We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time”
Review of Mounts Bay Inn

Mounts Bay Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A modern style pub serving great home cooked food in a relaxed comfortable and friendly environment. In a central village location with great sea views out over the Mounts Bay area towards St Micheals Mount from our beautiful sun decking. Serving quality well kept local ales and fresh locally caught seafood.
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good time”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very good food. The staff are very nice to. We have been here for three night on a mid week break . Well stocked bar and very clean surroundings

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim284Wallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chezzerl, Owner at Mounts Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are really proud of our team and glad they looked after you well. Have recently increased our range of malt whiskies and spirits since our refurbishment so pleased you enjoyed the range of drinks we stock.
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    102
    29
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fabulous menu of excellent local food all served well and with very good sized portions. Staff are quite simply brilliant. Special thanks to Cheryl who is such a delightful and friendly manager.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chezzerl, Owner at Mounts Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind comments they are very much appreciated by myself and all our team who work so hard to help us create the delicious menu and make your experience here a good one.
Look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh food”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellent food full of flavour.

There is a very large menu and in addition daily specials. I was lucky enough to enjoy half a lobster with new potatoes and salad which was an absolute delight. Starters of calamari and beer and cheese croquettes were very good and divine chocolate fudge cake for dessert!

We would definitely return for the food although the interior decoration is rather bland and could do with jazzing up a bit. Brighter colours definitely needed.

Food highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzienRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chezzerl, Owner at Mounts Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind and constructive comments. So pleased your enjoyed the lobster we are lucky to have a fisherman in the village who supplies us daily with lobsters and shellfish from Newlyn , therefore is great to be able to tell you who caught them and when they were caught ! simply cant get any fresher than that !
glad you also enjoyed the cheese and beer croquettes as they were a new addition to our menu last month so good to get the feedback.

Sorry you thought our colour scheme a little bland ,this was a difficult decision when we did our refurbishment back in January we nearly went for a really bright colour scheme but as we are a village pub we decided to go for the safer option of the softer relaxing colours but we are still working on adding some more character so we hope you will return again and let us know what you think .Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best Food on the Lizard”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Of all the hotels and pubs we ate in on a weeks break with two grandchildren, not only is Mounts Bay very reasonably priced, but the choise and quality of meals is outstanding. We ate there 3 times - that must say something! and the staff are so friendly and helpful - as are the Mullion locals who are regulars there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply the best.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Yet another wonderful week of amazing meals in this great restaurant.The selection and quality of food was unbelievable.
The Staff were excellent,always polite and friendly.
Cheryl and Peter have made this Inn a place to return to again and again.Looking forward to next year already!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank itsanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mounts Bay Inn also viewed

 

Been to Mounts Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing