We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Lovely B&B”
Review of Honeycombe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honeycombe House
Ranked #5 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really Lovely B&B”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Honeycombe House overnight while visiting Mevagissey. Val and Ian were very quick to reply to our accommodation inquiry, and our stay was fabulous. We felt very welcome and the facilities were amazing. We were impressed with the attention to detail and the local touches, such as cornish fudge on the tea tray. The breakfast room has amazing views over the harbour and our breakfast was delicious and they provided us with many choices. We will definitely be recommending for friends and family to stay and will be back very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristydonohoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    42
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
243
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked two nights and I have to say the booking process was a piece of cake. The Breakfast Room has a fantastic view, which coupled with the breakfast provided a great start to the day. Our room was one of two rooms that had a balcony overlooking Mevagissey harbour and if we stayed again we would definitely want one of these rooms again.
In short this B&B was great value for money!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengoed, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Val and Ian’s care and attention to their guests is the icing on the very lovely cake that is the Honeycombe House B&B in Cornwall. They know how to show interest in their guests without intruding on their stay at this lovely place. And we can’t remember when one of our hosts carried our bags up to our room for us.
Everyone mentions the views. There are great views of the Mevagissey Harbour and village on one side and across Mevagissey Bay and the English Channel on the other. From your own balcony, if you’re in the Albert or Victoria Rooms, you can spend the time watching the comings and goings in Mevagissey a few hundred yards downhill from you, or wonder at the tough life of the fishermen on the little boats nipping in and out of the port right next to the shops.
Our room was nicely appointed, although the toilet/shower area was a little cramped. There's tea, coffee and chocolate drinks available (along with some sweets) and fresh milk on offer if you don't like the UHT version that's the norm in most rooms.
There a wide choice for breakfast which is served in a long room with big picture windows overlooking the port and Mevagissey Bay.
Our three nights there were nice and comfortable. We’d stay there again, especially as we now have year-long passes to nearby Eden Project. And if Val and Ian ever think of installing lifts to get you up from the road to the house, I hope they don’t hesitate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vimal1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A lovely house in a superb location with stunning views from the breakfast room. A warm welcome awaits you on arrival giving you that instant homely feel. The rooms are well equipped with toiletries and various hot beverages, there wasn't anything I could think of that wasn't provided. Overall I was very impressed with my stay at Honeycombe House and will definitely return again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackieeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our first visit to Cornwall, and a shame it was only for a short stay and for a funeral. We will definitely be back. This is a beautiful clean and tidy B&B overlooking Mevagissey harbor. It was nice to have breakfast overlooking the Cornish coast. Ian and Val are great host and made us feel most welcome. There is a wide choice at breakfast, private parking close by. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horsey70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is second stay at Honeycombe House, and it did not dissapoint. All all the rooms are lovely, I was lucky this time to have one with a balcony and stunning harbour and sea view.
Ian and Val are great hosts, and I will definately come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A great find in the beautiful village of Mevagissey. A lovely B&B with superb views over the quaint harbour. Rooms are comfortable and the breakfast was delightful. Val and Ian were helpful through the booking and during our stay. We will definitely return and recommend to friends.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.2 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#4 of 34 in Mevagissey
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#2 of 34 in Mevagissey
492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wild Air Guest House
Wild Air Guest House
#7 of 34 in Mevagissey
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeycombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeycombe House

Property: Honeycombe House
Address: 61 Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Hotel Class:4 star — Honeycombe House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honeycombe House is a family run Victorian house situated a few minutes walk from the centre of the 14th Century picturesque working fishing village of Mevagissey. It is situated near the top of Polkirt Hill enjoying the most stunning views over both the inner and outer harbours of the village and miles of Cornish coastline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honeycombe House Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing