We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B with fantastic views”
Review of Honeycombe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honeycombe House
Ranked #4 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B with fantastic views”
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Recently returned home from a 4 night stay at Honeycombe House. This is a great B&B in a wonderful location with lovely rooms, stunning views, a friendly welcome from Ian & Val and a really good English breakfast - what more could you want? The room we stayed in (Wordsworth) was clean, spacious and well-stocked, with an en-suite shower room, tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and not forgetting the binoculars to enjoy the sea-views. Although Honeycombe House does not have its own parking, this is not a problem as there is ample parking just a 2 minute walk away and space to unload luggage right outside. Mevagissey is a lovely little Cornish fishing village which we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TitoBeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    42
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
237
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glos
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights at the beginning of august.

what can i say.

What an amazing B&B. The rooms were clean modern and the views fantastic.
we stayed in the wordsworth room and loved it, great sea view.
Very nice breakfast that gives you lots of engery for the nice coastal walks.

Ian and Val were very welcoming and gave us great advise on what to do and see in mevagissey.

Want to go back and this time for longer !!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhat2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bideford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

What a superb Bed & Breakfast. The rooms were clean and the views fantastic. Ian cooked a yummy breakfast sourced by local suppliers. The parking in a road behind the house was accessed by a path and very easy and there was an area where you could park and drop off your luggage. As it was our Ruby Wedding Anniversary we were touched by the card and bottle of Cava in our room on arrival. This detail to attention is very rarely found in a large hotel!! We will definitely be visiting there again as we came away feeling very relaxed. It is also an ideal place for visitors on foreign travel to call in.

One of the highlights was our ferry crossing to Fowey which took about 35 minutes each way and left from the harbour near the lighthouse. We also visited the Lost Gardens of Haligon and loved the "Jungle". We actually ran out of time and have the Eden Project and the lovely coastal walks on our itinery for next year!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BidefordGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Spent 4 nights recently at Honeycombe House. It is an immaculately decorated B & B. The views from our balcony and the dining room are absolutley wonderful. Ian and Val should be congratulated on their presentation. It provided us with exactly the type of accomodation we wanted despite the en suite being a bit cramped and my failure to find the hairdryer - but then I never asked!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlwenNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stayed 3 nights here in June 2009. The views from our room balcony were stunning. Honeycombe House is set high on Polkirt Hill overlooking Mevagissey harbour and the Cornish Coast. . The room had every facility you could hope for including binoculars so we could appreciate those views even more! Our hosts Ian and Val could not have been more friendly and helpful. The bed was really comfotable, the food was excellent, most of it being sourced from local suppliers, and Ian and Val always found time for a chat about what to do or where to go for a good meal. We would gladly recommend this B & B to anyone looking to stay in Mevagissey.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mevafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Honeycombe House is hard to beat. With its stunning location and unbeatable views over Mevagissey harbour, spotlessly clean rooms, welcoming hosts and the only B&B we've visited where the teapots don't drip, you'd be hard pushed to find anywhere better. There are lots of places to visit nearby, including the Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project, and its position on the Coastal Path means there are lots of beautiful walks right on the doorstep too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Found this place on the internet. I was in a single room with a separate toilet and shower room down the stairs. The toilet and spacious shower room were exclusively for my use as all the other rooms were ensuite. To make the journey of a few stairs in a modest fashion I was provided with white slippers and a white robe (looked brand new). Lovely toiletries provided, the bed was very comfortable and the white bedding was spotless.
Breakfast was provided in the dining room with fabulous views over the harbour. The owners were very friendly and welcoming.
The only, very small, downside was that there was no carpark. You can stop outside the b and b to unload and then park in a residential area above the b and b. From here you walk down a steep footpath to the front door. This wasn't a problem and the area feels very safe so no problems leaving the car parked but it would have been nice to have the car where I could see it. Still this certainly wouldn't put me off going back because it was such a treat!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.2 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#3 of 34 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#1 of 34 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wild Air Guest House
Wild Air Guest House
#7 of 34 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeycombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeycombe House

Property: Honeycombe House
Address: 61 Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Hotel Class:4 star — Honeycombe House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honeycombe House is a family run Victorian house situated a few minutes walk from the centre of the 14th Century picturesque working fishing village of Mevagissey. It is situated near the top of Polkirt Hill enjoying the most stunning views over both the inner and outer harbours of the village and miles of Cornish coastline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honeycombe House Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing