We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self contained Garden and good food”
Review of Mounts Bay Inn

Mounts Bay Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A modern style pub serving great home cooked food in a relaxed comfortable and friendly environment. In a central village location with great sea views out over the Mounts Bay area towards St Micheals Mount from our beautiful sun decking. Serving quality well kept local ales and fresh locally caught seafood.
Reading
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Self contained Garden and good food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stopped here for Lunch before we headed home from our trip in Cornwall. I wished we had visited sooner as had a lovely lunch for the whole family. The garden is perfect for little kids to kick off their shoes and run about, secure from the main roads. Good place for lunch & dinner. Great kids menu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank clairebearReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chezzerl, Owner at Mounts Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
thank you for your kind review, we are really pleased that you all enjoyed our garden and felt as we do that it is a great place for children to have a good run around. and to top it off you loved our food too !! thank you again and look forward to seeing you again next time !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    102
    28
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely welcome”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

atmosphere lovely food great welcome friendly .this was uor first visit and the whole familr really enjoyed it. the lady serving us was cheryl and she was really friendly and very welcoming.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank trish595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Menu”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Although, I am a committed carnivore and would eat shoe leather in a bap, my wife being vegetarian often struggles to find something to eat in pubs. So it was great to find this pub with several interesting vegetarian choices, especially considering its small village location. Very helpful staff who even laid up an extra table for us on a packed Friday evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErikBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chezzerl, Owner at Mounts Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we pride ourselves on our vegetarian choice and so pleased that you liked this ,I am not vegetarian but I do particularly like vegetarian food and have tried to offer a varied choice to be a little different from the run of the mill, glad that we were able to get you that table sorted and that our team looked after you well despite being so busy as it can get tricky to look after all our customers as well as we would like to during the particularly busy holiday season. look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place. Food OK. Poor service. Disappointed.”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We pre booked a table for three and expressed a need for a gluten free menu. We were told there was a separate gluten free menu, which we were pleased about. We arrived on time.

The waitresses seemed more interested in sorting themselves out rather than ensuring we were met and greeted warmly. Having asked for a gluten free menu, the waitress forgot about the request and disappeared into the kitchen. My wife had to get up and go on the hunt for a menu herself, which she found very quickly.

We ordered our starters and main course. The starter arrived in good time but the main course took an unacceptable time to arrive. I asked for a well done Sirloin steak and it was cooked medium. There was a general lack of attention to us throughout the meal and we came away feeling we had been through a process rather than handled as a valued customer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MauriceAndClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chezzerl, Owner at Mounts Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review , we are grateful for your comments as these help to see areas where errors have occurred and ways in which we can improve. we are sorry that you felt you were just part of a process instead of a valued customer as we always endeavour to do our best to look after each and every customer to the best of our ability and feel frustrated that we failed on this occasion mostly due to the incredibly busy evening we had last Friday when you came in.
I was glad the gluten free menu was helpful and again I will apologise as I did at the time for my temporary memory blip due to an incident I had to deal with which delayed me bringing the menu over to you.
Also we are certainly sorry for the long wait which I know you had between your starter and main course this is something which was caused on Friday by the huge volume of orders placed during a very short period of time and the fact that all are meals are prepared and cooked to order using fresh local ingredients, therefore especially during the very busy summer holidays delays can occur.
I am also sorry that one of the team missed checking back with you as we could have then rectified the error with your steak.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity on another visit to prove that this is not the level of service we endeavour to provide as I am sure you will have seen on previous reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Fantastic food ..Busy but relaxing atmosphere.......not rushed at all .......nothing more to say !!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula4594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chezzerl, Owner at Mounts Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your meal here with us and the busy atmosphere !! glad our new refurbished look has created the relaxed atmosphere we were hoping for.
Look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mounts Bay Inn also viewed

 

Been to Mounts Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing