We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2008

Very welcoming, friendly hotel with beautiful rooms (we stayed in one small and one large - both great) and a fantastic view out to sea. Only a ten minute walk from Mevagissey harbour - as long as you don't mind a steep trek back up hill! There is also a great coastal path at the bottom of the hotel's garden.

The breakfasts were very good but the evening meal which we had on one night was just ok - the food/flavour combinations were a little strange and didn't seem to work. Great to have an experimental chef though and I'm sure that some of the dishes were fabulous. The ingredients seemed local and fresh.

All in all we had a great stay even though it rained a lot!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 380 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2008

After a long car journey of 7 hours we arrived at the hotel. What a pleasure and relief to enter such a welcoming hotel. The hotel itself is situated with magnificent views over the ocean overlooking isolated bays. Its garden is spacious, well laid out and the only noise that of the odd gull swooping across the horizon.
We were greeted by the owner and shown to our room, warmly decorated and everything in its place.
The staff were all very friendly with a natural matter-of-fact manner. Even the cleaners whom we encountered in the morning welcomed us with friendly smiles.
The morning breakfast was served in a warm sunlit room, well laid out; full English breakfast and buffet. My only complaint being that the apricots were not mixed with, and were separate from the prunes!!!. The serving staff were efficient and organised and, happily, the coffee was very good.
Easy access from the garden to the bay below and only a short walk onto the coastal pathway.
The evening meal was good, especially the fish, as you would expect being so close to the local fishing villages. The organic wine was surprisingly good ( my wife, the eco warrior, chose it...)
We stayed several nights and wished it could have been longer. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonyglyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

Wonderful location with delightful views of Mevagissey Bay and the Cornish coast.

Sad to say we consider this hotel is overpriced having regard accommodation and level of service being offered.

Although we booked a sea view room from what was shown available on the hotel website this could not be confirmed - apparantly the data had not been updated.

We were instead allocated the "Garden Room" (Room 12) as the only one available. On arrival we found it to be a dull, cold and damp single storey extension.

We were short stay for two days so maybe the hotel try to keep the better rooms for guests staying a little longer.

There was a single door/window at one end but this window is in a tunnel between the main building and adjoining walls and vegetation. It is thus difficult for sunlight and warmth to penetrate and of course there was lack of privacy in so far as the main garden paths are in front of this window.

The artificial light was barely sufficient for reading purposes.

We too agree with the criticism of the furnishings but would prefer bright modern integrated design to a clutter of dark items that could have come from a car boot sale!!! The garden room certainly needs some design input to overcome its inherent problems.

We were somewhat disappointed that we were not able to get a Campari soda apperatif from the bar. Although we ordered our evening meal well in advance the raspberry cheesecake we had asked for was said to have been dropped on the floor in the kitchen! The strawberries offered as a subsitute were not better than those we refuse to buy from our local supermarket. Tasteless and you have to cut the hulls instead of being able to pull them out!

We would have mentioned our concerns to management if we had been asked about our stay but we were not.

If you are offered a nice room at this hotel do visit the nearby " Lost Gardens of Heligan". Even with a mix of showers and sunshine we were able to spend six hours there and could return for more. We preferred the more natural Heligan to the Eden Project (also within easy reach of this hotel).

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worldlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

My husband booked 2 nights here for a romantic weekend and our first holiday in ages.We had high hopes as it had been rated top budget hotel in Cornwall by the Sunday Times last year. When we visited the hotel had just changed hands and it was only the second weekend they were open so I expect some of the teething problems will be sorted out.
On the positive side the location and view cannot be beaten. The hotel is right on the coast path and feels like you are away from it all despite being just a short walk into Mevagissey. Most of the rooms have a spectacular sea view. The breakfast was great with lots of local produce, but there could have been more choice - only full English was offered. The reading room is lovely and very relaxing.
However, having stayed in many nice hotels in Cornwall, the room was small and felt a bit budget. The furniture was MFI type, the finish was a bit cheap and it was more like a good B&B than a country house hotel. They could compensate by having better toiletries (Molton Brown or the like), providing bathrobes and eventually upgrading the furniture from the plastic stuff.
We didn't eat in the hotel as the menu looked good but quite fussy and was definitely overpriced compared with the options in town.
The new owners are obviously keen to please and make a go of it, but are still finding their way. We would have been happy to give lots of feedback but we weren't asked for any, so hopefully they read this review!
The other niggle was that the prices are per person, so it might look cheap as a headline price, but no room is under £100 and this is a lot for what you get. In addition, when my husband went to pay they tried to charge him a higher price and neither this price or the one he'd been quoted matched what they had on the website.
Finally, he hotel was really quiet when we stayed and we had one of the smaller rooms. It would have been nice to get a free upgrade, especially as they had just opened. To make things worse, the doors to the nicer (unoccupied) rooms were always open so you could see what you were missing out on! Either close the doors or upgrade your very few customers...
We enjoyed the walks and the view but wouldn't go back unless the prices went down or the overall luxury experience went up.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brizzagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

We have stayed here twice and enjoyed each time. The hosts are truly wonderful people and you can trust them to pamper and care for you as if you were family. The only problem we had each time was leaving. It gets harder every time.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CherryGrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2007

We stayed at Trevalsa Court for a couple of nights in early September and still talk about it at least once a week, trying to work out how we can go back. It was perfect. Stunning location, glorious view from a most comfortable room (number 9 -- highly recommended), friendly but unobtrusive service by staff that anticipated our every wish, magnificent food that had us return to the hotel for dinner every evening -- there was simply nothing else that could tempt us for miles around. Eden Project close (and we were bowled over by it, which we hadn't expected), fantastic walks, and Heligan ten minutes away by car. Simply marvellous.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MillerScania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

just returned from trevalsa court, 4 wonderful days in one of cornwalls most beautiful areas.we have been every year since 2001 and will go again next year.klaus,mathew and all the staff make every visit a pleasure,and the evenings in the lounge with the wonderful atmosphere, great choices of classy
background music make it a real pleasure.great veiws from the bedrooms and mathews garden has to be seen to be beleived.cant wait for next visit.Dave and Carole.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taff88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.6 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
253 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
7.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,415 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel

Address: School Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6TH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Price Range: $122 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trevalsa Court Hotel stands on a cliff top with most rooms enjoying fabulous sea views. It has an eclectic mix of ancient oak beams, mullion windows and oak paneling with designer fabrics, leather sofas and modern art. We encourage guests to relax and make the hotel their holiday home. Our food, with an emphasis on fish, is largely locally produced, deliciously prepared and tastefully presented. Golf, tennis, cycle and canoe hire are available locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevalsa Court Country Hotel
Trevalsa Court Country Mevagissey
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing