We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cafe”
Review of Auld Shebean - CLOSED

Auld Shebean
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a lovely time here eating crab sandwich toasted tea cake and chocolate cake very friendly staff lovely clean premises would defiantly come here again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I tried to write a review for here a while ago but has never been published for some reason. So thought why should they miss out on my review. We visited here after looking for rebeccas tea room which sadly closed, but we found better. Great service great fish and chips and great decor inside. We drank our tea with china cups and the milk came in small milk bottles which was a lovely touch. We will be back great job.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly - great Pirate history!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Lovely owners, so friendly & helpful - very interesting history of the building- original owned by a famous Pirate - has trap door to the sea!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and warm atmosphere”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Visiting Mevagissey on a warm May afternoon and looking for somewhere to have a cup of tea and cake we came across this coffee house and were met with a warm friendly greeting - we enjoyed tea out of fine china cups and lemon drizzle cake - we loved the idea of milk being served in small versions of the milk bottle brought back memories!! well worth a visit

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dog friendly cafe with Yummy cakes!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We found this lovely dog friendly café on a very hot day when we needed a snack and some shade for our dog.
I had Coffee and lemon drizzle cake, my partner hot chocolate and chocolate fudge cake. The Costa coffee was great and the cakes yummy! and were excellent value for money.
The friendly staff made us and our pet very welcome.
I do hope this lovely café prospers it certainly deserves to do.
Highly recommended, we'll be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auld Shebean also viewed

 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing