We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay, well located to town amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great place to stay, well located to town amenities.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this well run, friendly Hotel, that is well located to amenities in town only a ten minute walk to great restaurants in Mevagissey. The hotel is well decorated and clean, our room was well furnished with everything you need. The views over the bay are stunning, and enjoyed many an enjoyable sun downer on the terrace. The staff were tentative and friendly, the owner chatty and friendly. Breakfast was lovely with loads of choice which was well presented and always a pleasure to eat. Would not hesitate to highly recommend this hotel to anybody, we felt well rested and relaxed after our stay. Free on site parking was a bonus, free wi fi helped to keep us connected to family and friends and local attractions, which is a great help for planning your next day trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    79
    29
    11
    5
See reviews for
39
249
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This pretty hotel has the most spectacular location on the cliffs overlooking the wonderful expanse of St Austell Bay. The hotel is very attractive, the rooms we had had wonderful views out to sea and were very nicely furnished, the beds were extremely comfortable. There are very pretty gardens where you can have drinks or tea and meals can be eaten on the terrace. All in all it was a very nice few days and we would be very happy to stay there again. The only two things that could have improved it would have been a fridge in the bedroom where cold drinks could have been kept (the weather was terribly hot) - and the coffee at breakfast was dire - very under-strength cafetieres! But these two small things apart, it is a wonderful hotel and fully deserves all the nice comments it gets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornishGirl1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Professional and friendly service, well appointed room (with free wifi), 10 minute stroll into town, southwest coast path at the bottom of the garden, decent food, plenty of parking and superb views out to sea, we had a lovely time and would return in a heartbeat. Only minor quibble was the water pressure in the shower, which was not much more than a trickle. Otherwise, couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location and our room was large, bright an airy with a wonderful sea view. The room was very clean and the large bed very comfortable. The bathroom was exceptional with a wet room shower and deep tub. Bath products were good quality and towels fluffy, the provision of robes was much appreciated. The grounds of the hotel are attractive with a limited number of sun loungers for those who wish to relax. The garden leads directly on to the coastal path which has steep steps down to a wonderful sheltered cove, which we has almost to ourselves. The lovely hot weather during our stay meant our daily swim was much appreciated. The hotel is 10 mins walk along the coastal path to the quaint village of Mevagissey and a ten minute drive to the Lost Gardens of Helligan. Staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was well above average, freshly cooked and locally sourced. Dinner was also very good, imaginative and reasonable value for money at £25 -£30 per head. I have nothing negative to say about our experience, which lived up to expectations and I would recommend it to others. However, like other reviewers I do think that in high season it is expensive, I paid more than I did this time last year in a 5 star hotel with all the "bells and whistles". I would love to return but might look for a better deal, thus 4 stars instead of the 5 it deserves.

Room Tip: To get the most out of your trip pick a room with sea view. Room 11 is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived at having booked this on the day, it was our one 'luxury' expense and we were not disappointed. The view was seriously worth the money!

The young chap who greeted us was so helpful and sweet and really made us feel at home and even took time to show us around the house to make sure we knew where to go! He didn't even mond keeping the bar open late when we arrived back from dinner for a nightcap - not sure the owner was too happy though! He did make us feel like we were naughty school children!

The bedroom was lovely and were delighted that it was dog friendly, so Daisy the Yorkie had herself a whale of a time rolling aorund in her bed in such comfort. I have to say, the bed itself was what I was waiting for, for the whole of our time away! We even debated staying another night - but alas our pursestrings just didn't pull that far.

I would recommend to those wanting something special, something family orientated and something that gives you that deep breath of calmness.

if you are feeling sprightly then grab your breath and stroll on down to the beach at the bottom of the garden, down 200 steps! Even the Yorkie with short legs made it (with only being carried for 50 of them) :)

Room Tip: I don't think they do have a bad room! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weeza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 6 nights at this lovely hotel. Having read some reviews we were a bit nervous when allocated room 12, but it has just been very tastefully refurbished and whilst smaller than other rooms was perfect for us. It leads through French doors straight into garden and has views across the sea. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and service was great.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deale, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

On a recent visit to this wonderful Cornish fishing port we were lucky enough to find this hotel. We had a room facing the ocean and the view was incredible . The hotel is very friendly and the staff are helpful. We had dinner at the hotel that night and it was good I would recommend the fish dishes all local and well prepared.
Breakfast is included in your room price and was delicious with fresh fruits and any cooked items that you fancied including the very British fry-up.
The only down side was the price of the room which I thought was a bit high!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.6 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
225 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
7.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,548 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
892 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel

Property: Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Address: School Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6TH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trevalsa Court Hotel stands on a cliff top with most rooms enjoying fabulous sea views. It has an eclectic mix of ancient oak beams, mullion windows and oak paneling with designer fabrics, leather sofas and modern art. We encourage guests to relax and make the hotel their holiday home. Our food, with an emphasis on fish, is largely locally produced, deliciously prepared and tastefully presented. Golf, tennis, cycle and canoe hire are available locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevalsa Court Country Hotel
Trevalsa Court Country Mevagissey
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing