We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb short break holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb short break holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

My wife and I had a superb short break in the Trevalsa Court Hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient, the food extremely good and the location wonderful. The owners of the hotel made our stay a holiday to be remembered and their awareness of residents needs and their willingness to help in any way deserves an accolade.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a large window with a magnificent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John886809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    77
    28
    11
    5
See reviews for
38
239
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We decided to have an evening meal here and wow it was fantastic. I had a couple of Pimms and I have to say they were the best I've had. We didn't bother with starters but were warned that it would be 20/30 minutes before we got our mains of steak, which was fine, the steak was amazing, cooked to perfection. The dessert of Crewe brûlée was superb. Well worth a visit.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne195811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Trevalsa Court Hotel is a nice little hotel not far from the village of Mevagissey overlooking the sea. We had rooms 1 (single room) 4 and 5. The rooms are welcoming with a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. The water pressure however is a bit low and rooms 4 and 5 despite their lovely view over the gardens and sea have the disadvantage of being right above the kitchen so that both in the morning and evening you either have to close the windows or accept the smell of (fried) food in your room. All the rooms have tea&coffee making facilities, TV and free wifi. Both breakfast and supper are excellent and the staff was always very friendly and helpful. What I liked most about the hotel was the fact that right below the garden there is a path (well: a flight of stairs) down to a small beach with wonderfully clear water. We went swimming every morning and evening and it was just lovely! Overall we had a good stay at Trevalsa Court Hotel, however for a longer stay I would prefer other rooms than the ones we had.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Have to say on entering this hotel we were a bit oops what have we done, but that quickly changed, it was like stepping back in time, the stillness and oldy worldy charm was wonderful, the staff were lovely, the room cosy with white linen bed sheets and a stunning sea view, we had our breakfast on the terrace overlooking an amazing sea view, only observation the menu didnt have a very good vegetarian choice, but saying that the chef bent over backwards to accomodate my vege wife.

Room Tip: def choose a room on the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spudbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsbridge
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

When we pulled into the driveway of TREVALSO COURT HOTEL, we were wondering what we had booked. Sure, the Arts and Craft styling of the house was pleasing but the approach is frankly suburban. We parked, wandered in, and walked through a spacious airy lounge to a sunlit terrace. We stopped in our tracks to drink in a stunning view of the ocean perfectly framed by the green of the garden, made all the more splendid by the unexpected contrast.

We were not successful in booking a sea view rom and had been offered a garden view instead. It was very good indeed, quite roomy. We had thought we might get the `bin end` of a late booking so were pleasantly surprised. We found it had plenty of light and the bathroom was generous too, offering both a bath and a shower.

The dining room is individualistically styled. I liked it very much, however at TREVALSA COURT you can opt to have any meal that you like outside. We had breakfast on the terrace each morning. The food was good, but one little glitch occurred. I had booked dinner for 2 nights running and was given a time to be seated as the small restaurant is popular for external diners.
The time seemed somewhat arbitrary as others arrived and there seemed to be no apparent advantage in having been given a time, no matter, we had an excellent experience the first night,

BUT (TREVALSA COURT sorry to raise this one) next day we returned from a hot 5 hour walk (and no lunch) assuming we would have our table for the same (arbitrary) time. We were politely informed we should have `booked` earlier. The young girl said as we were resident we would definitely be fed, but we were offered such a late time, we walked into Mevagissey and dined there instead. This could have been avoided if staff had confirmed our dinner reservation and offered us a time at breakfast. Small niggle, but we really would have preferred to have eaten in the hotel, so readers, if you stay there remember to confirm at breakfast.

The staff were sweet, natural and kindly which gave an `unstuffy` feel to the house.

We were there to walk, and being on the cliff path itself a real plus. The hotel also boasts its own beach accessed by a set of steep metal steps. That again was a wonderful bonus. I had imagined a shadowy small and stony cove but was greeted instead by a clean sandy sweep with
interesting rocky margins. Fantastic, particularly with water at 20degs (July 2014).

We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If no sea view available, garden room No 8 was very comfortable, light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We are walking the coast path and I would recommend this hotel to any walkers. (The path really does pass at the bottom of the garden)
Large and very clean bedroom and bathroom with walk in shower. We were DB&B and the food and wine were a real treat.
They had a very young staff who were hard working and very attentive and the service reflected this.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAS261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Beautiful hotel in the beautiful location - I don't want to leave! The staff are lovely and couldn't do enough for us. The garden (and sea views) are fantastic and we had 2 delicious evening meals in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetteMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.6 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
7.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
5.3 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel

Property: Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Address: School Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6TH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trevalsa Court Hotel stands on a cliff top with most rooms enjoying fabulous sea views. It has an eclectic mix of ancient oak beams, mullion windows and oak paneling with designer fabrics, leather sofas and modern art. We encourage guests to relax and make the hotel their holiday home. Our food, with an emphasis on fish, is largely locally produced, deliciously prepared and tastefully presented. Golf, tennis, cycle and canoe hire are available locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevalsa Court Country Hotel
Trevalsa Court Country Mevagissey
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing