We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As excellent as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wild Air Guest House
Ranked #7 of 35 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bavaria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“As excellent as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

This year Mevagissey was our third stay on our journey through Devon and Cornwall. We came in May from South-Germany and had a long way to travel. My wife and me spent three nights in Wild Air Guesthouse together with our daughter and her husband and it was as good as it was two and even four years ago. Clare is a fantastic host and everything was so as we wanted it to be. From our rooms we had an outstanding view over Mevagissey harbour - I think perhaps the best view you can have in a hotel or a B & B accomodation when you stay in Cornwall. We had a very warm and friendly welcome by Clare who reads every wish you have from your eyes, we had very calm nights and tremendous good breakfasts in the morning. It were again three wonderful days with good sightseeing-tips by Clare and a long walk through the lovely Garden of Heligan. You should have come in May to see these fantastic garden in full bloom. Wild Air, Clare and Mevagissey we all love you so much. Thank you Clare for your hospitality. We'll gladly come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BavariaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
It has been my greatest pleasure to welcome you all on each of your three stays with us. I do believe you are almost as passionate about Cornwall as I am if that is possible! I am as always so pleased to hear you enjoyed yet another stay with us and I very much look forward to your next visit and your regular emails. Best wishes and love to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    27
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
333
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Excellent service, outstanding breakfast, very,very good accomodation,good location. Very nice to eat breakfast with other guests. Close to harbour. Great Travel tips by the hostess. Very good welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
So very pleased to read that you were so happy with the breakfast, service and location of our accommodation. You were both excellent company at breakfast time and both the others guests and myself enjoyed meeting and chatting with you at breakfast time. Glad you found the travel tips so helpful and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here while visiting Cornwall to walk a part of the South West Coast Path and loved this B&B in every way. Nice rooms, beautiful view, wonderful breakfast and last but not least, the perfect hostess, Clare. Mevagissey is a lovely little place to spend your time. We were very satisfied with this B&B and would certainly return when in Cornwall again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Håkan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
It was a great pleasure to have you both stay with us and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your perfect base for 4 days. A super review and lovely comments to me on your departure and in our guest book. Look forward to your return with your wives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at the Wild Air Guest House for 2 nights in May and had a fabulous time. Clare is very attentive and goes out of her way to ensure you have a great experience. We had the downstairs room and this was spacious with a lovely bathroom. The views from the window were amazing and the guest house is a short walk from the centre of Mevagissey. The room was immaculately clean and well furnished.

Breakfast was lovely, with a good choice of hot meals, together with cereals and toast/jam. We would recommend this guest house to anyone, and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us such a glowing review. I am delighted that we ticked all your boxes and that you were so happy with your stay here. Thanks also for your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willunga, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Wild Air has the best situation with great views and a deck to sit out on whilst sipping the odd gin & tonic. The room and all amenities were very comfortable. Adequate parking is a plus. Clare, the hostess, puts herself out for people and nothing is too much trouble. Her knowledge of the local area was the key to my wife and I making the most of our stay and having a great time. We went on to stay at Padstow - not half as interesting. In retrospect we should have based ourselves at Mevagissey and travelled to places of interest from there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
I am delighted to hear that you prefer the beautiful fishing village of Mevagissey to Padstow! Hope your comments will sway people in our favour!

It was a great pleasure to have you both staying with us and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. As you say the patio is the perfect place for enjoying the views whilst sipping G&T.

Your review, comments in our guest book and also your email are much appreciated and we hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was our first experience of a B &B and it didn't disappoint. Our room was lovely with a beautiful view that would be enjoyable in both fair weather and foul. Parking was easy and it was a quick walk into the beautiful village. The walk back is uphill but not difficult.
Lovely owner Clare dispensed beautiful breakfasts as well as good advice as to where to visit that day and never seemed rushed although she must have been busy.
Will add my voice to others and say that I fully recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looksat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments. I am of course delighted to hear that your first experience in a B&B didn’t disappoint and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your additional comments in our guest book which reads ‘Mevagissey is the perfect base to explore Cornwall, Wild Air is the perfect B&B and Clare is the perfect host’ were very moving particularly as you had visited so many places. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed recently at Wild Air and had a wonderful time. Fantastic location, immaculate accomodation and views from our bedroom were "to die for". Clare is a charming host who has a wealth of knowledge of the local area which she is more than happy to share. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenFB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely words about your stay at Wild Air and your recommendations. We are so lucky to have these fantastic views and are delighted to be able to share them with our guests and having lived here for so many years know all the best locations in Cornwall and love to advise on the best places to visit. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#1 of 35 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Air Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Air Guest House

Property: Wild Air Guest House
Address: Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an outstanding location with magnificent sea views Wild Air offers high quality accommodation, excellent customer service and attention to detail. The stunning breakfast room overlooks the Lighthouse Quay where an excellent selection of local and homemade produce is served. Beautiful patio where you can enjoy your pre-dinner drink or afternoon tea. Complimentary Wi-Fi and onsite parking for all guests. Close to Lost Gardens of Heligan & the Eden Project, a central base for touring the whole of Cornwall. In our 14th year of trading we are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wild Air Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Air Guest House Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing