We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuinely, a really nice stay!”
Review of Honeycombe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honeycombe House
Ranked #5 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Genuinely, a really nice stay!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was our first time staying at Honeycome House and I can safely say it won't be our last. The room we stayed in was lovely and it had an amazing balcony view over the harbour. That combined with the great service we received from Ian made our stay truly enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry9412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    42
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
246
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have been coming to Honeycombe House every year for about the last 6 years now. Before I discovered this Cornish Gem, I had stayed in other B&B in Mevagissey, but never found one that made me want to re-book. Now I have found Honeycombe House I would not want to stay any where else. The house is old but charming. Ian and Val have made a wonderful job of modernising it without diminshing it's original beauty and charm. Folk who moan about the hill - it is Cornawall it is very hilly hence the fantastic views! Food is plentiful and delicious. I have always found Val and Ian extremely accomodating. Rooms are spotless. This B&B as far as I am concerned is the best in Mevagissey and I love it! I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Honeycombe twice now as I definitely wanted to go again after my first visit. Rooms are spotless and comfortable with lovely touches here and there which shows the attention the hosts pay to detail. Outstanding views from the breakfast room and great food to boot. Excellent value for money - a great spot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shillings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Val & Ian made us very welcome. Everything you could possibly need was in our room right down to the smallest detail.
Our room had a balcony which was a nice bonus and we had fantastic views of the harbour & village. The breakfast room had the same views and it great to be able to watch the comings and goings in the harbour while having breakfast. The breakfast its self was worth the journey. Ian & Val served up a cooked breakfast that kept us going all day plus there was a great selection if you didn't want the cooked option.
Thank you for making our stay very enjoyable

Room Tip: We stayed in Albert which had great views plus the bonus of a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at Honeycombe House, where we were treated to a first class experience. Superb location with wonderful views over the harbour and town.

Rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds. Ours overlooked the harbour and was just magic. Plenty of tea/coffee and little extras! Everywhere was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was excellent, great choice, plenty of it and simply, the best views imaginable.

Ian & Val were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We will return - sooner rather than later!
Dave & Sue

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, overlooking the harbour. Magic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Dave619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My adult daughter and I were treated to a wonderful time at the Honeycombe House in Mevagissey. We were very glad that we spent an extra day at the Honeycombe House because of the great service and the location at the top of the hill overlooking the beautiful coastal town. Every morning the breakfast was fantastic as it was in the porch overlooking the town. Our room was the most comfortable and the breakfast was the best of our entire trip. When we decided to go into the village for dinner and it started to rain, Ian was right there to pick us up so we did not have to walk in the rain.

The only shortcoming was that I wish that we could have spent more time there. Truly the best B and B experience that I have had in the UK after several such trips. I highly recommend it and hope to get back there to spend more time next year.

Ian and Val where great and gracious hosts. Made us feel right at home.

Tom and Emily Tonniges

Room Tip: Email Ian and Val and let them know your needs and they will do everything possible to take care of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Myself and my partner took my mum and her friend for a 3 night stay in Honeycombe House last weekend and from the minute we arrived until the time we left we couldn't stop smiling !, it's always hard booking something you see on a google search, you just have to take pot luck but this B&B was the nicest we've ever stayed in, not only do you get a choice of anything & everything for breakfast but the view whilst eating is simply breathtaking.

The rooms were lovely and clean with lots of tea, coffee & biscuits.

Ian & Val were very friendly and welcoming too, we will definitely be returning to Honeycombe House and Mevagissey, they are both beautiful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#4 of 34 in Mevagissey
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#3 of 34 in Mevagissey
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeycombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeycombe House

Property: Honeycombe House
Address: 61 Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Hotel Class:4 star — Honeycombe House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honeycombe House is a family run Victorian house situated a few minutes walk from the centre of the 14th Century picturesque working fishing village of Mevagissey. It is situated near the top of Polkirt Hill enjoying the most stunning views over both the inner and outer harbours of the village and miles of Cornish coastline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honeycombe House Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing