We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome, location, value!”
Review of Tremarne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tremarne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Tremarne is just up the hill from the harbour, a short walk which lets you appreciate the beauty of Mevagissey as you walk down.

We were greated on arrival by Michael the owner a lovely warm welcome that really made us feel at home.

The room was well appointed clean and with all the extras you would expect. TV, tea and coffee facilities. En-suite shower room was modern and clean.

Breakfast, was the only meal we ate at the Tremarne and it was excellent, really first rate. High quality ingredients cooked well, plenty of choice. The sort of breakfast that sets you up for the day and makes lunch optional.

Value, this has to be taken into context with the location and whilst a little more than a Premier Inn it was well worth the money for the quality of the hotel, location and welcome.

Alix and I would love to return and I am sure we will do. Mevagissey is a beautiful fishing village and I would recommend it to anyone, if you are going I would thoroughly recommend the Tremarne Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Budgei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Tremarne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 463 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

My mum and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Tremarne Hotel in Mevagissey. If you are looking for a small intimate hotel where customer service is the top of list, then this is it. The bedrooms are immaculately decorated and furnished, as is the lounge, dining room and bar areas. The extensive food menu is fantastic and the portions not for the faint hearted. Fitz, Michael, Norman and the team ensure that your stay with them is a memorable one and we will certainly consider returning.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems ask for a room on the first floor as the stairs to the second floo...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFridayNighters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Tremarne Hotel. It was comfortable, clean and the food was excellent. The traditional English breakfast set you up for the day and the evening meal was first class. Everyone involved in the running of this hotel was friendly and helpful, offering superb service and advice. The hotel is perfectly situated to explore Cornwall in all directions - Lands End - The Lizard - The North Coast - Looe. We highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cons2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a superb two night stay at the Tremarne. The whole team are very amusing and thoroughly professional.
Our room was immaculate (as was the general decoration of the hotel) with good facilities and a great view across to Chapel Point.
We ate at the hotel one evening and down in Mevagissey (at the Salamander) on another night.
The food quality was excellent and perfectly cooked to our requirements. You do need to select your choices on the previous day (or at breakfast) so travelling with a laptop or ipad is useful.
It's only a short walk down the hill to Mevagissey with a local taxi available, if you are feeling tired. The hotel is very well sited with quiet surroundings on the top of the hill at the back of Mevagissey.
The Tremarne is definitely on my list for another visit!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a sea view. It's great to open the curtains in the morning and look out to...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeB097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this hotel for our summer holiday . Excellent customer service ,nice and sleek rooms ,very comfortable , neat and tidy . Just 10 minutes walking distance from Mevagissey village. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suvijjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a diamond of a find this hotel was, we stayed for 7 nights and can honestly say that it was superb. To say the service that we received from the moment of our arrival was excellent, would be an understatement. Greeted by Michael, Norman and Fitz with warm introductions given, being shown to our room and curtesy tea and shortbread.
Our room had a great sea/ pool view and roomy especially as we had our 9 year old daughter with us. Our daughter was made to feel at home, with cheeky, playful banter from Fitz, They both had great fun being cheeky with Norman.
The food again was excellent from breakfast to dinner- 5 star food and service !
Would recommend everyone to stay, truly wonderful hotel and staff great location for travelling around Cornwall, give it a try, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The whole Team make you feel like family, we enjoyed the excellent hospitality that Michael, Fitzgerald, Norman specialise in providing. We stopped on the 2nd Floor with spectacular views and a very comfortable room, but they all looked nice, steep climb for some to the room so that would be the only downside for those of a certain age but worth the climb.
Food was fresh and filling,breakfast and the evening meal was an event to look forward too,with the inter action with the Team.
Top end of the village so journey through town was hair raising, but a longer alternative was quickly identified and used daily, 5 nights was our stop, but from our experience you can see why the Team have lots of regulars who come for lengthy stops throughout the season.
Hotel comes highly recommended and if we return to the area it would be our first port of call as long as the existing management are in charge.

Room Tip: All the Rooms are presented to a very high standard, best views looking over the front of the Hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mevagissey
240 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
14.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
198 reviews
13.9 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremarne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremarne Hotel

Address: Polkirt, Mevagissey PL26 6UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mevagissey
Price Range: $113 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tremarne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel, owner managed, outstanding courteous service, spectacular location, magnificent sea views surrounded by unspoiled scenery, sandy coves and sheltered bays. All rooms en-suite, light, airy, individually styled. Restaurant, bar, lounge, outdoor swimming pool, garden, terraces, car park. The Tremarne Hotel, one of Cornwall's hidden treasures, offers both a contemporary and traditional feel away from the hustle and bustle of modern day living. Some hotels are merely a place to stay - the Tremarne is a destination. We look forward to sharing our hotel with you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tremarne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tremarne Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing