We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - height of relaxation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portmellon Cove Guest House
Ranked #12 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful - height of relaxation!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

After seeing Portmellon Cove on the web, we thought we knew exactly what to expect - when we arrived we still experienced that first impression wow-factor! A perfectly relaxing holiday, made all the more perfect by the beautifully appointed room, view and hospitality. We could not have wished for for more. We will recommend to associates, friends and family. By far the best accommodation we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: For pure indulgence, choose the Eden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
130
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a find Portmellon was. I wanted something extra special for my husbands 50th Birthday celebrations and this was definitely it! Our two grown up children shared the Lanhydrock room and we had the Eden room where we enjoyed spectacular views of Portmellon cove. The room was huge with an amazing bathroom which had underfloor heating and was a treat to step on when getting out of the bath. The rooms were spotless and cleaned daily. There were endless little luxuries and if anything was missing then it was not too much trouble for Roy or Sarah to get it for you. The breakfasts were plentiful with lots of choice and eating in the wonderful dining room overlooking the cove was spectacular. Sarah's cream teas & homemade orange marmalade were so tasty that we brought some home. The location was perfect for a short trip to the Eden project, Lost gardens of Heligan(an absolute must) & Mevagissey. If eating out, the Kingswood was wonderful and the local pub was within walking distance and although offered a limited food menu was cheap and really nice. We can't wait to return and the sun shone!!

Room Tip: If you want extra luxury including a small settee with the feel of a small lounge then go for the Ed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine504167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights for our anniversary in January & it was brilliant. Sarah & Roy were great hosts, they couldn't do enough & were easy to talk to. They do a fantastic job at making you welcome. We stayed in the Heligan room because the Eden room was having a refit but it didn't make any difference because i think it was just as nice with everything one could need. there was even a mini bar & bath robes & heated flooring in the bathroom. The room has a patio door going out to the garden which is a bit bare in January but still nice to sit a while in the sun overlooking the cove. The breakfast was great, kept us going throughout the day. The only thing if i wanted to be really picky was that i had to a bit of work to do on the laptop & i couldn't get wifi reception in the room but it wasn't a problem to me because i went upstairs to the lounge where it was fine, after speaking to Roy he said he would get it looked at. Would definitely stay again if i'm in cornwall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie-mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just spent 4 nights at the Portmellon Cove Guest House and Tripadvisor has come up trumps again. What a fantastic B&B in a perfect location. Our room was spotlessly clean and extremely well appointed and I've never seen such a well stocked mini bar! The heated bathroom tiles were also a pleasant surprise, especially at this time of the year. Our hosts Sarah and Roy were very friendly and kindly booked us into the local restaurants and suggested where to dine - we thoroughly recommend the Salamander in Mevagissey. It has been 36 years since we last visited this part of Cornwall and plan to come back very soon having found the perfect place to stay.

Steve and Jan Andrews

Room Tip: We stayed in the Helligan room but they are all on the same level and have similar views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked our trip to Cornwall the day before we went, and we are so lucky to have found this gem of a Guest House. The views are breath taking, even if the weather is dismal! We would love to return in the warmer and sunnier months- this is the only thing that would have improved our stay, but at the very end of September it's a bit ambitious to expect sunshine! The hospitality we received was fantastic, even though we were hardly there as we were busy exploring some of the wonderful sights that Cornwall has to offer. There are a range of breakfast options, all of which are scrumptious, and you get to enjoy the view from the dining room as you eat. The mini bar and dressing gowns in our room were an unexpected surprise which we took advantage of! The facilities are just wonderful because the attention to detail is spot on, Sarah and Roy have invested a lot of thought in making your trip special. Everything is clean and tidy, whilst still remaining homely. We felt really comfortable and cosy when we wanted to relax at the end of the day whilst still enjoying the view from our bed. The local amenties in Mevagissey are a short 10-15 minute walk away where you can sit in a variety of quaint little pubs or bars which offer fresh fish and local produce on their menus, or you can just purchase a cornish pasty from a choice of bakeries. The locals are really friendly, and the whole atmosphere in general is just so welcoming. We visited St Austell, Truro, Falmouth, Newquay and St Ives which only took 40 minutes in the car. There is still so much that we'd like to see! We would highly recommend a stay at Portmellon Cove Guest House to all couples. You'll love it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magpie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Have just returned from 4 days in Portmellon Cove to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and it certainly lived up to our expectations from the website. The Heligan room had it's own balcony and gorgeous views over the beautifully kept garden and the whole house was immaculately maintained. We started our stay with a cream tea [ the homemade scones were delicious] and then champagne and strawberries on our anniversary. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The mini bar and bath robes were a pleasant surprise and the breakfasts were excellent. Would recommend this as a good base to explore the local area - including the Eden Project ...and hope to return ..maybe for our 2nd anniversary !.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have stayed at many top rated hotels and guest houses, but this is certainly in our top two. The Eden room is not only a great fully loaded room, but with fantastic views down into Portmellen Cove. Sarah and Roy have provided everything you could need, from top class room refinements to the great breakfast choice and quality. You have to try Sarah's marmalade ( with and without whiskey, mixed in it of course, not as a side orde). If you want a quality quiet break, this is it. Short distance to good restaurants in Mevagissey. Will we be back? Yes.

Room Tip: All rooms are quality, but Eden has the four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donegal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.8 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,518 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
872 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmellon Cove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmellon Cove Guest House

Property: Portmellon Cove Guest House
Address: 121 Portmellon Park, Mevagissey PL26 6XD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Portmellon Cove Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star, breakfast-award winning, no-smoking, licensed accommodation overlooking the peaceful, sandy cove of Portmellon, near Mevagissey, Cornwall. All 3 luxurious en-suite rooms (four poster, king-size double and twin/double) have sea views, mini-bars, free wireless internet and a private door into the beautiful garden. Close to the Eden Project, the Lost Gardens of Heligan, coastal path and cycleways. An ideal base for exploring Cornwall. Ample, free parking. Pub nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Portmellon Cove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmellon Cove Guest House Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing