We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the Tremarne Hotel was a stick of rock, it would have quality stamped through the middle of it!”
Review of Tremarne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tremarne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If the Tremarne Hotel was a stick of rock, it would have quality stamped through the middle of it!”
Reviewed October 8, 2010

When you choose somewhere to go to for the first time on holiday, it is always done with a certain amount of trust in the web-site the hotel have produced, together with being reinforced by any first hand opinions that can be obtained via web-sites such as Trip Advisor. Based on the information available to us, we chose a lengthy 9 night stay at the Tremarne Hotel in Mevagissey in late September in the hope that our expectations would be fulfilled. They certainly were!

We received a warm, personal and very sincere welcome from all the staff there and this extended throughout our stay at the Tremarne as we grew to know Michael, Fitz, Norman and the rest of the staff more each day. Nothing was too much trouble for them to ensure our stay was peaceful, comfortable and untroubled. We stayed in the Portmellon Suite which had its own balcony overlooking the bay – I’m not going to sing the praises of this room anymore for fear that readers of this review will book it up and then we will not be able to return there!

The food was excellent with good choice at breakfast; you chose your evening meal after breakfast from a comprehensive menu in order that they could order fresh ingredients that day; and the food cooked for the evening meal was both well prepared and delicious.

I probably don’t wish to be all that sociable on holiday with others I don’t know, but the infectious enthusiasm of Michael, Fitz and Norman and their staff to provide you a laugh and a joke at appropriate times alongside their exceptional service and quality, makes it difficult not to join in with the general light-hearted conversations before, during and after meal-times. With regards to comments made below (‘Nice place but not for us’), I don’t agree that you have to be a repeat guest or of outgoing personality to welcome social interaction – we were certainly neither – and there is plenty of opportunity for quiet time with partners both at meal-times and in the comfortable lounge area before and after meals.

The Tremarne Hotel is a high quality small hotel, worthy of the recent ‘Best Hotel’ accolades bestowed on it, and we will certainly be returning at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chappersMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    43
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
313
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

It has taken us a couple of weeks to decide how to critique Tremarne, and have even considered not posting anything at all but then decided that other potential visitors needed to have a balanced view before deciding whether this was the place for them. We booked Tremarne based on Tripadvisor feedback which, apart from a couple of reviews, was highly complementary. Don’t get me wrong, we had a lovely stay in Mevagissey and were made very welcome at Tremarne but the review from Essexgirl99 was more to our way of thinking in saying it wasn’t the ‘hotel’ they were expecting. It is the size of Tremarne that makes it feel more like a guesthouse than a hotel – not the service. We were very lucky to have booked the Portmellon Suite for our first couple of nights – and it was beautiful, however we had to move to a standard room for our last night and that really should be marketed only as a single because we had to take turns in sitting on the bed to allow the other one to move !
Downstairs, the bar is very small with seating around the edge of the room so there is no opportunity to sit and have a quiet drink, just the two of you – it is the place where other guests gather before dinner and the owners very openly tell you when you arrive that they collect at least 4 couples in the bar before seating you for dinner. That is fine if you are a sociable type who is happy to mingle and talk to other guests, but if you wanted a quiet (and, dare I say it, romantic) getaway then this isn’t the place for you. We chose to take dinner in the hotel based on the reviews of other Tripadvisors and were not disappointed at the quality of the food, although slightly disappointed at the lack of local fish on the menu (after all we had chosen Mevagissey because it is a working fishing village). Again, the dining room is fairly small and the tables close together so it is impossible to have a private conversation or not to overhear the adjacent tables’ conversations (or even those at the other end) – however hard you try. It was clear that the clientele who were there at the same time as us were either repeat guests or people of outgoing personality who welcomed the social interaction and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that, it is just not for us. As with all other reviewers, we cannot say anything negative about Fitz – he was delightful, a perfect frontman for the hotel/guesthouse and Michael was a great (slightly more serious) foil for him. So don’t be put off by our review if you enjoy meeting new people and sharing your holiday with others (including at breakfast & dinner), however, if you like your own space and are less comfortable about being thrown into a social environment then this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Beachbumsalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tremarne1, Owner at Tremarne Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
We are sorry that our Hotel did not meet all of your expectations and are very grateful for your feedback – good honest ‘balanced reviews’ are much more helpful than misguided ones.

We are so pleased that the Portmellon Room met all of your expectations. Unfortunately this room type was only available for 2 out of the 3 nights requested, the only other room available for your last nights stay was one of our Standard Doubles, the smaller of our four room types, which was explained to you at the time of your reservation.

We do not overstate the size of our Hotel and we can assure you, and our recent unannounced AA Hotel inspection and grading confirms, that all of our accommodation and facilities more than meets the required criteria offering accommodation for all tastes and pockets.

The AA have also confirmed that all of our Standard Rooms can be marketed for double occupancy and that we offer all the facilities and services to be classified as a Hotel and not a ‘Guesthouse’ as you would like to suggest. There are a number of fundamental differences which allows us to trade as a Hotel and not a B&B or guesthouse – unlike some proprietors who do not offer these facilities but still trade under the misguided name of a ‘Hotel.

Our bar, as one would expect, is where guests like to meet in the evening for pre dinner drinks and talk about their days experiences, we make no apologies for promoting this friendly atmosphere, but we also realise that not all guests want this social interaction and like their own space, which is also important. We therefore provide quieter areas such as the guest lounge, which is larger than the bar, or the front conservatory for more intimate pre dinner drinks.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the quality of the food provided. Although our menus are changed on a regular basis, having recently been awarded the C.H.E.F.S. (Cornwall Healthier Eating & Food Safety Award) we are more than happy to take on board your suggestion regarding the choice of fish and will increase the choice offered on a more regular basis.

It is true to say that at the time of your stay many of our clientele were repeat guests but there were also those, who like yourselves, were first time visitors who have already booked a return visit.

Although there were some aspects of your stay that you were not entirely happy with we sincerely hope that you will consider a return visit at another time in the not too distant future.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Our first time at the Tremarne Hotel. We couldn't believe all those wonderful TA reviews, but it really is as good as all those people say. The hotel was comfortable, clean and extremely well run. The restaurant food was very good with unfussy but efficient service. We particularly liked the system of choosing from the dinner menu after breakfast, so ALL meals get cooked to order with fresh ingredients.
But best of all were the people, both staff and other guests. Michael, Fitz and Norman were always on hand offering help and advice. If Fitz was about, you could always be certain of lots of laughter. At the pre-dinner gatherings in the bar, we met guests who had returned to the Tremarne many times, so the whole thing was like a big family party. Will we be back? We are already saving the pennies!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveG-050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Just returned from our third visit to the Tremarne. Michael, Norman and Fitz were as welcoming as ever and made us feel like we were visiting friends. The hotel is immaculate and the rooms always look freshly decorated and stylish. The bathroom of our superior double room was light and modern with powerfull shower over the bath. Comfortable bed and quiet location make for a good nights sleep.
We ate in the restaurant on 3 of our 5 nights there and the food was lovely - freshly prepared and homemade deserts.
Only a short walk down to the town, plenty of nice places to eat there if you fancy a change of scene, although the food in the hotel is just as good as the restaurants in the town (better than many). Good for a stroll in the evening, just remember its all uphill on the way back!
Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We have been back to the Tremarne for the last four years and it never fails us in our expectations, superbly clean and comfortable, the food is excellent, Michael, fitz and the alL the Staff are very frendly and welcomming. There is nothing that is to much trouble. This Hotel deserves its excellent rating and we consider it an exceptional place to holiday. we will be returning

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 384logo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We chose this hotel because of all the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.
What a wonderful place to spend a holiday.
Firstly, the whole place is spotlessly clean. I have never stayed in a hotel that is so clean. Brilliant white towels in the bathroom, clean carpets and the hotel is obviously excellently maintained.
Secondly, the beds are so comfortable – just like being at home. The bedding is just the right weight and spare blankets available if required.
Thirdly, the Staff were cheerful and helpful from the moment we arrived. Their main aim appeared to be to ensure that guests were attended to at all times. They kept us entertained throughout the evening – with lots of banter and jokes. The staff made meal time’s thoroughly enjoyable – providing great service.
Last but not least, the meals. I can honestly say the food in the Tremarne was fantastic. It was always piping hot and cooked to perfection.
I find it hard to believe that the previous reviewer, (Essexgirl99), stayed in the same hotel. The Hotels decor was faultless – bright and clean. This was the best holiday we have had in ages and we considered the Tremarne to be great value for money. We’ll certainly go back there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbowcymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed at the Tremarne Hotel for 5 days in September 2010. It was perfect, the staff were so friendly, food superb, spotlessly clean, stunning views. Probably the most enjoyable hotel holiday we have had in recent years.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
13.9 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
855 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremarne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremarne Hotel

Property: Tremarne Hotel
Address: Polkirt, Mevagissey PL26 6UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tremarne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel, owner managed, outstanding courteous service, spectacular location, magnificent sea views surrounded by unspoiled scenery, sandy coves and sheltered bays. All rooms en-suite, light, airy, individually styled. Restaurant, bar, lounge, outdoor swimming pool, garden, terraces, car park. The Tremarne Hotel, one of Cornwall's hidden treasures, offers both a contemporary and traditional feel away from the hustle and bustle of modern day living. Some hotels are merely a place to stay - the Tremarne is a destination. We look forward to sharing our hotel with you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Tremarne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tremarne Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing