We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible view and meticulous attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pebble House Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in the top 2 rooms. Incredible views. Gorgeously decorated. We made sure to take lots of pictures when we first got there, before we started using the room, because the rooms were so incredible. Gourmet breakfasts. Super comfortable beds and linens, although I prefer a sheet in addition to the fluffy duvet - in case it's warm. Quiet and nice and dark for sleeping. Hair dryers and flat irons in the rooms. Spa like bathrooms complete with big fluffy white towels and bathrobes. They made reservations for us to recommended restaurants. A large assortment of DVD's available for free (nice for a cold and rainy day). Everything looked (and was) brand new and impeccably clean. Andrea and Simon take care of everything, including having a big hand in the property renovation and all of the decorating, sewing curtains, etc. Exquisite taste. Would not be the ideal accommodation for someone with rambunctious or messy children (or adults), or others who won't feel comfortable staying in someone else's home . Andrea works hard ensuring that she and the guests maintain the rooms to keep them just as pristine for the next quests.

Room Tip: Ask for the top rooms with the views, if you can spend the extra.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, Owner at Pebble House Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

We were really delighted to welcome both of you and your two friends who stayed with us at the same time, after they walked on by earlier in the year when we had just opened and told us that "they would be back to stay with us".
You are right, the rooms at the top of the house really do have the most amazing views, as do all the sea view rooms - 180 degree, uninterrupted, panoramic views.
Thank you for taking the time to write about us as hosts, our house keeping and breakfast skills and of course, Pebble House, THE house with THE views.
We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable three night stay with us in our fabulous Long Liner and Drifter rooms and we hope that your journey back to USA is a safe one for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Pebble House Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 526 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our first experience of bed and breakfast and what an experience! We were welcomed at the door by Andrea within minutes we felt we had known her forever, we had booked the Crabber room - what a room it was spacious beautifully furnished clean with many extra amenities arranging from tea and coffee to wonderfully fluffy white towels but most of all was the view - we overlooked the bay it was really fantastic, to wake up to the view and lay in bed watching the waves was a delight. Andrea and Simon were great hosts with great local knowledge as well as recommending and booking us a table at two great restaurants, all in all they made our stay fantastic, the breakfast choices catered for every taste - Simon cooks a mean breakfast!! If you are looking for a FIVE star B&B experience then Pebble House is for you. We hope to visit again next year. Thank you Andrea and Simon xx. Danny & Carol Cooper

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, Owner at Pebble House Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We are absolutely over the moon to have made your first experience of staying in a B&B instead of a 5* Hotel, such an enjoyable one for you both.
Your are right about being able to lie in bed and enjoy the full on 180 degree views from your room to wake up to or go to sleep to each day, all the way from historic Chapel Point, to Eddystone lighthouse and beyond.
It is fantastic that you so enjoyed Simon's now infamous breakfasts and the restaurants we booked for you, we only recommend the best for our guests.
We really look forward to welcoming you both back to 5* Pebble House, to enjoy again,THE house with THE views next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just back from our ‘mini-moon’ at Pebble House. We stayed in the Trawler room which was so lush and cosy, I loved it! Lovely hospitality from Andrea and Simon, and fair play to doing everything their selves, it’s really paying off. Breakfast was so nice, with stunning sea views, and the home made Granola was super! We found Pebble House B+B more like a home, the attention to detail throughout was superb.

I will definitely recommend Pebble House to everyone.

To the hosts, Good luck with everything!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keelyjj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, Owner at Pebble House Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for such a special time in your life, your mini-moon and we are delighted that you both had such an enjoyable time and loved it so much, especially as one of you is in the travel industry.
Your kind words about Simon's fabulous breakfasts, Andrea home made Granola and us as hosts is so lovely of you both, thank you.
We wish you much joy and happiness in your new married life together and we both look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Pebble House, THE house with THE views to celebrate your future anniversaries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Quality! This is a great Guest House. Lovely, helpful couple running it. Be aware that it is Cornwall, the Guest House is at the top of a steep hill. Would love to repeat the experience again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, Owner at Pebble House Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent "quality" stay with us at Pebble House.
We really appreciate your loveley comments about us as hosts and that you would like to "experience us again and again"
The very quaint streets and hills around the coast line of Cornwall, really makes it unique and Cornwall, even though Pebble House is on a flat stretch.
We both look forward to welcoming you back to Pebble House, THE house with THE views again one day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My Husband and I have just had the pleasure of a 5 day stay at this amazing guesthouse . Everything was perfect from the rooms to the breakfast ( which was to die for ) . The attention to detail from the wonderful owners made our stay even more special . I have never stayed anywhere where the cleanliness , attention to detail , décor and overall service was so superior . The owners went the extra mile by advising us on restaurants , day trips and places to visit . On our final day they provided us with an delightful picnic for our trip home . I can't wait to book our next visit and cannot recommend more highly this guesthouse as a place to stay - you'll be hardpushed to find anywhere nicer ! JUST PERFECT !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, Owner at Pebble House Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

It was an absolute pleasure having you both stay with us for five nights recently.
Customer service is paramount to us both and we enjoy naturally going the extra mile for all our guests.
We are delighted that you both loved Simon's fabulous breakfasts and enjoyed the variety of choice each day and his picnic on the way home.
We hope that you are enjoying the alarm clock you bought from us and it looks fabulous in your bedroom at home - a little reminder of Pebble House for you both each morning - and all the other goodies of course
We really look forward to welcoming you back to Pebble House, THE house with THE views when you have been able to sort out your work rota's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lovely guesthouse with wonderful views. Spotlessly clean. The owner Simon and Andrea were very welcoming and friendly and made us feel at home. The breakfast was exceptional - the Eggs Benedict was to die for and Andrea's home made was glorious.

My husband is a coeliac and the owners went out of their way to cater for his dietary requirements, even recommending places to eat that would also cater for him.

Our room - Steiner - was lovely with a magnificent view. The bed was extra comfortable and bathroom was superb.

Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a sea view - magnificent
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, Owner at Pebble House Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about us and your warm words about us as hosts, Simon's infamous breakfasts and Andrea's now legendary home made granola
We are still delighted at the lovely comments we receive about us as hosts,the decor and finish of Pebble House both the interior and exterior and just everything.
It was a pleasure to welcome you both to stay with us and we enjoyed providing solutions to your dietary needs and delighted that you so enjoyed the places to eat we recommended to you.
We really look forward to welcoming you both back to Pebble House, THE house with THE views again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Pebble House is in a beautiful part of the world with great views. Unfortunately, not all guests get to see those and that's something to be aware of. May be it's just me but the way the website was set up I thought I would get a "room with a view" and did not. So for any of you thinking of booking the Trawler room, do not if you want to see the sea. Just pay the extra few bucks.

The guesthouse and all the rooms (which are large) are finished impeccably and the breakfasts were great (even with a gluten free bread option). The shower has great power to it, the TV has all the freeview you could want, and there are some lovely options for tea, coffee and hot chocolate in your room. Also, who can turn down a welcome glass of champagne.

My only room for improvement would be that I never felt comfortable with the rules they have. Whether it is having no meals in bed (I don't really know what that constitutes to be honest though) or the certain times that they will clean your room (between 10.30-12pm) or that you must check in only between 4-6pm. Sometimes less rules means more relaxing rather than keeping us on edge although I appreciate there is only Simon and Andrea to look after the whole place.

Also, on the above room for improvement I would like to add they did clean our room after 12pm when we left but knocking on our door to wake and tell us of the additional rule is not the perfect way to start the day.

Overall, however, if you can deal with the above, I would highly recommend the place. Just make sure you get a sea view and not a back garden and washing line view.

Room Tip: Confirm with them that your room is sea view before booking as not all of them are
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, Owner at Pebble House Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review.

Your booking was made via Expedia and then sent on to us whereby both Expedia and ourselves confirmed to you the room you had chosen- Trawler, Garden view.( You told us that your friends were staying in the Tremarne near to us with rooms with no views & no problems with that fact. Maybe they read the websites details at time of booking) We feel it is quite clear on both our website and Expedia of the choice of our rooms one can make at time of booking, and when booking direct with us we always go through the choices one has. We were unable to offer you an upgrade as we were full , which was explained to you when you checked in and you said "how lovely the room was"
As is usual practice in the hospitality industry, we have to have guidelines to work to or else one would never be going to bed and an awful lot of waiting around would take place .i.e. room cleaning between certain times. On this point you made, you both came down for breakfast in good time and then went back to your room. When housekeeping knocked on your door at 11.30 am how were we to know that you had gone back to bed and asleep, even though the two rooms either side of yours had been cleaned & hoovered, as you had told us you were off to a wedding at lunchtime that day?
As clearly stated on both websites, we are a B& B and NOT a hotel, we therefore do not offer or have the facilities of one i.e. lounge/bar/reception/phones in rooms. i.e. check in & out times, ours being the B&B usual of between 4 - 6 pm accommodating times outside those hours by prior request. You also sent us an email (one of many) prior to your arrival confirming to us your check in time of approx 5 pm!
We feel that, as usual for all of our guest, we went over and above the call of duty even offering to take to you the Llawn Roc hotel where you said you had a family dinner arrangement, free of charge at 7.30 pm at night as you could not get a taxi as you had not booked one prior to your arrival. You also did not advise us of your Gluten Free requirements prior to your arrival, yet we managed to fulfil this need of yours immediately

Yes we did decide to clean your room as you left at 12.20pm, and as it looked like a bomb site (and was one the previous night when we did evening turn down!) and we were mindful of other guests using the room after you had checked out and another example, we feel, of going above and beyond the call of duty by us. We are not churlish, merely very customer focused

Maybe you are better suited to staying in anonymous hotels whereby there is a reception 24 hours, room servicing most of the day, you can eat what you like in rooms with no/little regard for the smells etc that will linger in the rooms for guests staying in the room after yourselves

We trust you both had a good trip back to USA and hope to see you one day back at Pebble House, THE house with THE views, booking a sea view room maybe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.0 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
240 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Little Cornish B&B
The Little Cornish B&B
#2 of 34 in Mevagissey
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pebble House Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pebble House Guesthouse

Address: Pebble House Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range: $211 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pebble House Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simon and Andrea welcome you to Pebble House, AA 5* Gold Guest Accommodation and 5* Gold Breakfast awarded, our innovative, stylish, chic, boutique, licensed, adults only luxury Guest House to retreat to in the quaint 16th Century fishing village of Mevagissey in Cornwall. Our AA 5* Gold breakfasts include home made produce of home-made Granola, local produce of award winning bacon & sausages and jams & conserves. Pebble House is situated right on the South West Coastal Path and has jaw dropping 180 degree sea and rural countryside views. We also welcome non residents to enjoy teas and light snacks on the terrace using home baked produce also using local produce, or just a bottle of local beer or a glass of wine, whilst enjoying our uninterrupted panoramic 180° views of the sea and countryside with the option to "take away edible Cornwall" if desired at Pebble House, THE house with THE views Pebble House is within:- 10 minutes of The Lost Gardens of Heligan; 20 minutes of The Eden Project; 30 minutes of Newquay Airport/Truro; 50 minutes of Lands End; 45 mins of Padstow/St Ives/Penzance; 30 mins of National Trust Lanhydrock House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pebble House Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pebble House Guesthouse Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing