We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Tremarne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tremarne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My friend and I spent 3 nights at the Tremarne Hotel recently, I had never been to Cornwall before and used trip advisor to check this out. What a wonderfully relaxed and warm place this was being greeted by Storming Norman and given complimentary tea!! Our room was spotless, towels changed daily and very comfortable overlooking country views. It was quiet and relaxing , just what I needed to chill out and enjoy the surrounding area. The food was excellent quality and loads of it, stuffed all the time. The service with all the staff was friendly and professional. Michael and Fitz were such fun and attentive, we felt right at home from arrival. We have never laughed so much at their fantastic sense of humour. We could have easily stayed longer but hope to return sometime for more of their wonderful hospitality. Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys good fun as well as a break in Mevagissey.
Thanks Michael and Fitz from the girls from Putney, London.

Room Tip: A terrace would be a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 468 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Can't fault the friendly reception and service, excellent cooked breakfast and dinners, good location, clean rooms, but despite all its accreditations, there are a few negatives that need to be addressed. Service is a bit too quick at dinner. No time to order some wine as your preordered first course in there on the table before you blink. No fresh fruit at breakfast only tinned prunes and grapefruit and unfortunately for us, fizzy orange juice (??) for freshly squeezed but the cooked breakfast made up for it. Beautiful designed restaurant, table and chairs but paper napkins! Michael and Fitz run a good ship but one that has, I believe, an eye on the bottom line. The food is good but 'portion control' and high bar prices is in evidence. You are also expected to choose your dinner at breakfast ....a sure sign of minimising waste which is good practice for the management but not for customers. Laundering cloth napkns would be at a cost as also uneaten fresh fruit at breakfast would be a loss. A larger TV in our 'superior' bedroom should be installed and there was only one small bar of soap allowed thoughout our 2 night stay and 'plastic' glasses!!!. But the main problem is the room rate for what you get and you have to out of it by 10.00 a.m. ! The superior room is about £140.00 per night for 2 persons and dinner another £26 per person on top i.e. Dinner, B & B at £192.00 for two. Sorry, but there is much better value to be obtained elsewhere in Cornwall.

Room Tip: Check the bed and the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelcrazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tremarne1, Owner at Tremarne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Travelcrazie,

We thank you for your review and are sorry there were aspects of your stay that you had cause to address. We are never afraid of constructive criticism or suggestions but as hands on owners always like to reply to any negative points raised by our guests.

With regard to your comment regarding dinner, yes where possible, guests are asked to pre order starters and mains as all of the produce comes in every day from the local farms and suppliers. This ensures that we can offer everything on our menu, including the ‘fish of the day and specials’ but more importantly we can guarantee everything is fresh and not kept in freezers – something we are very proud of.

There is absolutely no rush at dinner, when guests come down to the bar or lounge in the evening they are always asked if they would like a pre dinner drink or wine for the table – it is only when their starters are ready are guests invited in to dine. Our portions are indeed plentiful as countless other reviewers have commented on both this review site and in our visitors book – and our bar prices are only a few pence higher than the local pubs.

At breakfast you rightly point out that grapefruit, prunes and apricots are available from the top buffet table, but we do in fact offer a fresh fruit platter that is clearly advertised on our extensive breakfast menu – which you may have missed. Choices of fresh juices are also available and are certainly not of the fizzy variety as you imply.

As for the ‘plastic glasses in the bathroom and one bar of soap allowed’ had you asked for glasses or extra soap we would have gladly obliged – all you had to do was ask.

With regard to our tariffs, we spend a lot of time monitoring Hotel providers of equal standards and facilities, both locally and throughout Cornwall. We honestly believe that the product, accommodation and facilities offered at the Tremarne Hotel, as confirmed by our AA annual inspection, and reviewers on this site prove that we offer good value for money. Of course there will always be 'cheaper' elsewhere in Cornwall.

Finally we do indeed ‘run a tight ship’ which is why we have such a high number of returning guests and recommendations. Like all good businesses we do of course have an eye on our bottom line but certainly not to the detriment of our guests or the product that we offer nor do we let it impact on the quality of a guests stay.

In fact after recently receiving Bronze Award in the Cornwall Tourism Awards the ‘mystery judge’ who stayed with us wrote in his report that ‘if ever there were a place he would like to come and spend his own money it would be at the Tremarne Hotel’ - a great accolade for us.

Michael & Fitz
Tremarne Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Tremarne hotel Mevagissey Cornwall last week . On arrival we were greeted by Norman, who gave us the news that we had been upgraded to a sea view room.
The hotel was exactly as their web site had portrayed, superior rooms, views, and food to die for. This is a friendly hotel. guests were intoduced by their first name and you soon become friends with the staff and guests. Food !!. the menus each night were delicious, plenty of choices of starters, mains , and if you have room, sweets. People have said you arrive as guests and leave as friends this I can confirm and will be booking the Temarne for a return visit. Mevagissey the location of the Tremarne is a Cornish fishing Village with all the attractions one would like nearby for a simply Wonderfull holiday break.

Room Tip: All rooms have great Views some have the sea, some have the Country views, our room No 19 over look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spend 3 great nights as guests of Michael, Fitz and Norman. The welcome was warm and friendly and they could not do enough to make our stay a truly enjoyable one. The room was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The food was fantastic, well presented and served in a most convivial atmosphere. The best, most welcoming and the most comfortable hotel we have stayed in in Cornwall.

Highly recommended................

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were in Mevagissey for a week in mid-august this 2012, looking for a relaxing family trip escaping from the terrible heat in Madrid, Spain. We were 3 adults in the family with 2 non-english speakers (at all, goodbye & thanks you do not count...), and we did use Tripadvisor to check out for Hotels in the area. I have to say, I have never read so many good reviews from a Hotel and that was exactly what made us choose the Tremarne Hotel.
The Hotel is exactly how it appears on the web page with no difference between its images and the customer´s photos, lovely rooms, pretty clean, nice furniture and decoration and absolutely quite apart from the village area, but only 10 minutes walking to the centre on a fantastic view walk.
We honestly and highly recommend this Hotel for anyone staying in Cornwall, from where you will be able to go to visit the whole county very easily.
But the most important thing about this Hotel is the STAFF. From the absolutely fantastic Chefs (Don & Andy-we missed your desserts so much), following Ruth and Sharon who are lovely in every way, Norman commanding the Restaurant service at night, Fitz with his warming smile in the morning promising it will be shining this new day, till Michael with his nicest help and welcoming to us.
Dear Staff, please let us remember you all one more time, you made our stay in Cornwall absolutely lovely and we look forward coming back soon. Best regards from Madrid from Vicente, Mari Carmen & Maria (Family Langa-Fernandez).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My cousin who is in his late eighties stayed here whilst visiting us. The quality of care and service provided by the staff was second to none and we were very impressed by the care and consideration given to him during his stay.

We enjoyed two excellent evening meals with him at the hotel and the quality of the food was outstanding with a wide range of menu choices each time. The welcome from Fitz, Michael and Norman make this hotel a joy to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My parents, Laurence and Janet, recently stopped at your establishment and have asked me to write on their behalf what a wonderful stay they had in your Hotel and how welcoming all the staff made them feel. Special thanks are extended to Michael, Fitz and Norman. They wish to congratulate the Chef on the outstanding and superbly wonderful meals that were prepared for them during the stay, he truly surpassed himself. The Hotel is the best they have stopped in for a long time and somewhere they will definitely be visiting again. Everything about the Hotel was clean, bright, welcoming and friendly with nothing being too much for the staff - they certainly know how to put the “customer” first. This is a Hotel that is highly recommended and certainly worthy of a AA 5 Star Award. The website heading of Arrive, Relax and Enjoy really just says it all. You arrive as a guest and are immediately treated like a friend. Once again thanks to everyone but especially the hosts Michael and Fitz.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
14.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
216 reviews
9.5 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremarne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremarne Hotel

Address: Polkirt, Mevagissey PL26 6UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Hotel Class:3 star — Tremarne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel, owner managed, outstanding courteous service, spectacular location, magnificent sea views surrounded by unspoiled scenery, sandy coves and sheltered bays. All rooms en-suite, light, airy, individually styled. Restaurant, bar, lounge, outdoor swimming pool, garden, terraces, car park. The Tremarne Hotel, one of Cornwall's hidden treasures, offers both a contemporary and traditional feel away from the hustle and bustle of modern day living. Some hotels are merely a place to stay - the Tremarne is a destination. We look forward to sharing our hotel with you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tremarne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tremarne Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing