We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the room with the best view”
Review of Honeycombe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honeycombe House
Ranked #7 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Val and Ian greet us at the door to a very warm and friendly atmosphere, which continued in the Albert room, a fully appointed room complete with ample size balcony overlooking Mevagissey harbour, georgeous at night. The breakfast of ample choice , try the recommended sausages , begins the day , many brochures to browse in seperate sitting room , books and tv-video also. Coming back from a busy day all toiletries , coffee and tea and biscuits had been replaced , as was the bottled water . An end to a perfect day in a comfy bed . The ambiance of a perfect holiday is for you to try and prove me wrong ? Ken Bainbridge

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenofessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 418 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2010

I stayed in the single room with separate shower and toilet - a quick dash across the hallway in the gown (provided) got me to a pristine shower room - very well maintained and modern. Fantastic view from the breakfast room - over the harbour and bay. Good quality throughout - Sony TVs, local jams, tea and coffee, and bottled water. Some nice touches with fudge and useful restaurant guide. Very firendly and helpful owners have managed to balance a family home with their business. Beware of a challenging uphill walk and very strong door closers/slammers! Fairly minor irritations to a very pleasant and good value stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

i was lucky enought to find this lovely jewel for my trip to Cornwall. I was not disappointed at all. Val and Ian were helpful, kind and courteous hosts who looked out for me but never infringed on my privacy or enjoyment of their home.
Mevagissisey is a jewel and Honeycombe House sits overlooking it in a brilliant location.
From my intial contact to arrival and sad(for me) departure it was a terrific experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I returned to Honeycombe House this year after visiting for the 1st time last year. Val and Ian again made me feel so welcome and are always happy to do everything they can to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. Having visited Mevagissey since my childhood Honeycombe is in the perfect location with a view that I never tire of. Rooms are spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are fab! I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou_fieldsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Honeycombe house has a great location right on the harbour front in Mevagissey, the parking is not ideal, we left our car in the street behind the house and walked down in the rain, but this can't be helped, parking anywhere in Mevagissey is a nightmare. It's an easy and pleasant walk down to the village. Mevagissey is a gorgeous place and worth the inconvenience of the lack of parking. We got a warm welcome from Ian (he even carried our bags up the stairs). We stayed in the Wordsworth room and it was comfortable with every amenity (tea, coffee, hot chocolate, bottled water, biscuits). One small disadvantage was the EXTREMELY small bathroom. The small breakfast room is at the front of the house overlooking the harbour, the view is amazing. The breakfast was adequate. We would stay again, but would choose either Victoria or Albert rooms next time, the view from Wordsworth is not much to write home about, and the bathroom was just too small for comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Us2Aussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We found Honeycombe House by typing 'hotels in Mevagissey' at the Google prompt. The website said it all as soon as we read it, but the photographs sealed it for us as our first choice. Without a doubt this guest house has to be the cleanest, friendliest and best located that we have ever stayed in, and that was before we sampled their breakfast, which was too good to miss. Car parking was just up a short path onto a quiet cul-de-sac with plenty of free overnight space.
We stayed for five nights, four in the Albert room with fantastic views of the harbour and its own private balcony to take in the views of a fishing port at work. Due to previous bookings we stayed in the Wordsworth room for our last night, which was just as charming, still with a side view of the sea.
Val and Ian do a wonderful job and it shows. The whole place sparkles. Shower room and toilet are spotlessly cleaned every day. Towels and bedding are of the highest quality. More tea and coffee provided in our room than we could drink. The sitting room has masses of information and history available for local research or interest. We used Mevagissey as a base because so many places are within a day visit distance but we mainly returned to the village for an evening meal in one of the many good restaurants. Ian said that they were as good if not better than Stein's in Padstow. He was right.
Our hosts Val and Ian made our stay so special as it was our Ruby Wedding at the weekend. They are both down to earth, very 'chatty' and approachable. They even moved all our luggage across to our next room while we were out for the day. Such a pleasure to stay with a caring family. It was with heavy hearts that we left. Five stars from Joan and myself.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoomshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We have stayed several times at Honeycombe House in Mevagissey. It is situated at the top of the hill with town 5 minutes walk away. The sea and harbour views from the balcony are spectacular. Ian & Val are very welcoming and the breakfast is second to none, as is the dining room with its giant windows overlooking the sea. Clean, fresh & airy, these really are rooms with a view. We will be returning! I'd recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SomersetBelladonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#6 of 34 in Mevagissey
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Little Cornish B&B
The Little Cornish B&B
#2 of 34 in Mevagissey
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Parsonage Mevagissey Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Wild Air Guest House
Wild Air Guest House
#4 of 34 in Mevagissey
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buckingham House
Buckingham House
#10 of 34 in Mevagissey
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#5 of 34 in Mevagissey
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeycombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeycombe House

Address: 61 Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Hotel Class:4 star — Honeycombe House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honeycombe House is a family run Victorian house situated a few minutes walk from the centre of the 14th Century picturesque working fishing village of Mevagissey. It is situated near the top of Polkirt Hill enjoying the most stunning views over both the inner and outer harbours of the village and miles of Cornish coastline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honeycombe House Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing