We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic apartment in a prime location”
other travelers have booked this property
Dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining area
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Dining area
Lounge
Kitchen area
Kitchen and dining area
Wetroom
Kingsize bedroom
Front of property
Boats in the harbour
Feast Week Celebrations
Feast Week Celebrations
The Eden Project
Charlestown's tall ships harbour
Pentewan Sands
Mevagissey Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mevagissey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shelljex
Cottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic apartment in a prime location”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Thoroughly happy with our wonderful break away. The apartment had lovely character, with all the modern conveniences needed and it was thoroughly clean. There were 4 of us and we had enough space not to be in each other's way. Although we didn't need them- as we were out every day- there were lots of DVDs and games in case the weather had taken a turn for the worst. It was so easy to get parked with the week's pass and we were an incredibly short walk from all the wonderful shops, restaurants and from the harbour itself. I suppose the only thing we may have missed is a personal outside area to sit in the sun, but we answered that by either opening the front doors and sitting looking out, or we took a short walk to the top of the cliff/hill. One minor suggestion I suppose I may make is a small freezer of sorts so that you could have ice in your cider bought from Healey's, but then again, you could just pop to up the road to pub instead. We felt so very welcomed by John and Kate and would happily stay again. Thank you both so very much

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheila492...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed for Feast Week in June. The Old Shop Apartment is so well equipped and everything has been thought about by John and Kate to make your stay so welcoming all the little details make all the difference, definitely ☆☆☆☆☆

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice, clean apartment in a good location”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We were very impressed with this apartment. It was the perfect size for the two of us and it was clean and well-maintained. It's located near to the habour which has a selection of nice pubs, restaurants, cafes and shops. The owner provided some milk and flowers which was a nice touch. We did a number of walks up and down the coastline and also caught the ferry from the habour to Fowey from where we did more walking. I would certainly recommend the property and the town of Mevagissey.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janebarne...
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My husband and 10 year old little boy recently stayed at The Old Shop and we can't recommend it enough. It was spotless and fully equipped just like your own home. The fittings are of a high quality and the standard of comfort very high. Mevagissey has everything you need for a great holiday either with children or without. The accommodation is central to the village and if you dont want to use your car you can leave it and just enjoy Mevagissey for the whole week. the owners of the cottage are very helpful and friendly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieE206
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

There is everything you need in this stylish and modern cottage, the layout is brilliant and it's very comfortable, it's quite spacious, I love the quiant shop frontage. The living room is wonderful, quality furnishings throughout. It was good for us as a couple but there is a sofa bed if there are more of you. Great parking directly opposite. The owner John was extremely helpful, we booked very last minute and couldn't fault the booking and information provided for our stay.

It's a great place to base yourself for St Austell, The Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project

The village itself is lovely with some nice shops and pubs, the Fountain was our favourite. There are some nice coastal walks some of the hopills are not for the faint hearted

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mattandlo...
East Midlands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at The Old Shop!”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Arrived back home on Saturday (17/9/16)after a fantastic week at The Old Shop apartment. Tastefully decorated to a high standard and spotlessly clean,it is fully equipped with everything you need for a self-catering holiday and very comfortable - a real home from home. It is conveniently located within walking distance of pubs, shops, restaurants, and the car park sits just across the road. We definitely made the right choice in booking this accommodation and we highly recommend staying there. Loved The Old Shop and loved Mevagissey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;