We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean large rooms, in the heart of Mevagissey very accommodating friendly staff. felt at home.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ship Inn
Ranked #21 of 35 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Clean large rooms, in the heart of Mevagissey very accommodating friendly staff. felt at home.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Ship Inn has recently been taken over and the new staff were very accommodating and friendly. Although the rooms are a bit dated they are of a good size all with en-suites and very clean. The food was very reasonably priced and of good quality with something for everyone. My daughter has coeliacs and they were able to tailor her dinner for her. The pub is very cozy and atmospheric with good background music and a lovely open fireplace. Live music on a Saturday night. Had a really lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkle278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    49
    20
    13
    15
See reviews for
30
91
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Feb 20th 2013. We stayed in mevagissey approx 300 yards from the ship inn. We passed one pub before the ship that didnt look like our sort of place, looked in window of ship, dark and cosy looking, open fire, low ceilings, wood. Looked nice. As soon as we walked in, landlord was really nice and friendly, the area we were about to sit in was reserved but he had a really nice manner and advised on other places we could sit. Nice beer, if cider is your thing, try cornish rattler but dont overdo it as its got a bad side. We had a meal which was really nice, vege lasanga (not sure thats spelt right) for my wife which she enjoyed, medium rare rib eye steak for father in law which he said was the best he had in ages. I had a gammon which was beautiful plus garlic bread for all. Food delivered quick, hot, staff i could not fault, i asked for jug of water which was promptly delivered. Couple more drinks and i enquired about puddings of a chocolate nature but we decided against this as we were stuffed but the landlady came to our table a bit later to ask if it was us asking about the chocolate desert as the chef was nearly finished but she wanted to check if we wanted desert before she closed the kitchen, thats service for you. I really cant fault anything. Been to mevagissey a few times so may enquire about rooms for future stays. Oh, toilets were really clean, if i walk into toilets that are dirty, i tend to think, i wonder how bad the kitchen is? No probs here and we will be going in again before we leave as my wife liked the sound of the other vege options and i will have the gammon again. Kids welcome. Upon leaving the landlord thanked us and to top the evening off to make our little boy laugh, he pretended to let the saloon style doors close on himself and our four year old laughed and waved at the landlord. It seems to be our nature to complain about things that we are not happy about so i always like to give credit where credit is due. If you are only in this area for one night, this is the place you should head for. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank pw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We book two rooms at the Ship to celibrate a family reunion over the Christmas break. We drive 260 miles to get there on 27 Dec....the place is closed. No one answers the phone. No one answers the door. No one returns our answerphone messages. We have had no apology or explanation. Thankfully a local pub/hotel were able to put us up.See review for the Fountain 'god bless them'.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Delicious fish & chips, can't fault it. We will be back very soon. The manager & bar staff were charming. Only fault is loo roll was only just enough! Dogs are very welcome too, 'biscuits supplied' & water.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lovelyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a lovely long weekend in Mevagissey and did loads of things. We walked, cycled, went to Heligan and other places & had a lovely meal in Roovay's. Mevagissey was great!!!! I had first visited the Ship in 1999 and loved it. The downside of this weekend unfortunately was the Ship Inn. We knew that the new landlord had just taken over & he certainly has a lot of work to do with the Ship!!!! Breakfasts were good as was the evening meal we had, but our room was dowdy and tired. One wall was sopping wet from the rain, carpet in the bathroom dirty and damp from a leak and the whole room cold!!!! We told the landlord about the damp and cold, but put up with it as we were out more times than in. We thought that we might have had a slight reduction in cost as a goodwill gesture.....but was charged full price for what was a sub standard room. The room was not serviced, apart from replenishing the tea and coffee at anytime during our 4 night stay.
On a brighter note the landlord was friendly and chatty, he has some good ideas for the future and if he manages to do these the Ship Inn will be a decent place to stay, until then there are far better places in Mevagissey. To be honest it would be better not to let the rooms out until they have been completely refurbished especially room 2!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Having previously visited the Ship many years previously, we were extremely disappointed with the burnt offerings we paid for (expensive) and the taste of the well used oil it was cooked in. The staff also look grubby and the place is in need of a good clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaFennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Nice friendly pub/b&b. Couldn't complain, nice friendly staff, clean tidy rooms, decent breakfast, Just what I need for a fishing trip.
Some people may call the pub but personally its absolutely brilliant.
VERY FRIENDLY, close to the harbour and reasonably priced.
Can't fault the pub, will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I was in room 5 but for a nice double room with shower rooms 4 or 5. Cornish Rattler Cider on Tap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank don c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.3 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Wheelhouse
The Wheelhouse
#25 of 35 in Mevagissey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#3 of 35 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stone's throw Cottage
Stone's throw Cottage
#14 of 35 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Property: Ship Inn
Address: Fore Street, Mevagissey PL26 6UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming old cornish pub built in the 1600`s situated in the center of mevagissey fishing village which has a working harbour bringing in fresh fish daily...Meander around our streets and visit a choice of shops or catch the ferry across to fowey or just enjoy a fishing trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Mevagissey
Ship Inn Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing