We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best View in Mevagissey!”
Review of Honeycombe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honeycombe House
Ranked #5 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Best View in Mevagissey!”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This 19th century B&B is one in a million! Ideal location, caring owners, and the view overlooking the harbour while eating breakfast is an experience in itself. The only negative we experienced is that the walls are thin, so if you're a noisy traveller, you could very well risk upsetting other guests. Hats off to Ian and Val for making our stay an incredible experience, and for the best local bacon ever!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    42
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
246
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I came upon Honeycombe House by chance, while looking for other accommodation at short notice and exploring on Google Earth. Booking for the following 3 nights was easy. Ian was very courteous, friendly and helpful on the phone and took a nominal £45 deposit to secure the booking on both sides. Clear directions and instructions for parking were sent by email and off we set. Our room (Victoria) enjoyed one of the best and stunning views possible of Mevagissey harbour, village and surrounding coastline from the balcony (the binoulars were a nice touch!). Accommodation was clean, fresh and very comfortable and the house itself was charmingly presented. Breakfast was a highlight for both its excellence and the superb breakfast room views. We felt our hosts Ian and Val were always available but not intrusive - a great balance. Highly recommended, and we shall be making a point of going back.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Another very enjoyable break at Honeycombe House. It is such a lovely place to stay, The room was spotless, breakfast was great and the owners Ian and Val made us feel very welcome as always (maybe this is one of the reasons we return year after year!) And this trip was made even more memorable as on arrival we were advised that the Mevagissey Christmas lights were being switched on that evening. So we wrapped up warm and joined in with all the festive cheer down at the Harbour - a big recommendation for anyone looking for a some festive fun early December next Year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goucestershire
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2011

What a lovely weekend we had at Honeycombe House. Ian and Val are perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. The room was spotless with lots of little extras which were appreciated. The Breakfast was excellent and the view from the breakfast room across the harbour is fantastic.
Such a good location and I will certainly be recommending Honeycombe House to my friends.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balconies are first class with outside seating
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I can't fault the cleanliness or the breakfast at Honeycombe House. The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. Yes, the bathroom was tiny and you had to sit sideways on the loo, but that's no big deal. The flush was noisy, but without a full house, not a problem. The toiletries were great! (Cotton wool balls specially apreciated!) Ian served generous breakfasts; my partner was delighted with the well-cooked sausages (yes, we did have to request them the night before!) and crispy bacon; I was impressed by the range of fresh and dried fruit.

And of course, the view (we had "Albert" room, on the corner) is second to none.

So why was it an uncomfortable experience on the whole and why would I not return, nor recommend Honeycombe?

First, it was lucky I rang to let them know we'd be arriving late, because they had no trace of our booking. Ian said the lady I spoke to first time couldn't possibly have been Val, because "we always take a deposit", whereas the person I'd booked with had told me not to worry about it, because they were never busy in mid-December (a friendly and trusting attitude I found attractive!) In discussing what might have happened, then and on the morning we left, he must have mentioned twenty times that We Always Take A Deposit.. It got to sound like an obsession and didn't cut it as a substitute for "I'm sorry we had no booking for you.." especially since we were handing over our plastic at the time and clearly not about to do a runner.. It didn't help that when I called about our arrival time and discovered we had no booking, I was forced into haggling about the price for the room.. That in itself made me uneasy.

It didn't matter whose was the error. The mix-up could have been dismissed and a good time had by all. But it wasn't.

But what really made us feel unwelcome was having a member of Ian's family (which lives "over the shop") bang so loudly on our ceiling on our first night that at first we wondered if some heavy furniture had fallen over. The second time it happened, we realised it was a protest about noise. Yes, it was close on midnight. But : Did we have the TV or the radio on loud? Were we playing loud music? Were we having a party? (as only two wild 50-somethings can!)

No: We were talking.

From then on, we felt uncomfortable and unwelcome.

I raised the banging with Ian when we left. He said "sound carries in old buildings" and he had told his family to "knock" on the floor if someone is being noisy. But we were the only guests and it was the last weekend they were open. Could they not have found some earplugs or gritted their teeth, for a couple of nights? I just don't think you can tell your paying guests not to talk after 10! That almighty hammering on the ceiling actually alarmed us; that is not the way to make people feel welcome.

(On the second evening, there were teenagers rushing about squealing until lateish; we didn't mind, but did find it rather rich, given the night before..)

There were other, smaller things which made me feel awkward.. When I confessed that we'd got mud from a walk on one of the flannels, rather than dismiss it graciously, Ian's response was "That probably won't come out. I'll probably have to throw it away.".. WAY to make your guests feel at home! I could mention others, but all in all..

A strange place!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Annith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeycombehouse, Owner at Honeycombe House, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
This guest rang me on her day of arrival to let me know her arrival time, but as she pointed out in her review, we had no record of her booking, and we were in fact closed for the season. She was quite insistent that she had booked with us several weeks previously, for which I apologised several times that we had no trace of a booking, and tried to explain that we ask for a deposit with a booking, for no other reason than to try and explain to her that she had not in fact booked with us. She had no written confirmation either. She still wanted to stay with us, so I agreed to open for the weekend to try and make amends for the situation. I told her the tariff for the two nights and the only haggling about price came from her,as she wanted to pay considerably less, to which I agreed under the circumstances! I have subsequently made enquiries and discovered that she did book with another B&B in the village!
I am very sorry that she was made to feel unwelcome staying with with us, as at no time did we indicate that guests cannot talk after 10.00 p.m! We want our guests to enjoy their stay, and we normally seem to hit the mark judging by the number of recommendations and repeat bookings that we get. On this occasion, this particular guest and her partner talked and laughed so loudly that they kept us all awake on the top floor from 10.30 p.m onwards, and we did indeed grin and bear the noise until 12.15, at which point we were all fed up and hoped to go to sleep! A member of my family did bang on the floor, for no other reason than to hopefully point out the excessive noise without embarrassing them face to face. If other guests had been staying, I think there would have been banging on the walls as well!
With reference to the dirty flannel, I told her not to worry and that if it was too dirty, it might not come clean, and it could be thrown away, no problem! When we cleaned the room, she had clearly used the flannel to clean the mud from her walking boots as it was black!
All in all, I wish that I had not bothered to help her out on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband, son, sister and I stayed with Ian and Val for five nights in October. Their Honeycombe House was the perfect place to spend our visit. It is beautifully situated with stunning views of the harbor and surrounding countryside, easy access to the Southwest Coast Pathway and is a short walk to the village. The House itself is kept spic and span, and has a warm, inviting atmosphere. Val and Ian looked after our every need and even a few wants. We look forward to our next visit to Mevagissey and Honeycombe House.
Betty Garrett

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethgarrett2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

stayed here for our honeymoon last year,going back next week for my 40th,can,t wait! an amazing place to locate!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delhampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#4 of 34 in Mevagissey
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#2 of 34 in Mevagissey
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeycombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeycombe House

Property: Honeycombe House
Address: 61 Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Hotel Class:4 star — Honeycombe House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honeycombe House is a family run Victorian house situated a few minutes walk from the centre of the 14th Century picturesque working fishing village of Mevagissey. It is situated near the top of Polkirt Hill enjoying the most stunning views over both the inner and outer harbours of the village and miles of Cornish coastline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honeycombe House Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing