We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect accommodation, attentive hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tremarne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tremarne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation, attentive hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I'm a bit tardy in writing this review (we visited in August). I did go to review the Tremarne Hotel after our stay but saw that it had so many "excellent" reviews - so I thought, why bother? But I'm reviewing now because (a) family members are visiting the area in May and we have recommended the hotel to them and (b) I see that the Tremarne has mostly Brit reviewers and others may be interested in a review from NZ'ers. We stayed for a couple of nights because it is in a great, scenic location for visits to nearby Heligan and the Eden Project. Michael and Fitz are the perfect hosts with a sharp sense of humour - which we appreciated. Facilitating meeting the other guests for drinks in the little house bar before dinner is a nice, thoughtful touch - especially as we were on our own. Everyone was introduced - and it was a great opportunity to exchange trip plans and tips. We had not planned to "eat in" but, after seeing the menu, we dined there the first night and again the next. The food was fresh, beautifully prepared and exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was fantastic. Dining room service was friendly and professional. We stayed in a superior room with a sea view. It was spotless and comfortable - the bathroom was small-ish but this is because its a lovely old house. The tariff is a little on the high side but we knew that ahead of time and when we checked out we agreed that we certainly got value for our money. The guys obviously love what they do and genuinely enjoy meeting people - which is the recipe for a great stay!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with a sea view. Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    41
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
295
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Four night stay from 30th December 2012
The hotel is in a great location within a short walk of the harbour of Mevagissi
The hospitality was warm and welcoming and continued so throughout the stay! Food and service was excellent. The hotel was spotless as though it was the beginning of the season not the end.
Whilst we were in a small party of six, the inclusive nature of the owners and staff meant that if we had been a couple on our own we would have enjoyed ourselves just as much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stoursh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

It is said the only two things certain in life are taxes and death - we have found another! It is a dead cert that if you visit the Tremarne Hotel you will have a most wonderful holiday break. We have stopped at the Tremarne several times before over recent years and each time seems to surpass the previous time - if that's at all possible! The Hotel is spotlessly clean, comfortable and the food is simply marvellous. We spent New Year at the Tremarne and all the team there, together with the other guests, contributed to an unforgettable experience. Michael, Fitz, Norman and team, individually and together, provided an ideal holiday break to launch into the New Year. Thank you all - we are already booked to return in 2013!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chappersMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have just spent New Year at the Tremarne and it exceeded our expectations.Having stayed there before, we knew what to expect with regard to the accommodation i.e. spotlessly clean, comfortable and superb food.We also knew that the welcome would be warm and there would be plenty of chat and laughter withour hosts.
What we didn`t anticipate was the lengths the whole team went to in order to make New Year memorable.We had dancing, games , cabaret and a fantastic firework finale. Michael, Fitz and Norman worked so hard to make sure everyone had a great time.
We will certainly visit this hotel in the near future and highly recommend it .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just returned from another marvellous New Year Break at the Tremarne.

What a marvellous time we have had. The Food was really excellent and the accomodation as ever was immaculate and mainly the treatment we all received from our hosts Michael, Fitz and their team was quite outstanding.

We consider ourselves very lucky to be treeted in the what has now become the Tremarne Style.

This we believe is our 8th visit and if it is possible it gets better each time we go. We do not mind the drive down from Kent as we know that when we arrive we will be really well looked after.

Thanks again Michael, Fitz and team Tremarne for another outstanding break

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in August and it was a delight from the moment we walked through the door. We was greeted as though we had been many times before. In fact rhis was our first visit and certainly was not disappointed. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and nothing was ever out of place. The choice of food was extremely good and was cooked to perfection. You certainly would not want to eat out, if you were staying at the Tremarne Hotel. We were entertained by all of the staff. Everyone staying at the hotel, was introduded to all the other guests on the fiirst evening, and this created a wonderful but intimate atmosphere. Fitz you are a delight. I smile when I think of you. Micheal and Fitz your standards are extremely high. Keep it up and all that have visited you in the past will keep coming back. You both really deserve the award for the Best Small Hotel in the Southwest 2012. Well done to you all. If you want a lovely hotel with wonderful attentive staff, you will not be disappointed.

We have just returned home from another stay over the New Year at Tremarne and we have had another unforgettable stay. We all smiled and laughed, until we cried. Micheal, your 'Barry White' could not have been bettered. It was hilarious. A very big thank you to you all. We certainly will be back. Watch out Fitz I will have to bring Pauline again. Love you all. Thank you for a truly wonderful stay.

Tracy, Colin and Pauline Stone xxx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracystone1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Firstly I wanted to say a very big thank you to Michael for coming to pick us from from the airport after our taxi let us down, not something every owner would do which made the start of our tour of Cornwall very special.

I would also like to thank you for the complimentary tea and coffee which was well needed on our arrival. We booked a four night stay in this 2* hotel and cannot fault the service, staff and quality of accommodation, possibly one of the cleanest of hotels we have ever stayed at - everything was perfect in fact 5* should be awarded. The short stroll down to Mevagissey for our daily fix of ice cream by the harbour was also something to look forward to.

The breakfast´s were of good quality, with a good selection and set us up for the day. We dined twice during our stay and found the food to be very good with a great choice on the menu. Would definately reccomend this hotel on.

Once again Michael a very big thank you for going out of your way and please pass on our thanks to all the staff who looked after us so well during our stay.

Joe & Jean

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.2 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremarne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremarne Hotel

Property: Tremarne Hotel
Address: Polkirt, Mevagissey PL26 6UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tremarne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel, owner managed, outstanding courteous service, spectacular location, magnificent sea views surrounded by unspoiled scenery, sandy coves and sheltered bays. All rooms en-suite, light, airy, individually styled. Restaurant, bar, lounge, outdoor swimming pool, garden, terraces, car park. The Tremarne Hotel, one of Cornwall's hidden treasures, offers both a contemporary and traditional feel away from the hustle and bustle of modern day living. Some hotels are merely a place to stay - the Tremarne is a destination. We look forward to sharing our hotel with you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Tremarne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tremarne Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing