We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family/Friend's Holiday Experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millbrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitsand Bay Fort Holiday Park
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We arrived and were greeted by the lovely reception staff, who directed us to our luxury lodge. I was astonished at how amazing the lodges are! We had a hot tub which was great for my sons and his friends to chill out in after a day of surfing.

We went to the bar and restaurant almost every night, such a great atmosphere and interesting features throughout the building. The bar staff were very welcoming along with 'Mr Whitty' the kids/family entertainer! The food was lovely, and the bar prices were reasonable.

We had only one issue on the whole of the weekend, and that was some of the lights in the lodge had blown while we were there, however we went to reception and their efficient maintenance team sorted us out within the hour!

Pool and cafe were great, had a great belly burst breakfast there - highly recommend after a late night at the bar!

Don't understand why there is so many bad reviews? We had an awesome time!

Great Holiday! We will definitely be returning, my sons and partner had a really good time away!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhp, Manager at Whitsand Bay Fort Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments , which will be passed on to our team here at whitsand bay. We look forward to seeing you all again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 166 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

we have just returned from a 2 week family holiday with our touring caravan, super pitch services were great and so pleased we had our own facilities to use as the on site showers were filthy, only 4 family shower rooms available for a site that had at least 30/40 pitches !!! The serviced pitches had a road that ran in front about two feet away so not safe for children to play outside and laid to gravel so very noisy especially when some of the permanent residents were leaving at 6am to go to work not what you want when on holiday, we aren't a fussy family and travel a lot and this has to be the worst place we have ever stayed a sentiment felt by others that we spoke to who all said it was a great base but not somewhere to spend your days ,and sometimes that's something we like to do. i would not recommend to any one i can't comment on the pool restaurant or cafe as we didn't use them as i did not want to give them any more of my hard earned cash

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank madeinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a weeks holiday, this location is lovely set out the way a bit. Quite a rugged walk to the beach ( only when the tide is out) but a tough one back up!! The accommodation was a let down very shabby and dirty a nasty musty smell. Not very well equipped kitchen! Pool was also very dirty. Such a shame as location is great

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bindichboodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

After my sister in law booked a 'luxury' pitch we arrived to find we had been allocated a caravan pitch which had a 6 foot bramble bush behind and a 6 foot bank at the front with the driveway through the middle and no room to pitch our tent! We then found the toilets some 400 yards or more away from the pitch. After mentioning this to the reception staff, they did offer us another pitch but it got worse. The toilets are absolutely disgusting. Urine and faeces spattered loos with the odd pubic hair not to mention the smell and mop bucket filled with dirty water and no soap in ANY if the dispensers. Having a 4 year old, the cleanliness was quite disturbing. The swimming pool was cloudy and murky but the best part was the lady camping next to us who was extremely rude claiming she was staying there for 12 weeks and if we damaged her tent we would be liable. She was also rude to friends if family a month ago when they too visited the site. The virtual beach is hilarious. Mouldy sun loungers on paving slabs. The play park consisted of a slide. We tried the filthy gym where wood sticks out from the walks with 3 inch nails and on getting on the cross trainer, rust fell everywhere as shown in the pics. Absolute disgrace of a place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emdoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic holiday me my husband and 2 brothers aged 12&6 had so much fun
Swimming pool never cramped and always clean, bar slightly over priced but staff were lovely and helpful. We stayed an extra night as we didn't want to come home
Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zwarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhp, Manager at Whitsand Bay Fort Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, which we will pass on to our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Second time we stayed in 2 months just for one night. We had issues with another camper who thought they owned the place and is staying there long term in both occasions. The staff really didn't care. This time we were put on a pitch go a caravan. Reception did move us to another pitch after a lot of discussion and persuasion by us. Toilets quite dirty and gym area a disgrace. Ok for a night but no more

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tron476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhp, Manager at Whitsand Bay Fort Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments. The staff will be disappointed that you think they did not care . It is always difficult to mediate if campers in the immediate vicinity do not co-exist well, but we would strive to resolve any issues as best we can. The toilets are cleaned regularly, and we always encourage our guests to bring to our attention any problems like this, as we have available cleaning and maintenance staff who would be able to respond whilst you were here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just returned from a lovely week at the park. Stayed in a lodge rented from the site and have to say we couldn't fault it. The lodge was clean and really well equipped for all our needs. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our son loved the swimming pool which, although busy at times was always clean and the beach at Whitsand Bay is stunning! We visited The Vaults restaurant four times during our stay. Each time we found staff to be really friendly and the food delicious! Try the Sunday carvery, yum! Kids club was great fun and "Mr Whitty" had even the adults in stitches! Would also definitely recommend the Sunday tour by the owner of the site. It was fascinating to learn there was so much history to the place and we all loved being spooked by the tunnels!
We were surprised by negative reviews by others on here, glad we didn't see them before booking because they don't at all reflect our experience! Ok, it's not perfect and if you are looking for clean lines and state of the art facilities then perhaps this isn't for you but big "commercial" sites aren't for us and we loved the personal touch and the beautiful peaceful surroundings. We can't wait to return again next year.
Some top tips! Remember towels! We didn't although reception staff rallied round and found us some!
For an easier walk back up from the beach drive up the road about a mile and the climb is half as steep!
Book a table in the restaurant, they do get very busy some nights!
Try a surf lesson on the beach just below the park. Although we were pretty useless we had a great time!
Thanks again for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laceyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhp, Manager at Whitsand Bay Fort Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. Our Mr Whitty has just been taken on by the Butlins group , one of a few of hundreds of applicants, which shows just how good he is. We wish him well . Now the hunt is on for Mr Whitty 2014! We hope you will vissit with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrook
3.6 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
626 reviews
1 mi away
The Devon & Cornwall
The Devon & Cornwall
#4 of 4 in Millbrook
59 reviews
1 mi away
Manor Lodge Guesthouse B&B
Manor Lodge Guesthouse B&B
#2 of 4 in Millbrook
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsand Bay Fort Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsand Bay Fort Holiday Park

Address: Whitsand Bay, Millbrook, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Millbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Millbrook
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier coastal holiday park in south cornwall just a few miles west of Plymouth and east of Looe. Set in and around the grounds of a Napoleonic coastal fort, now a designated English Heritage ancient monument overlooking the sandy beaches of Whitsand bay. Self catering luxury lodges. Affordable chalets, tenting and touring holiday park Open all year with all weather facilities ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whitsand Bay Holiday Park Hotel Millbrook
Whitsand Bay Fort Holiday Park Cornwall/Millbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing