second chance was only fair.

Day 2. Returned to our room after a day out to find our room door wide open. The room had been servived. Manageress 'not available'.
Our evening meal was eagerly awaited, only to be dissapointed by the fact that the portions were half the size of the previous evening. When pointing this out to the waiter it was suggested we ordered desserts to make up for it. When asking whether we would be charged we received no answer. Naturally we were. During the course of the evening it was noticed that several customers were having to pursue staff to request service. Some tables were attended to by several staff whilst others none. Miss 'Surly' would only take drinks orders but deliver desserts with the comment of 'Let me guess which is which' - wrong. 'Oh usually only women eat this' - Thanks! No more evening meals.
Breakfasts were very ordinary to the extent by morning 3 we just ordered toast - can't get that wrong.
2 minutes later came the sound of toast being scraped! This was duly delivered to our table in a rack. One side burnt, the other side still white and soft with neat finger indentations on it where it had been held whilst being scraped!
Throughout our stay the manageress was 'unavailable' apart from the first evening. None of the staff seemed interested in the customers and rarely acknowledged our existance.
For many years I had thought Fawlty Towers had been based on a hotal in Torquay. How wrong I was

Room Tip: Take a tent with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed 2 nights over May Bank Holiday weekend. Good sized clean double room. Towels, soaps and shampoo supplied. Staff friendly and helpful. Full English breakfast was a great start to the day. Evening meals were also of a good standard with plenty to choose from. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.6 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
836 reviews
1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
687 reviews
4.8 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mounts Bay Guest House
Mounts Bay Guest House
#8 of 11 in Mullion
17 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mullion Cove Lodge Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn

Address: Churchtown | Churchtown, Mullion TR12 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mullion
Price Range: $72 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Mullion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing