We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need to relac then this is the place for you”
Review of Tremarne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tremarne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel for the past 3 years and each time is as good as the last, if not even better. Everyone is friendly and only have your best interests for a good, restful holiday in mind. The chefs prepare fresh local food everyday and the meals are absolute heaven, well presented and cooked to perfection. The rooms are well presented and kept immaculate. All the staff from Michael and Fitz down through Norman the ever smiling, to Ruth and Sharon who nothing is too much trouble for. We have had a very stressful year this year and have come back with renewed vigour and zest and very relaxed. I would recommend this Hotel and location to anyone who just needs to get away from everyday life and the world in general because it is definitely out of this world.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank san45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 468 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2009

We stayed three nights in a standard room and couldn't have asked for more at the price we paid - considerably cheaper than many similar looking hotels in the region. The room was clean, breakfast was nice, the staff were friendly and there were enough parking spaces. The room might have got a little cramped if we had been there much longer but it was perfectly acceptable.

The local village was nice too, far nicer than St Austell. Judes restaurant on the harbour was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBudgens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

I've just returned from a fabulous weekend's stay at the Tremarne Hotel. My parents go there every year and I now understand why.

The hotel is just beautiful, set in a wonderful location. The rooms were immaculate and decorated to a very high standard. The meals were outstanding, I couldn't believe they only have 2 stars, the food you would expect from at least a 4 star hotel or a top London restaurant.

The owners and the staff are what really makes this hotel for me though. Very warm and friendly, make you feel at home, like you're part of their family. Fitz, one of the owners was always on hand and involved in the day to day service of the hotel, be it serving breakfast or just making sure your stay was as comfortable as possible. I didn't get to meet Michael, but am looking forward to doing so next year. I'm definitely going back.

I highly, highly recommend this hotel. Please go and stay there you will not be disappointed and like me will be looking forward to returning time and again.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foo-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This hotel is a jewel - upon entering the premises you feel like you are entering the home of a friend ! The service is impeccable and the food is superb. The staff are just like your extended family and take care of your every need. Most comfortable beds and not one thing to even think about changing! Will definitely go back- This is a hotel not to miss!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happychaput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

What a fantastic hotel!

We had a lovely stay here and the owners and staff made us feel very welcome and were always around if you needed them. Our room was lovely and clean, with views out across to the countryside and down to the bay.

There was a good choice at breakfast with everything being freshly cooked. It was also great being able to have dinner in the hotel and then have a drink in the bar or relax in the lounge.

It’s about a 10-minute walk down the road and harbour path into the town where there are some good local restaurants. The hotel has an outdoor pool for the nicer weather.

This is a lovely part of Cornwall and we would love to return one day and stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

The incredible staff and the location are what makes the Hotel Tremarne so special. Michael, Fitz, Norman, Ruth, and the rest of the staff are very warm and welcoming people, even to an American family with teenagers who they most likely feel will not be repeat customers. Our family has traveled extensively, and this was one of many trips to Europe. I've never felt more welcomed. The location is excellent for active individuals; right out the front door and take a right and our family was on an 11 mile hike along the Cornwall Coast Path. Hang a left and down the hill and within 5 minutes you are in Mevagissey, with beautiful views of the coast to keep you occupied on the way.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tooths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Michael, Fitz and the entire team manage to deliver a genuine hospitality experience way above the hotels two star rating... because they care about the people that come through the doors of their hotel, a refreshing change in a hotel world that is portion control and profit focus gone mad.
Each room is individually furnished with its own character, we tried two, both spotlessly clean and really comfortable. Our three night stay was in a four poster room of a good size to feel relaxed in... modern bathroom with wonderful fluffy white towels, flat screen tv and a quality refreshment tray.
We were on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and the food was freshly prepared from a short menu, much use of locally sourced ingredients.
Breakfast service was impressively quick, even with a full menu. Changes to meet personal choice were never a problem for my wife and I, nor for any of the other guests.
I guess their success is all about getting the detail right... and they do.
We will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
253 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,615 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
213 reviews
17.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremarne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremarne Hotel

Address: Polkirt, Mevagissey PL26 6UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Hotel Class:3 star — Tremarne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel, owner managed, outstanding courteous service, spectacular location, magnificent sea views surrounded by unspoiled scenery, sandy coves and sheltered bays. All rooms en-suite, light, airy, individually styled. Restaurant, bar, lounge, outdoor swimming pool, garden, terraces, car park. The Tremarne Hotel, one of Cornwall's hidden treasures, offers both a contemporary and traditional feel away from the hustle and bustle of modern day living. Some hotels are merely a place to stay - the Tremarne is a destination. We look forward to sharing our hotel with you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tremarne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tremarne Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing